We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caledon 23 Country House
Ranked #9 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I can highly commend Caledon 23 in George. We stayed for 3 night's and had a great, comfortable stay. Cathy and the staff are very friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left . Definitely worth a stay, whether for leisure or business. The rooms are comfortable and bathrooms modern. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Corne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 65 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

What a wonderful B and B. From the time of our arrival till departure, we were made to feel welcome and they made sure that all our needs were met. This beautiful decorated house is truly a home away from home and the spacious rooms make the stay very comfortable. It is extremely clean and spacious and the morning breakfast is just what you need to get the day started. The gardens are tranquil and the gated property ensures safety. I would definitely return and I highly recommend this B and B.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank golfmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Exactly what the name says.As a frequent traveler, one get bored with hotels.This is where every traveler should book into.I wish every town could have one of these. The friendlyness of the staff, the nice clean and quiet rooms,spacious bathrooms, almost feels like home.The big wooden doors open,allow plenty of the fresh clean air the Southern Cape has to offer.
The parking area is safe,spacious, nice and clean, surrounded with beautifull flowers and trees.

If you do not book into this little gem on your next trip, you will definately be missing out on a Country House life style.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a great time ! Stayed for more than month,had exellent service and food,felt like home ,maybe even better,only smiles and happy faces.Got the nicest tea garden and braai area,enjoyable and memorable times around the fire.Had to go back Dec 2012 for another stay,enjoyed it even more,now there is a Primi Piati restaurant,200m walking distance,great for a solo guy.Thanx alot for the awesome stay and see you soon.Will certainly recommend you guys.

Room Tip: At the back of premises is a seperate cottage with 2 rooms,the best spot with own parking infront of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jakobus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I booked a room at Caledon23 Country House and arrived yesterday, to be met by the very friendly receptionist who also offered me a warm cup of tea upon arrival. I was very pleased with the beautiful room I was allocated. The decor reminded me of my stay in France, lovely! I needed to arrange for a bouquet of flowers to be delivered to a friend and the staff made all these arrangements for me, as well as supplying me with detailed information on the best local restaurants. They have plenty of off-street secure parking and rooms are very private, each with it's own entrance. Situated very central, but just far enough not to be disturbed by any traffic. I sleps like a baby and this morning enjoyed a very scrumptious breakfast, at a time that suited me.....no rush! Thank you Caledon23 Country House for making my stay perfect. I will certainly recommend this place to everyone and will be back very soon.

Room Tip: All their rooms are beautiful and spacious. Can't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelagent1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I booked a room at Caledon Country House and arrived yesterday, to be met by the very friendly receptionist who also offered me a warm cup of tea upon arrival. I was very pleased with the beautiful room I was allocated. The decor reminded me of my stay in France, lovely! I needed to arrange for a bouquet of flowers to be delivered to a friend and the staff made all these arrangements for me, as well as supplying me with detailed information on the best local restaurants. They have plenty of off-street secure parking and rooms are very private, each with it's own entrance. Situated very central, but just far enough not to be disturbed by any traffic. I sleps like a baby and this morning enjoyed a very scrumptious breakfast, at a time that suited me.....no rush! Thank you Caledon Country House for making my stay perfect. I will certainly recommend this place to everyone and will be back very soon.

Room Tip: All their rooms are beautiful and spacious. Can't go wrong with any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelagent1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Room smelt of mould and mildew, white towels had yellow and brown stains on and brown towel had a hole in it. Shower had hair in it! Bed had hair in it! No form of ventilation, just a fan in room. Hair hair everywhere!!! Had to search to find staff. Breakfast rather not.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
7.2 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
1.4 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 62 in George
68 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lentelus Guesthouse
Lentelus Guesthouse
#10 of 62 in George
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Die Waenhuis Guest House
Die Waenhuis Guest House
#21 of 62 in George
38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aziza Guest House
Aziza Guest House
#2 of 62 in George
137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loerie Guest Lodge
Loerie Guest Lodge
#11 of 62 in George
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caledon 23 Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caledon 23 Country House

Address: 23 Caledon Street, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: $68 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caledon 23 Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled at the foot of the beautiful Outeniqua Mountains, in the heart of the Garden Route, lies a new 4 star home-away-from-home Guesthouse, Caledon23 Country House. Located in the charming residential Camphersdrift neighbourhood, it is within comfortable walking distance to the city centre of George. The individually decorated bedrooms are all stylishisly furnished with a focus on attention to detail. At Caledon Country House we welcome our guests to the ideal retreat for business and/or holiday travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Caledon 23 Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing