We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice grounds, fantastic golf but restaurants really need work for a 5* establishment!”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed 7 nights at Fancourt, one of the 300 numbered townhouses. Room was nice, we enjoyed the space but the bathroom could really use a refurb, especially the shower heads as they were just one hard stream, not really a proper shower head. Enjoyed the patio opening to the gardens as well. Room for us gets 4 out of 5.

The grounds are immaculate, with wonderful plants everywhere and everything is very clean. The golf courses are top notch, and we enjoyed playing all 3 courses, with the Links once. The Links is a must on any golfer's list. In total we played 9 rounds of golf and the caddy masters and caddies are all wonderful. The pro shop is also good but some of the staff could be a bit friendlier towards guests. Over all the grounds and golf get 5 out of 5.

The restaurants were a huge disappointment, especially the fine dining restaurant Harry White's. the food at Harry White's was completely tasteless, even relatively basic things like a 'lobster' risotto had no taste whatsoever. Also, I am fairly sure that the lobster was in fact no lobster as I could see the tail part of a shrimp in the meat. My husband's beef tartar as a starter was also completely tasteless (no spices, salt or pepper). We also ordered 2 other courses but don't really recall what as again, nothing memorable. The service, however, was extremely friendly and efficient. It really is a shame that a place like fancourt doesn't have a proper fine dining place. The other restaurant, La Cantina, was also nothing spectacular. Breakfast was also just OK, but they could have had more fruit and berry options.The club house has decent salads and excellent burgers, but that's not hard to get right, it is easy stuff. The club house service is very inconsistent. On certain days when there aren't many guests, it is good and fast and on other days, like today when I am sitting outside writing this review as we are about to leave and there are more guests, we waited 15 minutes just to order our drinks! And that is after I had to ask if we could order drinks. I can only imagine what the service is like during high reason such as Christmas and New Years. Restaurants and the service overall 2 out of 5. There are some dining options in George but we would expect a 5 star resort to put more effort into their restaurants, as during our stay in South Africa, we ate at some amazing places.

The other facilities at the hotel are nice. We used the Roman baths and although the locker rooms could really do with a little refurb, overall the facility was good. We also had treatments at the spa, which were good and the staff friendly. We didn't use the gym but it looked like a nice facility and we didn't use the other pools (outdoor and indoor swimming pool). The staff was courteous almost on all occasions and the front desk and bell boy staff were especially nice and accommodating. 4 out of 5.

We did enjoy our time at fancourt as it is a great destination for golf enthusiasts like ourselves. There isn't much around the area otherwise (didn't really see the beauty of Knysna either, although we didn't venture into the hiking paths), and I think on our next trip we wouldn't stay a full 7 nights at Fancourt, but rather a few nights and then move onto another place. Let's hope the restaurants are in order for our next stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thank you for your comprehensive review of Fancourt and for raising some areas of improvement.

As a Leading Hotel of the World, we continuously strive to meet your needs and expectations, and feedback (be it positive or negative), enables us to do so.

The next time you are at Fancourt I would love to spend some time with you sharing information on the local area including popular sites and activities to enjoy in George and the surrounding areas.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and for bringing some areas of concern to our attention.

It is our hope that we have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

287 - 293 of 498 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

It was our honeymoon and as part of it, we had booked the Fancourt for two nights as we are passionate golfers. The hotel itself, its facilities, golf courts and gym is excellent, but still we are very disappointed by the food!!! The first night we wanted to take room services and since we had no menu in the room, we ordered the menu and it took 30 minutes and 5 calls until someone brought it over. After ordering it took another 40 minutes until the food arrived - it was cold! The next day we tried La Cantina and we ordered a steak and pasta. The pasta was so hot that you could not eat it (no hint in the menu though) and the beef had an unusual look and taste but still we did not complain but ate it. This was the mistake, as in the following night, we got squirt and sickness!!! We are very disappointed because of that and also because our hint to the honeymoon was also completely ignored....this shall not happen in a 5 star hotel....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bella1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Thank you for your review of Fancourt and your honest feedback.

Our sincerest apology that we didn’t act on your hint that it was your honeymoon. At Fancourt we love celebrating special occasions, with our guests, and we always go above and beyond to make it a memorable and enjoyable occasion.

With regard to the “squirt and sickness” this was unfortunately not reported to us during your stay. At Fancourt we take matters like this very seriously and would greatly appreciate any further information. I can be contacted on +27 44 804 0178 or email address lisat@fancourt.co.za.

It is our hope that we have the opportunity to better serve you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

What a perfectly run establishment enough personnel to let every wish be taken care of. the kitchen is delicious, varied and fresh. rooms are spacious and every service. 2 golf courses on the Areal.

Just make sure you book AT RECEPTION for a dinner table. Short supply!

Room Tip: any of the 500 numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loraine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for sharing your charming experience of Fancourt.

I would highly recommend booking your Spa, hair, golf and dinner reservations as early as possible as the resort is very popular, and making reservations at the last minute often leads to disappointment.

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had such a great stay at Fancourt.The staff went out of their way to help us especially all the ladies at reservations who managed to find us accommodation for the extra nights we stayed.The golf estate is an absolute pleasure to walk/cycle around-inspired us all to work on our gardens at home!La Cantina's pizzas and pastas were fantastic.My only advice would be to get the pool in a better condition when guests want to use it.The one morning,we had to wait until 12:00 before getting in as they must have put chemicals in a bit too late?

Room Tip: refurbished rooms are awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryamahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your review of Fancourt. I will pass on your thanks to our Reservations team, who assisted you with your stay.

I will address the pool with our Maintenance Team to find out what happened, as we do try and treat the pool at night to avoid inconveniencing our guests.

Next time you are at Fancourt, we would love to arrange a garden tour for you with our Grounds Manager, Chris Gomersall, he is so passionate about the gardens and it is a real treat to experience the gardens through his eyes.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Fancourt for three nights playing golf and using all on venue facilities and already on our second day we start planning how we can come back and what group of friends we would love to share this immaculate place with. Everything is topp topp class - simply wonderful and we gladly fly for 20 hrs any day to be able to come back here.

Room Tip: Manor house is a little more expensive but totally worth it .... Go for Manor House pampering stay a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your sharing your experience of Fancourt. We couldn’t be more thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and are planning to return and share the experience with your friends.

Hopefully next time you can stay with us a little bit longer!

See you soon

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed 10 nights at Fancourt. What a beautiful resort. But the service was even better. I would go far as saying is "the" best service from any luxury hotel in Africa. Great service from the moment you check-in with all staff highly motivated, friendly and anticipating your needs. The spa was such a treat. Fancourt is known for golf but there are loads of activities. The Kidz Club is amazing. Kids love the extra special attention (not just in the Kidz Club) and won't want to leave. Free 200MB of internet daily per device. La Cantina had delicious dinners and breakfasts to look forward to. Great beaches close by, need a car. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziy_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Thank you for your delightful review of Fancourt – we couldn’t have said it better ourselves!

Fancourt is an incredibly special place for many, with so much to offer golfers and non-golfers and as you mention the Kidz are often our greatest fans.

There is so much to explore in the surrounding areas. Should you like to hire a rental car, I would suggest booking far in advance as the Garden Route can be very busy in season, alternatively we do have a Tours for South Africa office at the hotel and they can arrange either transfers for you or full day or half day customized tours.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Fancourt is really a beautiful resort. It is kept impeccably and all the staff are really so friendly. Service in the bar is maybe a little slow - so if I was to have one criticism this is it! The golf courses are amazing - very tough! There is free Internet in the main building - which is great. Overall really enjoyed the whole thing. Recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank SimonJRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for your gracious review of Fancourt and for recommending us to other travelers.

Fancourt truly is an exceptional place and it is always wonderful to read reviews, where our guests feel the same way as we do. I have noted your feedback on the Club Bar service and I have addressed it with the relevant manager for improvement.

With regard to our complimentary WiFi, we offer our guests 200 Mb free per day, per device. Should you require more, vouchers can be obtained from our Reception team. The connectivity is in the main hotel building and in our hotel rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#4 of 9 in George
88 reviews
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $215 - $467 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the Garden Route, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 133 luxury rooms and suites including The Manor House, The Spa, restaurants, three Gary Player designed golf courses and a Leisure Centre including a Kidz Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing