We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure bliss! Excellent accomodation, bar and restaurant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwelanga Country Retreat
Ranked #27 of 64 George B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 8, 2009

The accomodation is in a fantastic location with views over Mossel Bay and so quiet that it is possible to hear the ocean. The chalets are very homely and well equipped.
The restaurant is nothing short of fantastic and chef Andrew and his crew really bring only the best to the table.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InternationalSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 48 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2009

Spacious lodge with lovely sea view - and wildebeest wandering around the grounds. The bed was a little hard for my taste but the shower room was of a very good standard. Excellent food - Andrew, the British chef, is reputed to be one of the five best chefs in the area. We only stayed two nights but had the best dinner of our one-week Garden Route tour there (the other night was chef's night off, unfortunately). Kwelanga is a little cut off, being down an unmade road, after passing through a less pretty area of George, but it is worth the journey for the food and the location. Apparently, the road is soon due to be improved.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tellitlikeitwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

We justed returned from a fantastic and romatic getaway at Kwelanga Country Retreat. We stayed there for nearly a week and did not want to leave. We stayed in one of the double chalets with breathtakings view of the ocean - just imagine waking up to that every morning. We were lucky to have great weather the whole time so we spend lots of time around the pool area. Andrew the chef there made us a proper South African Braai most nights, but his other individual flair he gives to his food, makes them different from any other restaurant - we did not even have to go any where else. Then there is Wynand and Lalie you jumped at every request we had and made any thing possible from going bungy jumping to a ride with the Choe-Tjoo Train. What a difference staff can make to a place. I am telling you, if you need to get away and have a relaxing weekend or week go to Kwelanga - you feel like you've been away for a year.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadtravellerSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2007

Out of the 4 different places we stayed at during a recent holiday to SA this is the one we loved most. Our lodge was basic but very clean and comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and they went out of their way to make meal times very enjoyable and relaxing, even with 2 children there! The food was amazing and the venison poijke is recommended! The views from the lodges and the restaurant are lovely and the animals roaming around the grounds just add to the experience. Laundry was done the same day for us at a very reasonable price. It's a good base for visiting Oodtshoorn and Knysna and a new shopping centre (Garden Route Mall) is only a few minutes drive away. The only fault we could find was that it was a little tricky to find at first but there were roadworks at the time of our visit which added to the confusion! As someone who has been to SA several times I would recommend this as an ideal stop on the Garden Route.

Stayed: October 2006
1  Thank SafariScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2007

An absolute disaster of a holiday! A misleading website promising fantastic accomodation with fully equipped self catering units (since when does a hotplate consitute a well equipped kitchen, try cooking your christmas turkey on it! Fortunately they did offer to do this in their ovens).

Arriving with two families of 9 people for a christmas get together, planning to cook our christmas dinner and eat it watching the fantastic sunsets. We discovered the most basic accomodation, uncomfortable beds, leaking gas heaters, boiling hot to freezing cold showers, grumpy hostess who objected to any basic request we made which included a bowl to put a salad in and extra tea towels. The restaurant was closed most nights during our stay, which we were not forwarned about. As the kitchen was not equipped with an oven and during holiday season where most shops were closed or low on supplies this led to us having to be imaginative when producing meals.

The website misleads you to believe that you are walking distance to the sea and fishing areas - neglecting to say this is only possible if you are a highly skilled rock climber and have a very long fishing line. It is not possible for you to walk in the grounds as fear of being attacked by wildebeest was high (as experienced on one occasion).

Lounges were uncomfortable and TV is set so high neck strain becomes unavoidable, made all the worst by having to stay in due to bad weather.

Good points: beautiful view and Tinker the dog who paid morning visits to check up on how the stay was going.

4  Thank Jess8027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rallylady, New Owner at Kwelanga Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2009

This happened before we bought Kwelanga.
Hope it does happen while we own Kwelanga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Adrian I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margotstalknecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
3.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
4.1 mi away
Apple and Spice
Apple and Spice
#28 of 64 in George
27 reviews
5.2 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
11.3 mi away
Over the Mountain Guest Farm
4.9 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwelanga Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwelanga Country Retreat

Address: No 5 Beach Road | Hansmoeskraal, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in George
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing