We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in George
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay...”
Reviewed October 10, 2012 via mobile

Overall the hotel lives up to its 3-star rating, with a few 5-star touches. Yes, the decor might be a bit outdated and the bathrooms a bit small...but the service is excellent with friendly & helpful staff, very comfy bed and linen, fresh towels daily, a "good night" card with chocolates every night and 100MB free wi-fi daily. All of this made for a very pleasant stay at Protea Hotel Outeniqua!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan-Steyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Jan – Steyn P

WOW thank you very much for your lovely comments, the TEAM really is great and we do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. We are truly happy you enjoy your stay with us. Look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Protea Hotel Outeniqua “ The Urban Hub of George.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    47
    20
    11
    13
See reviews for
24
31
12
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knysna
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

From entering the hotel the warmth and friendliness of the staff is a constant. Rooms always neat and tidy. Towels smelling good!!! Best breakfast in George!! Be back soon. Thank you Jackie, Cynthia, Alison, Mervin, Marylise, Mindre, Rika and Meagan. Protea Hotel Outeniqua - my home away from home!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Andre V
Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. The TEAM do all appreciate your kind appraisals. We are your home away from home, so hopefully not too long before we welcome you back. Take care and see you again soon at the Protea Hotel Outeniqua “The Urban Hub of George “
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

If you go the the website of the hotel and look at the picture you maybe impressed. This is a what I would call a UK travelodge. Nothing wrong with the place but unless you just want a bed for the night then I suggest you look elswhere. The place has no character and the staff are quite disinterested simply because it caters for passing trade. It does not have a restaurant. The bar is unmanned. The rooms are clinical and cold.The breakfast are the only highlight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Thank you very much your comments on the website. Protea Hotel Outeniqua’s slogan is the “the Urban Hub of George”
ideal because it is so central and walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and pubs. The breakfasts are very popular and really value for money. The hotel does not advertise itself as a leisure resort hotel – it is a very popular corporate hotel because of its location and convenience. Trust you will enjoy the remainder of your vacation in our beautiful sunny South Africa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Reading the previous reviews on this site... I can only smile. I manage a 3 start guest lodge in the Whale Coast where we are of high standard but if guests only knew what this industry have to put up with (and mainly from people with fanancial stability). The building is not the Michael Angelo no, and the bathrooms maybe a bit small yes, but the breakfast is excellent quality, the staff were friendly, the location is convenient and the linen where spotless and of excellent quality. Other than that, what a WELCOMING surprise when I we checked out the following morning to find my car window cleaned… such a lovely gester! You may not be the best of the best of the best, but you are surely trying and making the best of what you are given! Keep it up Protea Hotel staff in George!

Room Tip: If you are picky about where you overnight and you want 5 star quality at a 3 star rate, then do you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear Dee
Thank you very much for your kind and inspiring words – the TEAM are all smiles. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Point, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I went on a roadtrip through the Garden Route and stayed over at the Outeniqua Protea! I had a great stay in the middle of town. True friendly South African hospitality, good food and clean crisp linen. Couldn't have asked for more and it was right in the middle of town. Walking distance to great pubs, restaurants and shops. Check out Tarantino's Pub next door and La Capanino's accross the road :) Good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IZ82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor. Protea Hotel Outeniqua is the most central hotel, with a vast number of restaurants all around it. Guests are spoilt for choice. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I passed through George for business and selected the Protea Outeniqua Hotel for my overnight stay. It was an excellent choice. Centrally situated, lots of restaurants in walking distance from the hotel. Old but clean and homely. Excellent breakfast. Good value for money. Try the Protea Hotel Outeniqua for a good stay in the heart of the Garden Route.Suze Kieswetter

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Dear Ms Suzelle Eksteen,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Our TEAM prides itself on friendly efficient service, clean and functional rooms. The breakfast is also one of the best in town. Known as the The Urban Hub of George because of the hotel’s position -CENTRAL and walking distance to a whole array of shops and restaurants - also makes the hotel very popular. We hope to welcome you back very soon with your next visit to the Garden Route
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil Hemming
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

There are so many nice hotels in this area of the Garden Route you can avoid this one. Tiny Rooms, moldy bathrooms that are so small its unreal. If you are over 5 ft 5 you won't fit in the shower and if you do you will fall in the toilet when you try to get out. Toilets were not clean and I had to clean the pubic hair out from the last guest in the bathroom. Old fashioned tvs with very poor quality pictures. Safes didn't work in either of the two rooms we booked. They do breakfast but no other food, they get it delivered from Local Spur!!! Noisy air conditioning that frankly looks like it came from 70's. Really grubby little hotel would never ever go back or recommend it. Very pricey for really rubbish rooms and service. A total no go!! Also wifi voucher is on per room so if there are two of you only one can get wifi. Stupid. I hated this place. Drive past george and book wilderness.

Room Tip: Drive a few miles away and I'm sure you will find a nice room or opt to sleep in your car would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHO_GM, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your valued feedback. We do apologise for the inconvenience you experienced with your stay. This Protea Hotel is under new management – the TEAM has already implemented change. The TV problem is being addressed as we speak. Future guests can be assured of quality clean rooms, good food and friendly efficient service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.2 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Far Hills Country Hotel
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
68 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Address: 123 York Street, George 6529, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Outeniqua George)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua - located in "The Urban Hub" of George. Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua is strategically situated in the urban business, retail and residential hub of George. Vibrant shops and restaurants are abundant in the precinct. Minutes away from the Garden Route Shopping Mall, forests, majestic mountains and majestic coastline, for which the Garden Route is renowned. There is always something to do, from hiking, fishing, abseiling, nature trails and more - all on our doorstep. Easy access to the George Airport and Beaches (15km). An ideal halfway stop between Cape Town and Port Elizabeth and perfect mid-point to base yourself for exploring the whole Garden Route and Klein Karoo. Nestled amongst the well-renowned golf courses of the Garden Route (George Golf Course 2 km) - it is the ideal base to stay and play. Unrivalled convenience and value for money. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing