We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great scenery /backdrop and excellent service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Malvern Manor Country Guest House
Ranked #12 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Really good location and made to feel very welcome.The accomodation,breakfast and service was very good,The dogs made us feel really welcome and enjoyed counting my laps in the swimming pool!! Tea in the garden by the pool in the afternoon was a good way to relax after a day walking on the local beaches,

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. We value and appreciate the time you have taken to comment on Trip Advisor, and hope that we can welcome you again. In the meantime keep warm and dry in the U.K. winter and we wish you all a very Happy Xmas and healthy new year. Sandra and Michael, and of course Dante and Jess.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Malvern Manor Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

It has been such a lovely experience to find accommodation you feel so much at home that you do not miss your own. The rooms were comfortable with beautiful themes and I absolutely loved the Roman bath! Malvern manor is ideally located on the outskirts of George with farm atmosphere and tranquility - and there are so much to do and see! We had wonderful hosts and will recommend this gem to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Manor G, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you so much for your review, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us, and we hope we shall see you and your family again. I am sure that it wont be too long before you need another rest from the hard work of running a business and raising a family, although you do live in a beautiful part of the country. Have a wonderful summer, and thank you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a fantastic place to spend a few days in a beautiful location and excellent comfortable accommodation.. Spotlessly clean and modern. Excellent full breakfast with enormous selection.

Sandra and Michael are great host and hostess and well versed with all local amenities They will recommend excellent restaurants in the area, make reservations for you, take you there if you have no car, pick you up at George airport and take you back.

What a great experience and great value for money.

We fully recommend Malvern Manor.

Dr. John Miller and Elke Miller. Mainz. Germany

Room Tip: Contact Sandra in advance and discuss your preference
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbt94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern Manor G, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Dr. Miller, we are so glad that you and your wife enjoyed our beautiful area and country, it is a pleasure to share it with our overseas guests, and show you some of our local restaurants. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Thank you for your wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This is the 2nd time that we have visited Malvern Manor, with several years in between. Sometimes when you re-visit a place it can be a bit of a disappointment. This was NOT the case !! We had a wonderful time. Ok. The approach road did have a few pot holes. But it should not be a huge problem as it is only 1km or so. If I am going to be a little "picky" I would suggest that maybe wi-fi usage could be improved on.
So... To sum it up....if you plan to visit George.....stay at Malvern Manor, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HelenWicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

After a long hot journey from Cape Town, we were delighted to discover this little haven of a guest house. Sandra and Michael were so welcoming, very forthcoming with information about the area. Their dinner recommendations were excellent although perhaps the first night it might have been advisable to take Michaels kind offer to drive us to the restaurant as it is a bit confusing if you are a novice to the area! The rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The choice of breakfast was excellent and Sandras home made breads and muffins to die for! We stayed there 3 nights and saw everything of the garden route that we had imagined we would be able to do in our short time there. I would not hesitate to recommend staying but it is about 15 mins from town but near the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

We enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Malvern Manor very much. Excellent breakfast and very charming hosts.
Only the gravel road to the guest house should be be improved. It's a roller coaster ride around the many, sometimes deep potholes.

Room Tip: All of the three rooms are nice with a big bathroom
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michaelmrm, Owner at Malvern Manor Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2012

Thank you so much for the time you have taken to put your comments on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate it.
Unfortunately the one kilometer of gravel road is beyond our controle and the local authority will not allow us to maintain it. We will however pass your comments on to them. It is good for other travellers to be reminded that there is a short gravel road to drive over to get to Malvern Manor. The road does deteriorate slightly after we have heavy rain, but is always usable by a family car.

We trust you enjoyed your holiday in South Africa, and hope you will return. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. It is a few miles out of George but is ideally situated for exploring the Garden Route and inland in the Karoo. Also very handy for the airport if you fly in. No need to worry about driving to dinner as Michael is happy to take and collect guests into town and will make the booking for you. Breakfast was lovely and Michael and Sandra were really helpful with suggestions of places to visit, making enquiries as to availability etc. They are also very knowledgeable about the area. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRENML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
7.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
3.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
3.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
484 reviews
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
4.0 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#3 of 62 in George
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malvern Manor Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malvern Manor Country Guest House

Address: Boshoff Street | De Zoete Inval Farm Estate, Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: $112 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Malvern Manor Country Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive 4 star, luxury guest house in Cape Dutch style, on a country estate, and dairy farm, Beautiful mature gardens with a solar heated swimming pool, abundant birdlife in a tranquil, quiet location. Breakfast cooked to order, using fresh local ingredients where available. Well appointed, individually decorated, en-suite rooms, personalised individual service with attention to detail. Internet access, t.v. Sky. Close to Fancourt golfing estate, plus 3 other Championship GOLF courses, beaches and local airport. Surrounded by stunning mountain views and country walks. Romantic getaway, leisure or business. Non smoking. Peaceful, private, secure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Malvern Manor Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing