We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Value”
Review of Pine Lodge George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pine Lodge George
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Absolute Value”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were on our way to Addo Elephant Park when we experienced car trouble. We took the first turn off to George and looked for the closest accommodation we could find. We saw the Pine Lodge Resort and from the road it did not look as if it were very appealing. We decided a clean bed and bathroom trumped ambiance and we didn't want to force the car further than we needed to.
We pulled in and requested to look at a room. It was a total surprise. I rate this with a 4 Star because of the value (R 490), cleanliness (spotless), small kitchen which we didn't even notice and all the amenities (T.V., Wi-Fi) ,. It is walking distance to a full service market (Pick-N-Pay) and between a beautiful Mall and other higher end stores should one need them. Also, less than 1K is the King Fisher Seafood Restaurant which is absolutely fabulous and affordable.
Yes.. in truth it is a 3 Star facility but for the value alone... someone is doing a very good job.

Room Tip: No suggestions.. perhaps ask for "Quiet".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancywim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    64
    27
    10
    5
See reviews for
81
24
3
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

As a 3 star one could not expect too much but the bedding was not clean and we found hairs on the pillows and in the ice. Not good for any establishment.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDvanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We came to South Africa for the 2010 world cup footie, had a few days between games so decided to travel up the garden route. Found this place on the net and booked a room for us. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Centrally located and easily accessible, lovely grounds and good room, they were working on the rooms and upgrading the lot, so a bit of workman around but the one we stayed in was great, clean, new and what we expected! So definitely a thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen_o_connor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices1974, Public Relations Manager at Pine Lodge George, responded to this review, February 24, 2011
Dear Stephen,
Thank-you for your great review on Pine Lodge Resort, George, South Africa. We look forward to accommodating you or any family or friends in the future. Please contact me directly should you require any assistance.
Regards
Sharon Holtzkampf
sharon@pinelodgegeorge.co.za
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

Lodging is in bungalow type units with full kitchenette. There is plenty of room, but the heating system is totally inadequate and there is no air conditioning. The place is kept clean but is somewhat shabby. There is reasonably priced wi-fi, and it had a good location. Staff is somewhat rigid. It says check-[in is at 3, and they mean it, even if the room has been ready since early morning. Grounds are nicely kept. It is a good value if you want to stay in George.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bobelaine20854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guestservices1974, Public Relations Manager at Pine Lodge George, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
Dear bobelaine20854,

Thank you for your review, we oppologise for your inconvience of the heating/airconditioning system, we have in the mean time renovated our chalets and been accredited by the tTourisim Grading Council and AA Quality Assured council.

On your next visit to George, South Africa, I would like to offer you a 5% discount on your accommodation booked with us. You can contact me directly via email: sharon@pinelodgegeorge.co.za

Regards
Sharon Holtzkampf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
1.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
53 reviews
3.0 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
68 reviews
2.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge George

Property: Pine Lodge George
Address: Pine Lodge | George East, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pine Lodge George 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pine Lodge is set in Africa's "Garden of Eden" which offers magnificent scenic diversity and splendor of the world renowned Garden Route. Pine Lodge offers 46 Self-catering chalets, set in lush gardens, with a sparkling swimming pool and tennis courts and for the children a lovely outdoor playground. Pine Lodge have all the requirements for a superb holiday or for a successful conference of an excellent wedding. Pine Lodge George is a firm favorite with sport teams, clubs and organizations nationwide and always welcome the opportunity to host functions, prize-givings, fund-raisers and special events. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing