We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average family stop over”
Review of Town Lodge George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Town Lodge George
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night with our 3 yr & 5 yr old kids. We had adjoining rooms, which made up the family room advertised. The 'Safari Travel' or something website actually said no children allowed but we called and checked. It was incorrect of course.
A small pool was right outside the room through the doors opening onto a well manicured garden. We didn't get to use it but the pool was nice and blue, clear and clean.
Rooms were small yet clean and each had it's own bathroom. Or should I say shower room and toilet etc. There was no bath in either room. I'm not sure whether other rooms may have one or not. Shower facility was nice but a bath is often easier for small kids. Also more towels and perhaps larger ones would be great. Normal 'hotel' bathroom amenities such as liquid body wash wash, soap etc were lacking.
The doors onto the garden could perhaps also have had an additional locking mechanism higher up, out of reach of small kids. Our 5 yr old opened it and wandered into the garden and pool area far too quickly.
And although we didn't ask ahead of time, it works have been nice to have a small bar fridge in 1 room or at least know that one could be made available.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank peLIPPSTREU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge George, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for the review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the pool area and garden. However, we will look into the locking mechanism idea. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
There are newer reviews for Town Lodge George
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 69 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2014

As a Preacher I travel across the country extensively & travelled to George in April 2013. My wife booked us in the Town Lodge across from the shopping centre. Excellent location-easy to find, close to the freeway. Although rooms are small, we enjoyed our room. As we had booking over the internet, admin process was smooth on check in & check out. Safe on site parking facilities. Neat, clean rooms. No complaints-Would we return to this hotel? Yes.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samuel H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge George, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you and your wife again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Town Lodge George was conveniently located next to the Garden Route Mall. We stayed here for one night. The rooms were of decent size, there was a nice swimming pool, a beautiful view and a nice breakfast. A nice hotel for an overnight stopover while driving through George.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atiwary389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge George, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Happy New Year - thanks for your kind review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Although the hotel is situated next to a Mall and have easy access to the highway, please be aware of sleeping over. You will not spend the night alone. A colleague and myself were itching and covered with insect bite marks after spending only one night. The hotel staff's friendly manner could not make up for this ongoing uncomfortable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DawieWentzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Public Relations Manager at Town Lodge George, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies. Please note, however, that we have conducted a full investigation into this matter with the help of expert consultants who could not detect any infestation. You are a valued guest and we hope that we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed overnight in this hotel located on the garden route n2 mall. It's very convenient secure within all the amenities a stone throw away ( mall)
The reception is beautiful and sparking clean. The staff friendly and efficient. The rooms though smallish are adequate morden . They don't have enough noise insulation which is unfortunate.
There sell wifi and its quite pricy
I would recommend this hotel any time . The parking is secure

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is situated about 15 minutes drive from George airport, and right next to a big mall. It is very close to ghe N2 highway, so getting there and away is easy. There is safe parking. The rooms are clean, with en-suite bathrooms anx opening onto the garden and swimming pool. There is a bar and restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

An ok business hotel, could also be good as a base for leisure travel in the George area.
Easy access to highway (the N2) Shops and restaurants close by. Rooms a bit small, and only showers, no baths, but overall clean, well-kept, helpful staff.Only breakfast served, but this was good. I'd recommend it as a good reasonably priced hotel for business or leisure travel, but dont expect spas, hairdressers and so forth !

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colink114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
1.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
6.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
5.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Lodge George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Lodge George

Address: Knysna Road, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $75 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Town Lodge George 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated on Knysna Road opposite the Garden Route Mall, Town Lodge George offers business and leisure guests 120 rooms in a variety of double, interleading and twin configurations. It comprises the features synonymous with Town Lodge around the country - such as spacious rooms with maxi showers, ample free parking, a swimming pool, breakfast and an evening bar service - and is the ideal accommodation venue for visitors to the George area and travellers en route between Port Elizabeth and Cape Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Town Lodge George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Lodge George Hotel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing