We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, underwhelming though overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed January 28, 2009

This was a very odd mixed bag, that could be so easily sorted. The location is stunning, our room had the most beautiful view of the hills and stunning gardens. The room was large and had a really comfy bed, bathroom was a little basic and needed rennovating, but it was OK. No mini-bar which was a shame. Overall a nice room.

The staff were very nice indeed - helpful and friendly. The grounds were beautiful, and the swimming pool area was very nice but needs to be heated!

The disappointing elements for me were:
1. The amazing shop in reception was closed the WHOLE time we were there! It was saturday, I would have loved to have bought something.
2. The bar had a great cocktail menu, but when I tried to order one they only actually had ingredients for ONE on the list!
3. The restaurants were a disaster - there was bar food, a japanese sushi bar which you couldn't get into, and a 'fine dining' restaurant which was a buffet. I don't like buffets at all, I like to sit down and have food brought to me as I think that is far more relaxing, and I couldn't believe the only option was a buffet. We ate in the bar in the end and had a very nice bottle of wine, very very mediocre food, and again they only had 2 puddings available on their long pudding menu.

So overall I left with a feeling of disappointment which was a shame, because this place could be really great.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frogwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
There are newer reviews for Far Hills Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 244 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2009

The terrible weather and continuous heavy rain during our two night stay at Far Hills meant we did not experience the hotel at its best. We never saw the view as the cloud/fog meant we couldn't see much beyond our balcony. Our room was very cold and there was no heating. It was too cold to use the swimming pool, but it did look as if it would have been nice.

The main rain water runoff for the part of the building that our room was in was immediately outside our front door. This meant all day and night there was a loud noise of pouring water. Very difficult to sleep through.

The room was superficially clean but under the beds and tables it was filthy.

The restaurant and the meals were excellent and great value for money. We particularly liked the log fire which burnt in the dining room throughout the day and evening.

The staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveGHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

Three nights here were a delight. Our first floor room, with balcony, overlooked the spacious, landscaped gardens, across a valley, and on to the impressive Outeniqua Mountains. Although the hotel is situated well away from the main road, there was minor traffic noise from lorries climbing the gradient but not enough to bother us. Breakfasts and evening meals were excellent, as were the staff. We could have spent more time here.

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nosnibor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

Stayed here for 6 nights in Feb 2008. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. Views from the bedroom balcony were stunning and the gardens were well kept. Because this hotel is used by several coach operators the breakfast was cooked very early in the morning and when we arrived at 8.30 it all looked very tired and sad. we only had dinner one night and that was enough!
Rooms were very clean and our towels were changed each day. The bathroom was a little tired and the shower small for a 6' husband!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizExeterDEvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie007, Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2011

The Far Hills Country Hotel is now under new management. We hope to create a special experience for all those who visit us. Come Touch the Earth / Feel at Home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

From when you first step into this hotel you feel at home. The staff were so friendly and helpful, looking out over the beautiful mountain views you are you feel like you are in true Africa but still not a million miles from town.
I have previously stayed here and do intend to again as a nice and relaxing stop along the Garden Route in my next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dtrvls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2007

We chanced upon this hotel on the web and what a delight it turned out to be. Small-ish and intimate, everything about it felt delightfully familiar. Personal touches everywhere - clear that the owners have put themselves heart and soul into the place. Staff were warm, efficient and welcoming and food quite superb, despite a limited choice because we were there out of season. A wine cellar to spend hours in. Our custom-decorated room was spacious and beautiful - almost as beautiful as the imposing Outeniqua mountain view which greeted us each morning from our balcony. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2007

Definitely not four star - two at the most. Staff were not welcoming and the whole place seemed to be running down. The decor, particularly the bathroom, was 70's style and tired. The food was just ordinary. The buffet dinner was very second rate, plain starters, including bean soup with a scum, choice of two overcooked meats and vegetables boiling in the hot trays. Not to be recommended.

Stayed: February 2007
2  Thank SwindonRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
8.1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
4.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
679 reviews
2.8 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $50 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing