We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory stay at Pine Lodge George”
Review of Pine Lodge George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Lodge George
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington Cape Town
1 review
“Satisfactory stay at Pine Lodge George”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I received excellent service and value for my money. I was very impressed on the friendly environment that accomodated my 20 month old baby. The areas was cleaned and need The garden was a beauriful sight to see and my child loved the pool and play area

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Samantha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    66
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
81
24
3
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Very and well kept premises.
Rooms always neat and tidy on arrival and kept clean by staff.
Kitchen staff very helpful.
Pity it in not Halaal.
I only have breakfast there...
Very Central.
Near Masjid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Zuhdi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

What a lovely set up you have, and the service truelly excellent! We had a lovely stay and will definitely be back. I will definitely recommend this lodge to all my friends, family and colleagues.Sumayah

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sumayah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Point, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The location is quite good, not far from highway, in between town and beach, next to a good shopping centre.
This is not a hideaway but a very decent town accommodation with a bit of garden and a nice pool.
The staff is helpful and friendly.
The accommodation is 2 to 3 star, needs a bit of TLC and updating but for what they charge, it is very decent. There is a TV with satellite viewing (limited but OK), no phone in the rooms and access to wi-fi in certain areas of the property.
We stayed in a semi detached cottage with individual parking and own braai, with 3x beds, a small kitchenette and a good bathroom (bath & shower).
The room is serviced daily but the cottage would benefit from a really deep cleaning exercise once in a while. They expect you to clean the dishes but there is no product or scrub besides a dish towel, which I think is a bit strange.
Unfortunately we could not try the restaurant (closed most of the time we were there due to December holidays I suspect) but there is plenty to do and places to eat in town and surrounding areas.
I would recommend the property for a short stay in George with kids, they can really enjoy the garden, pool, tennis court and play area in between the day excursions.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for your own parking and braai area. Get a room that is not on the road side, so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murielle V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were on our way to Addo Elephant Park when we experienced car trouble. We took the first turn off to George and looked for the closest accommodation we could find. We saw the Pine Lodge Resort and from the road it did not look as if it were very appealing. We decided a clean bed and bathroom trumped ambiance and we didn't want to force the car further than we needed to.
We pulled in and requested to look at a room. It was a total surprise. I rate this with a 4 Star because of the value (R 490), cleanliness (spotless), small kitchen which we didn't even notice and all the amenities (T.V., Wi-Fi) ,. It is walking distance to a full service market (Pick-N-Pay) and between a beautiful Mall and other higher end stores should one need them. Also, less than 1K is the King Fisher Seafood Restaurant which is absolutely fabulous and affordable.
Yes.. in truth it is a 3 Star facility but for the value alone... someone is doing a very good job.

Room Tip: No suggestions.. perhaps ask for "Quiet".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

As a 3 star one could not expect too much but the bedding was not clean and we found hairs on the pillows and in the ice. Not good for any establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDvanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We came to South Africa for the 2010 world cup footie, had a few days between games so decided to travel up the garden route. Found this place on the net and booked a room for us. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Centrally located and easily accessible, lovely grounds and good room, they were working on the rooms and upgrading the lot, so a bit of workman around but the one we stayed in was great, clean, new and what we expected! So definitely a thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen_o_connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices1974, Public Relations Manager at Pine Lodge George, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Dear Stephen,
Thank-you for your great review on Pine Lodge Resort, George, South Africa. We look forward to accommodating you or any family or friends in the future. Please contact me directly should you require any assistance.
Regards
Sharon Holtzkampf
sharon@pinelodgegeorge.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
3.0 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
68 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge George

Property: Pine Lodge George
Address: Pine Lodge | George East, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lodge George 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lodge is set in Africa's "Garden of Eden" which offers magnificent scenic diversity and splendor of the world renowned Garden Route. Pine Lodge offers 46 Self-catering chalets, set in lush gardens, with a sparkling swimming pool and tennis courts and for the children a lovely outdoor playground. Pine Lodge have all the requirements for a superb holiday or for a successful conference of an excellent wedding. Pine Lodge George is a firm favorite with sport teams, clubs and organizations nationwide and always welcome the opportunity to host functions, prize-givings, fund-raisers and special events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Pine Lodge George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing