We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home, except with more beautiful surroundings!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Malvern Manor Country Guest House
Ranked #11 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My home away from home, except with more beautiful surroundings!”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

I have stayed at Malvern Manor on 4 separate occasions over the past 2 years and can honestly say that I will not stay anywhere else when in George. The wonderful hosts, Sandra and Michael, are warm, welcoming and friendly. They truly go out of their way to make their guest's stay as comfortable as possible! Breakfasts are out of this world! I am a seasoned traveller (due to the nature of my job), and I have yet to find a place whose breakfast's measure up to that of Malvern Manor. The location of the guesthouse is the best part - nestled at the bottom of mountains with stunning views of the lush surroundings.

I highly recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting a comfortable 'home away from home' stay in George, who you are spoilt rotten with the surroundings, breakfasts and the warmth of the hosts.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicqi_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    25
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
72
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Capetown
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2010

With the snow on the mountains, the green hills and lovely white house with 2 border collies watching over me,it was like something from a movie. And then if you add Michael and Sandra's personal touch, the good food and finesse, it becomes an Oscar winning movie. Personally the flowers in the room(exspecially the Jasmine) and the hospitality of 2 such wonderful people will make me go back again and again. I think I will call this movie my own version of " The Sound of Music". Tessa / Capetown

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TessaCapetown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We stayed here for 2 days during a 3-week holiday around South Africa. Sandra and Michael made us feel very welcome. Our room was beautiful with cute touches of fresh flowers. As well as our room we had the use of the guest lounge with comfy sofas and a big TV (that's if you have time to watch TV!). The house itself has well-maintained grounds and stunning views of the mountains from the gardens. Their breakfasts are delicious with home-made bread, fresh fruit, and cooked-to-order full breakfasts!

George itself is an industrial town and there isn't a lot for tourists to do but Michael was great at recommending places to visit only a short drive away and we had some of our most exciting experiences while staying here. They are also good at recommending local restaurants to dine at.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshtraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Sandra and Michael are excellent hosts and could not have made us more welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. They recommended & booked restaurants and offered to take us and pick us up. Our room was elegant and well appointed, with comfortable beds and a good bathroom and superb attention to detail. The breakfast was delicious, served with good conversation. The location is lovely; quiet with a very pretty garden and a pool for relaxing. We particularly enjoyed the wildlife and the views.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank volnay49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2010

Malvern manor was such a lovely tranquil place to stay, run to a very high standard with good facilities.
The breakfast was very good and the overall location was good to explore the garden route,the owners Sandra &Michael were very hospitable and nothing was to much trouble for them.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ephraim42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ash Vale, Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

Michael and Sandra were very gracious hosts in their lovely farmhouse, where we spent two nights with fabulous views of the Outinique Mountains. The room was lovely, very clean and well appointed, with the best internet connection of our whole trip - very important to some!! Breakfasts were lovely and freshly cooked. We had great restaurant recommendations from Michael and he even drove us to them so we could both have a glass of wine or two, cant really ask for better than that. I would not hesitate to recommend Malvern Manor to anyone wanting to stay in George.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CollinsHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2009

Michael and Sandra are excellent hosts with a hidden gem of a Guest House in George. Comfortable and well appointed room, lovely garden with pool, great location and even friendly pets!

Traditional cooked breakfast in the morning was a joy and our only regret was that we could only stay one night. Thoroughly recommended if you are touring the garden Route.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoubleDurham_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
3.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
0.9 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
3.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
54 reviews
4.0 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#3 of 62 in George
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Manor Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Property: Malvern Manor Country Guest House
Address: Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Malvern Manor Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 star, luxury guest house in Cape Dutch style, on a country estate, and dairy farm, Beautiful mature gardens with a solar heated swimming pool, abundant birdlife in a tranquil, quiet location. Breakfast cooked to order, using fresh local ingredients where available. Well appointed, individually decorated, en-suite rooms, personalised individual service with attention to detail. Internet access, t.v. Sky. Close to Fancourt golfing estate, plus 3 other Championship GOLF courses, beaches and local airport. Surrounded by stunning mountain views and country walks. Romantic getaway, leisure or business. Non smoking. Peaceful, private, secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Malvern Manor Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing