We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Breakaway”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in George
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kwelanga Country Retreat
Ranked #20 of 59 George B&B and Inns
cape town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Breakaway”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I initially booked at Kwelanga for a business getaway but ended up taking my husband with for a mini-holiday as well. Our function facility for work had everything we needed and was private/quiet and we got everything done we set out to in record time. It was also lovely to have tea-breaks and lunches out on the deck. As for the part I enjoyed the most - having a holiday with my husband: We stayed in one of the self-catering chalets and hope to return real soon! The hospitality was unmatched and so was the views and the tranquillity. It was a home away from home, fully equipped with such attention to detail in the rooms – All you need to bring is your toothbrush! We had the greatest breakfasts every morning on their huge wooden deck overlooking the fields (with wildebeests) and in the afternoons we had picnics and we braaied in the evening under the star-FILLED skies. The views I must express again are breath-taking! From the chalets, from the deck and around the corner from them at the estuary Dries sent us one afternoon to explore (MOST BEAUTIFYL SIGHT OF MY LIFE!). It is a must see!!! So peaceful, so charming!!!! Just perfect! Thanks again Dries & Tina!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank heike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent the first few days of our honeymoon at Kwelanga and i cant wait to return, the hospitality is outstanding, the views and tranqulity is so so beautiful, i can definitley say that was the best stay by far, and we will definitely return to celebrate our anniversary there.
well done to Dries, Chrissie and staff for outstanding hospitality, forever in our prayers.......

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candace s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2013

On our trip around the western Cape - we came across Kwelanga Country Retreat. We found the resort by coincident on tripadvisor - our experience beat all the expectaions:
Dries and his wife are extremely welcoming and friendly - they cooked a wonderful meal for us - and served a great local wine - and they arranged for the most stunning sunset ever.
When we arrived - it was raining - and Dries suggested to keep they eyes open - the sky might clear up and the sun might come out.... and it all happened. Stunning - i would say - even magical!
The cottage was cozy, clean, spacious, with a nice view over the ocean and very comfortable - and the gnus walked by outside the porch...
If you are ever passing through George - don't miss the experience of Kwelanga.

Thank you Dries and team!
KT & MI

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktrachsler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent a week taking three lodges at Kwalanga over Christmas 2012. A wonderful retreat away from the madding crowd. Quite ,peaceful and ideal for what we wanted. Great hospitality and friendly staff. Well managed under Dries and Chrissie just dissappointed I could not take up the invite to play golf with him...next time!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulGlover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great venue...wonderfull facilities...just know that there is a 3.5km sand road to get there, which can be a bit bumpy at times. Only one or 2 channels of dstv plus normal free channels. Very safe...place to braai...swimming pool...very nice people in charge. I highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chazzanSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Dries and his wife are awesome people. Very friendly and the food is great... Views are stunning. If you are looking for quite, restful, peaceful accommodation. This is it! A stunning viewing deck greets you when you arrive. Southern Cape tranquility.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlV2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenrouteGunner, Manager at Kwelanga Country Retreat, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks Carl.
Was a privilege having you and the family here. Enjoy the rest off your holiday and hopefully we will see you soon on a quick golfing breakaway:).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We needed a room for the night and on impulse followed the signs to the lodge.Don't get discouraged by the graveled road, you are on the right track!!

Although being the only guests for that night (a group had cancelled) Dries,(the owner/manager) made us a very tasty vegetarian dish for dinner. He was very friendly, helping out with information and made us feel very welcome.
So did Liza, the receptionist and the cat (we don't know the name...)

The cottage we stayed at had a spectacular view over the garden and the ocean!

After a good nights sleep, a walk on the grounds and a nice breakfast we could go on refreshed and energized.

I can highly recommend the place, a real jewel !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globe_watching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
0.0 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Over the Mountain Guest Farm
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Alpine Inn
#33 of 59 in George
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kwelanga Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kwelanga Country Retreat

Property: Kwelanga Country Retreat
Address: No 5 Beach Road | Hansmoeskraal, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing