We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed July 27, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights during the week. The hotel was quite quiet and we were out a lot on business. Didn't eat there but used the bar and they had a happy hour every evening and the barman gave us all the details on the first night we were there. Gave us bar snacks too as we were hungry. We had drinks in the bar every evening before going out and when we arrived back late they kept the bar open for us to have a nightcap. I found all the staff to be willing to go the extra mile, especially the bar staff. THe rooms were nice size and all around the lovely gardens, not in a usual multi-storey hotel building. Luckily we had a driver as I think it might have been difficult place to find as seemed to be in a semi-residential area. I think it was a 3 star and it suited our needs perfectly. Very central location with restaurants not too far away.

Room Tip: If the weather is bad then you want a room close to the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you for your positive feedback after your recent stay with us at the Protea Hotel King George!
I am delighted to hear that the STAFF were so friendly and efficient. Your commendations of our beautiful 4-star property and our STAFF in particular are highly valued, and I wish to assure you that we have congratulated them for doing such an outstanding job!

GUEST feedback is imperative for us to ensure that we are meeting and exceeding our GUESTS’ expectations. Your comments are therefore much appreciated, and we hope to have the privilege of welcoming you to Protea Hotel King George again soon.

The TEAM at the Protea Hotel King George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 281 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's notoften you get an establihment , that really goes the extra mile ,
Having messed up my Booking , I realized that i would have to check in 1 day earlier, and also during the very early morning hours ... I might add ....

The Rooms Devision Manager Mr Conrad Jonck , was the first to realize my situation and acted immediately, and managed to secure the room and arranged everything, very welcoming when you have just driven 1200km, and everything is sorted out !!

The Night Reception officer , was very welcoming , and everything was processed without hassle !!

Yes of course the Double Deluxe Sweet ,is awesome , and wellover my needs ,but the room is spacious, and very couple/family friendly, although this is a business trip , this Establishment is ranked as my Number 1 Accommodation supplier if ever I am in George !!!!

Friendly and Efficient & Very Helpful !!!!!!!

The Grounds are well kept and lush green , The Golf Course is just around the corner ,might have to make sometime next time , Im in George!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dillon Lerm I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Dillon,
Thank you for your comments on the Protea Hotel King George.
Our aim is to not only meet, but to exceed all our GUESTS' expectations and it's wonderful to hear that we succeeded in adding "MAGIC" to your stay.
We hope to welcome you back to your Home away from Home in the near future!


The TEAM at the Protea Hotel King George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

After escaping from our earlier booking at another poor hotel in the area, we went to George tourism offices to find something decent. All the staff were friendly, professional and helpful and the King George Protea hotel.The room was clean, warm and comfortable with all the facilities you need when travelling as a family. Two double beds in the room were comfortable, room service was great and fast. The buffet breakfast was ample and the staff were helpful organising my sons favourite, marmite and cream cheese toast and a straw for his apple juice, they all knew by day 2 to show up at our table with the above items for their little customer. Great stay thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Greetings from the Protea Hotel King George,

Thank you for choosing us after your bad experience at another hotel....I am glad that you had a great time and that the STAFF looked after you.

Thank you also for the kind comments, I will share these with the TEAM as it is always great receiving feedback from our GUESTS...

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Good value hotel in George for the whole family. Room nice and spacious. Great service. Ask for a room with a view on the golf course if peace & quite it is what you are looking for. Perfect for a on route stop in the Garden Route or for more relaxing.

Room Tip: Peace & quite = Golf course side Fun in the sun = Swimming pools side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 4, 2012

Greetings from Protea Hotel King George,

Thank you for your kind words, we are very proud of our hotel and it is always wonderful when we receive feedback from our GUESTS.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us...the golf course facing rooms are indeed the rooms you should book when you are looking for peace and quiet.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you and the family back soon.

Kind regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

It is unfortunate that my experience and this review was based on just a solitary night due to doing the Garden route tour.
On arrival down the amazing palm tree lined avenue, we were met with what seemed like an entrance to a military establishment but I was pleasantly surprised with the peaceful feel of inside the compound and the wonderful door entrance. The hotel reception staff were a bit less than welcoming at first as there was a problem with the paperwork from our travel company. It has to be said however, that after the initial contact they were always fine with me after that re: meal times & free wifi access.The bedroom was the best one that I stayed in on this South African trip with two double beds, superb decor, bottle of wine, an option of a voucher for evening meal and a great balcony at the rear overlooking the hotel gardens, golf course and background hills.
The hotel was only let down by the attitude and service of the dining room staff who didn't appear happy in their work and interaction with their colleagues in dealing with a large coach party on that particular occasion.
We took a quick drive up the main street the following morning and decided that George is the ideal place for someone to either relax and do nothing, play golf or stop off on The Garden route.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_on_tour1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Sir,

First of all: Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to George. What a pity that you only stayed one night, because as you so rightly said: George is the PERFECT place to relax, play golf, shop and explore all the wonderful attractions in the area close by.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the unacceptable level of service and the unfriendly attitude that you experienced in our restaurant. I can assure you that this is not the level of service and friendliness that we are normally so proud to offer.
We have taken this matter up with the relevant department and corrective measures have been put in place to ensure that this does not happen again. STAFF attitude and friendliness definitely plays a big part in the overall hotel experience and I can assure you - next time you stay with us, you won't find a person that is not smiling...it is a pleasure for all of us to work not only in this industry, but especially here at the Protea Hotel King George, which we are so proud of.
We hope to one day welcome you back to our hotel and to treat to you to our Royal Hospitality for at least a week!
Kind Regards,
Lizel van der Westhuizen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful experience FPD HCM had at your hotel. Bernard and David, you were great. Canrad, you were my electrician, IT manager and tour guide. Whatever I needed, was provided. Friendliness and smiles all around. Can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzettevisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2012

Hi Suzette, thank you very much for your kind comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time spend with us...we also look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Deleur Stander
General Manager

PS: Conrad, Bernard and David sends their regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed 4 nights here to golf in the George area. Good size bedroom with large terrace overlooking golf course (if requested) but slightly dated and our bathroom was very, very small. Pleasant and helpful staff. Probably best value hotel to stay in George although Wilderness and Knysna much more interesting and scenic destinations. If you are a golfer, could be worth considering the Simola Golf Resort if you don't mind the 20 minute journey into the mountains from Knysna. Stunning!

Room Tip: Request room overlooking golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GolfinMinchinhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deleur S, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott King George, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel!
Yes, our rooms are quite spacious with the 2 double beds and ideal for both golfers and families and we are in the process of upgrading the couple of smaller bathrooms to more spacious and modern facilities.
Please let us know the next time you are in George and we can assist you in making your golf arrangements and ensure that you get a golf course facing room again!
Your comments are extremely valuable to us and we hope you will be staying with us again soon!

Yours in Hospitality,
Deleur Stander
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.3 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2.2 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
63 reviews
23 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
0.9 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott King George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott King George

Address: King George Drive, King George Park, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $78 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott King George 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the convenience of being on the doorstep of all the Garden Route has to offer! The Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is centrally located in the Heart of Eden and exudes tranquility and beauty. With the Outeniqua Mountains as a back-drop, this magnificent 4-star hotel, with its country-style setting is the ideal location for conference, business and leisure travelers wanting to explore the Garden Route and surroundings. You can be assured that you will never run out of things to do and see! Nestled between two of the country's top golf courses and in close proximity to other world class courses in Mossel Bay, Knysna and Plettenberg Bay, the Protea Hotel by Marriott King George is the perfect destination for golf enthusiasts to tee off from! This secure, upmarket hotel is merely a ten minute leisurely drive from the George Airport and a stones' throw away from all the pristine beaches with its clear water and white sandy beaches. The spacious and stylishly designed rooms and luxury suites are equipped with all amenities for your comfort. The Fairway Terrace Restaurant with its elegant dining atmosphere and superb blend of classical and contemporary cuisine is a gastronomic experience that will not easily be forgotten. Children are always welcome and with the dedicated Prokidz entertainment program over weekends and school holidays, you can be assured of absolute relaxation, friendly and efficient service and home-away-from-home comfort in the Heart of the Garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott King George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing