We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Quick Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Tampa, FL
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great for a Quick Stay”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here while my husband was visiting his mother. The photos on the website are deceiving, however, the grounds are beautiful. There is a main hotel with some rooms but the other rooms are like a motel. Our room was clean and comfortable but the shower only had 3 walls and water ran out like a river through the bathroom. We had patio doors that opened out to the pool area which was really nice but it was cold so no pool use. the Breakfast buffet was lacking in pizazz. There was limited wait staff but I will say they were very accommodating when I asked for a Diet Coke. They will change your buffet prices if you tell them exactly what you had to eat. The bartender was superb! He was full of knowledge and great fun!

Room Tip: Get a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaytread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review that Protea Hotel King George after your recent stay with us.
I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of our TEAM in the bar in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!
GUESTS' perceptions of the service they receive whilst staying with Protea Hotels is the only true yardstick we have for measuring whether or not we have met their expectations. We would, therefore, like to thank you for taking the time to review us after your stay at Protea Hotel King George. I can assure you that your comments will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our service levels and facilities.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    100
    51
    22
    12
See reviews for
65
75
4
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We spent 3 days in George with the Protea King George as our base. Services was excellent and extras asked for were no problem. As Durbanites it was a little chilly at night and we were a little surprised at no heater in the room. Kind of hotel though, that we would happily revisit. Small detail - found the bath rather tight in width, lucky I was not a big person!

Room Tip: Rather nice watching the KIngswood Golf Course and it's golfers from our patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oumajudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Protea Hotel King George.
I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. I wish to assure you that I have congratulated our TEAM for doing such an outstanding job!

My apologies for the inconvenience with the heater - we actually do have a aircoditioner / heater in each room and this should have been communicated to you upon arrival - I have addressed this with our STAFF to ensure that this gets communicated to all our GUESTS upon arrival, as I do agree - although our days are quite moderate, the evenings this time of the year does get a bit chilly.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel King George again soon.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

this hotel is beautifully located on the George country club golf course and the balconies offer a relaxing vista The rooms are well appointed and the beds are comfortable . The bar is really nice and cozy and encourages a fireside chat . BUT the restaurant charges 4 star prices then caters to tour groups from India that turn the place into a army canteen. My advise is to avoid the restaurant until they discover that fine dining and tour groups do not go together.
Noisy passages and banging doors are a total distraction to a otherwise great hotel.
Not sure I will want to stay here again.

Room Tip: check if they have tour groups staying before you spend your money in the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse-JOburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berneace, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Protea Hotel King George after your recent stay with us.

First of all – Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our spacious rooms, the overall cleanliness of the hotel, as well as our great location and cosy pub.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay with us. We do have a fair number of International Groups that stay with us throughout the year and we always try our utmost best to accommodate all our GUESTS’ dietary requirements and tastes. Over and above the more traditional buffet dinners that we serve on busier evenings, we also have an a la Carte option available in our restaurant as well as our bar. We also have a room service menu for our GUESTS that might prefer a quieter meal in their room. These options should have been presented to you – our apologies if this was not communicated through to you.

We have made a note on our side and should we have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future, we will ensure that you stay in a quieter room a bit further away from any groups we might have in-house over that specific period.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation and to ensure that you are well taken care of during your next stay with us.

Yours in Royal Hospitality,
Berneace Nel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Great hotel. Reasonable Rate for what is offered. I stay at this hotel often with my family and will always check availability here as my first choice hotel when visiting the Garden Route. Great rooms. Great Service. Great buffet breakfast selection. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herschel_devries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at Protea Hotel King George. We are delighted to receive your compliments and I will certainly congratulate the TEAM for their exemplary service.

It was our pleasure to accommodate you, and your interest and continued loyalty are truly invaluable to us. Please feel free to contact me personally for any assistance you may require from our side in future. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to the Protea Hotel King George!

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A welcome stay after a long day in Oudshoorn. Very efficient and friendly front staff. Tricky hotel layout leaves it feeling rather cold and disconnected, but room fine and breakfast OK too. Perfect lauch to garden route region.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GautengLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review us after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel King George.

Our hotel is indeed perfectly located from which to explore the Garden Route and its many attractions and I am delighted to hear that the Front Office STAFF were so friendly and efficient.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel King George again soon!
Yours in Royal Hospitality,
Berneace Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here late to end of March 2014. Was due to stay 11 nights but managed to arrange a transfer to Cape Town for remainder of the holiday. Arrived late after long drive to very helpful receptionist staff and Lynda, a waitress in the restaurant. Although too tired to be concerned a number of dishes not available on the set menu. Room large and comfortable (standard). Hotel lovely layout with the mountain range behind. Breakfast odd mix of buffet and very variable service with some excellent, helpful staff down to the rude and off hand. The couple times we ate in the evening in the restaurant found again set dishes in available, and generally menu unimaginative. Last visit though was shocking! Had to repeat our order several times to waitress for some reason. Again dishes not available. Then the staff appeared to disappear into the kitchen barely to be seen again. Eventually got served food some 45 min later and the service continued at this pace. Felt terribly sorry for elderly couple having 30th wedding anniversary treat. There were also tired children awaiting their food. Whatever the problem a manager came around and apologised rather clumsily for the delay. Eventually gave up and paid at the desk. Despite this I would like to specially praise the receptionist staff who were all caring and helpful in assisting us with the transfer to Cape Town. I would particularly like to highlight the assistance of Lyndon who was exceptional in helping us. Wifi variable and very weak.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noni1796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for your review after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel King George.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that was caused to you during your stay. Your experience of the service delivery overall most certainly does not reflect the high standard that Protea Hotel King George is usually proud to offer. I confirm therefore that your concerns have been addressed and that corrective action is being taken to rectify the shortcomings in our restaurant and kitchen.

Thank you for your commendations of our Front Office TEAM, as well as Lynda in the restaurant and Lynton, our Front Office manager - I wish to assure you that I have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job.

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure whether or not we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS' expectations. We need to know when we have done right, but more importantly, when we have done wrong! Your feedback has therefore been truly invaluable to us. Should you require any further assistance from our side, please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Yours sincerely,

Berneace Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

On arrival you are met by extremely friendly and efficient staff who supplies you with great service. The hotel has excellent facilities. Excellent value for money! Free WiFi on request makes this the perfect Hotel for Business or Pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ettienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for your review!
I am delighted that we have exceeded your expectations and we are delighted to receive your compliments. I will certainly congratulate the STAFF for their exemplary service and friendliness!

We hope to welcome you back to the Protea Hotel King George soon!

Yours in Royal Hospitality,

Berneace Nel
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
53 reviews
23.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
8.0 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing