We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something Missing?”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Something Missing?”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A few months ago a few of my friends and I planned a trip to Fancourt where the guys could play golf and the girls could relax at the Spa. There were four couples involved and we had an excellent weekend despite the weather which was truly awful - winds up to 70kmh and some driving rain which made it freezing on the golf course - strangely enough the girls didn't complain about the Spa. The hotel appears to be going through some renovations and a temporary reception is being used but that was fine. The rooms were excellent - I had a suite with a lounge and the beds were very comfortable. it had all the necessary fixtures and fittings that we needed and I have no complaints in this regard. The breakfast was really good and offered a decent spread of hot and cold food. The 'pub grub' (with the exception of the chicken pies which were awful and had bones in them) served at the Clubhouse and Halfway Houses was really good and affordable. The price of drinks was fair although it seems that the non-alcoholic drinks subsidise the alcoholic drinks - which was fine for our party. We watched the rugby at the clubhouse on Saturday which was disappointing as they had a big screen TV but had no real sound. An upmarket place should have a decent audio visual system in place. The dinner at La Cantina was OK but really nothing special. Reasonable food reasonable prices, good service. The disappointment was the Henry White Restaurant which was billed as a high class restaurant and it was actually pretty poor especially given the high cost of the meal. The selection of food was limited and when one of our party asked to chat to the chef about the quality they insisted he should rather speak to their PR person/manager of the restaurant. The rest of the people had meals which were OK but not great. Coming from Johannesburg I think we have such a vast selection of brilliant restaurants so we probably expected too much. It did not spoil the evening as we all had a great time and the waitresses were excellent and understanding. I think if the trip was not a get together of some very close friends we may well have spoilt the evening. On another note the pubs seems to close very early in the evening which is quite surprising. Finally the golf courses we played (Montague and Outeniqua) were OK but not as good as I expected them to be. They looked a little in need of attention - although we are at the beginning of spring so it is understandable I suppose. They played extremely tough in the conditions - huge wind and a lot of rain.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but a ground floor room with a lounge is great as the verandahs open onto the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Thank you for your review of Fancourt. As a Leading Hotel of the World, feedback, whether positive or negative, helps us to improve our offering and although we are disappointed that we didn’t meet your expectations, we are appreciative of your review.

I have passed on your comments regarding our food and beverage offering to our Food and Beverage Manager, Cameron Townend, for further investigation and corrective measures.

It is our hope that we will have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    110
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
100
196
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the second time we had stayed at Fancourt but have never been on the various golf courses. We use it as a secure and safe envious meant for the family. The staff are incredibly friendly and even remembered us from the previous year. Perhaps that's not a good thing on our part!

The food is pleasant. Breakfast is excellent in the Italian restaurant. I would say the rest of the food is good but not excellent. We had to take room service for evening meals which is a limiting menu and is a bit of a lottery. Indeed one night we ended up with no food at all despite being promised three times it was on its way over a two hour timespan. This was adequately compensated the previous day but we did go to bed rather hungry.

As you would expected the grounds are immaculate and the hotel very clean. I took advantage of the spa while I was there and had a back massage. It was good but spoilt by the masseuse trying to sell me various moisturizers.

The children's club is good with plenty of toys and most but not all members of staff create activities.

There is an outdoor pool which is unseated but a jacuzzi which is toasty warm. There's a limited drinks bar but no waiter service which I found very surprising.

I would recommend Fancourt to others. Garden rooms are big, modern, and have a balcony. It's expensive and could improve in some areas but overall is very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnietherat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of Fancourt. It is always a benefit to us to receive constructive feedback, from our guests, so we can improve our offering.

Since your stay with us we have been working tirelessly on improving our service excellence. In recognition of our efforts we have earned a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence for 2013 and Leading Hotels of the World have ranked us in 4th position out of 16 hotels in South Africa, in 2012 we were in 12th position.

We look forward to welcoming you back so you experience the difference!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

The location of this place is amazing...they have a huge land around with a golf area...one can look around d place in small electric cars...it has a huge pool and a huge dinning area...the rooms are also big enough...a place you wouldnt wanna miss

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bijalthakker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience of Fancourt on TripAdvisor.

I couldn’t agree with you more on our wonderful location in the heart of the Garden Route. Fancourt is situated in the town of George, which is in the perfect position to explore the surrounding areas of Oudtshoorn, Knysna and Mossel Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Had a fantastic two weeks at Fancourts. Food, room, service, golf, caddies...all exceptional and great value. A must for any golfer. I have never stayed anywhere more welcoming! And ask for Jaques ...best caddy you can find!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TKT97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for your heart-warming review of Fancourt. We pride ourselves on our service excellence and it is wonderful recognition for us to be acknowledged, across the whole resort, for being so welcoming to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laughton
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed as part of an international conference, the hotel was fabulous. Staff welcoming, attentive and accomodating. The rooms are well appointed, with easy access. The food was a little dissapointing, but this might of been because we were eating conference food?

The golf however didnt meet the billing, supposed to be number 6 in SA; but i have played many courses that in my view far exceed whats on offer here. The Caddys are great, halfway house not worth stopping. Lovely freindly pro shop, but the courses, not for me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaughtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for commending our team on their service.

I have addressed your comment regarding the food served from Banqueting with our Sous Chef for review and further consideration.

We are so disappointed to hear that you didn’t enjoy our golf courses as we pride ourselves on our three Gary Player designed courses. I would be most grateful for more detailed feedback so we can see how we can improve and better our product and offering.

I very much look forward to hearing from you.

Warmest regards

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape St Francis, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

OK, I am biased because I was the 1st Golf Director at Fancourt more than 20 years ago when it opened. However, I just returned for a stay and golf with friends who had never been - I was proud to take them there and even happier to be back as a guest! When I refer to great service (by name), great food, great golf (this time at the Links) and great weather, don't for a minute think I am overlooking the great accommodation or the overall beauty that Fancourt brings. Now firmly established as the Hub of the Garden Route, I can proudly say I was there first and glad to be back. Thanks Lloyd for the very personal welcome. Cheers, Karen and your team for keeping it very special!

Room Tip: They are all great! Just choose the amount of room you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFLinksSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review. This truly is the highest level of praise we can receive and we feel incredibly proud of Fancourt and the service that we offer to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Fancourt last week. From the moment I arrived till I left I was treated like an absolute VIP. It was the most incredible experience!!! Truly mind blowing. Exceeded all expectations and more!!!
The staff are all very welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeetzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Manor House a, Guest Relations Manager at Fancourt, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, as always it is a delight to receive such excellent feedback!

After reading this we are all feeling incredibly proud of Fancourt and the work that we passionately carry out to exceed our guests’ expectations on every occasion.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt in the not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Roxanne Marais
Client Relations Officer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Property: Fancourt
Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing