We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place , great people, great value!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Far Hills Country Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Far Hills Country Hotel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful place , great people, great value!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Far Hills for the weekend and we can honestly say that it is the best value in the Garden Route. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgerickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    64
    42
    34
    47
See reviews for
73
104
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel has recently been reopened and thus have a reduced rate for their premium suites. The price includes breakfast. The food is delicious very well presented. Our suite had a beautiful view of the valley. We had a very comfortable king size bed and a spacious full bathroom. The suite also has a fireplace, which sadly is not operational as of yet. They are in the process of reconnecting all the gas pipes. With a working fire place this suite will be the perfect for a romantic getaway. This is a great hotel, great room and value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarikavanWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

In the middle of winter, there is no heating in the room! When asking at reception, I was told the aircon is broken. The fire place did not work. The receptionist has to ask someone sitting on the veranda (who was so not sober). Sheets and duvet cocer not ironed. At 09h00 all the breakfast stuff is packed away.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RayneCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prieur, General Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
I am so sorry to hear about your bad experience on tripadvisor. I wish you mentioned it while you were here so we could try to fix the problem. There is a heater in the room, you may just have missed it. Breakfast is also served at any time of the day, even when we have packed away. There is no excuse for bad service, however I would just like to say that your experience is not the norm. Kind Regards Prieur du Plessis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I am from South Korea and visit South Africa to improve my English. Last month I stayed at Far Hills Country Hotel near George. It was very good experience. Nature is very beautiful and children enjoyed very much. I like food and sitting on deck looking at mountain. My husband like watching sport in bar. We pay lowest price here on SA trip. Very good. I will definitely be back soon to your hotel to kill more birds, except for many beers at the bar.^^

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank imkorean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I visited South Africa recently (from Portugal) and stayed at the Far Hills Hotel on my way to visit my daughter. It was very pleasant. The staff are friendly and we had a room up-grade, so it was a beautiful room for a low price. The place is also very beautiful. My only problem was that the pathways were a bit dimly lit. But I will go back.Joe Freitas

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johannesburg, south africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I stayed at Far Hills Country Hotel during a recent visit to the Garden Route, and was “lured” inside by a banner advertising extremely low prices. I didn’t expect those prices to be real – usually they’re just a ploy to get you to reception. But I did pay R450 for a double room (including breakfast for two). It’s the best value I’ve encountered in years. In fact, I paid more on the way at the Colesberg Lodge with its seriously old, musty rooms and excluding breakfast!

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lovesa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Arrived on 9th November to find the hotel all closed up - no notice given to us. Very disappointed.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WokingMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellie007, General Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2011
The Far Hills Country Hotel owner and staff sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused due to our temporary closure in November. The Hotel had a change of management and is again open for business. Our slogan is Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Please come and experience our hospitality. Kind Regards Prieur du Plessis (GM).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
4.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2.5 mi away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
8.1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
2.8 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Far Hills Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Far Hills Country Hotel

Property: Far Hills Country Hotel
Address: N2 | Farm 115, Kraaibosch, George 6530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Far Hills Country Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Touch the Earth / Feel at Home. Far Hills offers a departure from the typical hotel. We believe in warmth, family and comfort in a stylish but unpretentious setting. We encourage our guests to absorb the tranquillity of the environment by lounging next to the pool, relaxing on the deck in the shade of the 100 year-old oak tree, listening to the silence of the mountain in a garden gazebo or having a drink in front of a blazing fire in winter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Far Hills Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Far Hills Country George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing