We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value and Location”
Review of Oakhurst Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakhurst Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel on business but can see great value in terms of leisure usage as well.
Very comfortable rooms with recently refurbished bathrooms. The loft rooms will be great for families.
The locaton is in the hub of George so lends itself to doing business or as a stop over or hub for this region. There were some great winter/off season weekend packages on offer too.
I would suggest you ask for rate inclusive of breakfast as the stand alone breakfast menu would be a little pricy unless you are to make it a start of the day feast.
Well groomed staff and homely vibe.

Room Tip: some dowmstairs rooms open onto the general pool area. Great for some but privacy a problem if thats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst M, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Kevin R

Oakhurst Hotel would like to thank you for a positive feedback.
Our Team is always making sure that we create good memories to our Guest.
We are proud to inform you that we are renovating the rooms upstairs.

Kind regards

Oakhurst Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 72 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2013

As soon as we walked in the hotel, we didn’t have a good impression. Common areas definitely need an update, since furnishing looks old and, thus, I thought the place wouldn’t be well kept. But it was. On the other hand, rooms are very good, clean and well decorated. Location is very central, one block from the main street and close to restaurants and some shops. Breakfast and wi-fi was not included, and this is something, in my opinion, they should change, since whist in South Africa we had fantastic breakfasts without any extra charge and also free wireless. Finally, staff is very pleasant, I even watched a football match of their national championship with the guys at night.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I have tried out a number of guest houses and hotels in George and have thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Oakhurst hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the room was lovely. I was lucky enough to be upgraded to a deluxe room and that is highly recommended.

I was unfortunate to have a neighbour whose tv was blaring throughout the night, so I did not sleep much, but the beds are very comfortable with high quality linen. Breakfast was very good with both fresh and stewed fruit, a selection of cereals, yoghurt, bread, cheese, cold meats and muffins. A cooked breakfast was also provided and the friendly staff brought fresh coffee on a regular basis.

The lunch and dinner menu is an added bonus.

Street noise can be a problem, as the hotel is in the busy centre and wifi is restricted, but otherwise this hotel comes highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are much nicer than the standard rooms. Try to book a room which is not facing the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilsev348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst M, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Dear ilsev348

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am very pleased that you like our Deluxe rooms.

Oakhurst Hotel is happy to announce that renovations on our upstairs rooms starts 03 June 2013.

The Oakhurst Hotel staff is looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Janita and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I can highly recommend Oakhurst Hotel in George. It is maintained to excellent standards, the rooms are clean, well appointed and comfortable and the staff are extremely helfpul. It is also tastefuly decorated and is truly excellent.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the car park and was great but I think the rooms facing the pool side are probab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst M, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Nikki B

Thank you for your kind words.

We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms, as well as helpful and friendly service.

Looking forward to welcome you back at Oakhurst Hotel in the near future.

All the best to you

Janita and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We did not have anything booked, therefore it was a super surprise to find this very nice hotel with a special weekend offer. Very pleasant and friendly staff, clean and attractive room and bathroom and tasty breakfast. Pretty garden, convenient (free) parking, pool and attractive dining room and garden tables for meals too. We loved eating in the garden!

Plenty eateries in George too. A very pleasant town.
We would certainly make a point of returning there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkPeachesandCream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst M, Marketing Co-ordinator at Oakhurst Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Dear Mr/Mrs PeachesandCream

Thank you for your kind words. The Oakhurst Team appreciate it very much.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back at our Hotel in the near future.

All the best to you

Janita and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you are on the Garden Route in South Africa, there is a delightful hotel in George - the Oakhurst Hotel in George. This is the only hotel which greeted us with a decanter of an aperitiv, and a welcome sign on the front table in the lobby with the names of all the guests who are staying for their first night at the hotel. We then found in our room a welcome card stating the weather for the subsequent day and a wish that our stay be made as pleasant as possible. Our grandson was able to sleep in the loft by climbing a tall staircase. There are rooms also available with bunk beds, though we did not see any ourselves. The decor and architecture were "old world" in style. The staff was more than helpful. We opted to eat both dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both reasonably priced. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who finds himself in the area at nightfall.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WayfarerNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

WHat an Amazing hotel. We went there for our December vacation and it was brilliant. The staff are friendly and always willing to go out their way to help. The dinners are to die for " Impala Steak was the best I have ever eaten. Breakfast are out of this world "wimpy" could never compete. Come back from the beach and you could lie out at the pool and relax with a cold drink. This is the best hotel i have staid in for a long time and would recommen this to andy couple or family facation.

Their all inclusive stay and breakfast package is worth the money spent. No need to ask as we booking our December vacation there again this year 2012. The Staff and Management are first class.

Room Tip: rooms that open onto the pool is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
512 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#7 of 9 in George
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakhurst Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakhurst Hotel

Address: Cnr Meade & Cathedral Streets | PO Box 9416, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $66 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakhurst Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakhurst Hotel - “ Urban tranquility in the heart of George. “The ideal location to explore the rest of the Garden Route. Oakhurst Hotel is stylish, deliberately small and exclusive suited to both leisure and business travelers alike. The thatched gabled hotel facing the Outeniqua Mountains, offers 25 Designer- decorated rooms, all with en suite bathrooms and air conditioning. All the rooms are complemented with modern amenities to please even the most discerning traveler. Disabled facilities. Outdoor swimming pool. The restaurant is open for breakfast, light luncheons and snacks. Lounge with large farmhouse fireplace. Ladies bar. Secure open parking. Wireless internet. Oakhurst boasts a unique dining experience, with a choice of several restaurants, all located in the immediate vicinity. “The meeting place in the centre of George” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oakhurst Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing