We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husband enjoyed but he plays golf!”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is not my idea of a 5*hotel. This a golf club with rooms. No beautiful lounge / bar area just a club house. If you don't play golf do not come here. Decent pool but nobody coming round to offer drinks. No bar open at pool although there is one. No snacks available at pool area whilst we were there. Jan so I imagine high season.
On the plus side, the Italian (more casual restaurant ) I had one of the best pizzas I have ever had..all staff lovely and our room (very nice suite) was great but wifi needs looking at. If you play golf I am sure there is nothing not to like

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jane11191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

I am sorry to hear that Fancourt didn’t live up to your expectations.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we will take your feedback onboard and we hope to be able to “wow” you on your next stay.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 504 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

We arrived here weary after a a long journey which included a 6 hour delay on our first flight from Heathrow to Cape Town! What awaited us more than made up for it,

Our room was lovely and nicely furnished

We ate in all three restaurants in the complex and were not disappointed.
Morning Glory was good and the service was excellent. However their salad garnishes could be a bit more adventurous. Crayfish night was great value.
La Cantina was good for dinner. Breakfast was also taken in here - only one complaint the breakfast staff did not seem as attentive as other waiting staff.
Henry Whites was lovely and the staff and surroundings made it a special night out.
Golf courses were very good and in immaculate condition.
Spa and hairdressers both provided excellent service and in both cases the staff were very good and very friendly.

Generally the staff went out of their way to make our stay a most enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggie55186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thank you for your praise and positive feedback.

After reading your review we are all feeling incredibly proud of Fancourt and the work that we passionately carry out to exceed our guests’ expectations on every occasion. I have noted your feedback regarding the attentiveness of the breakfast team and will address it with the relevant manager.

We look forward to welcoming you to back to Fancourt.

Warmest regards,

Lisa Townend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was a 'wow' factor from start to finnish. Superb room with excellent bathroom. Golf courses could not be faulted. Stunning views wherever you went. Restaurants were a little disappointing food adequate. However a major negative was the service in the club room. 2 days running we ordered lunch and on both occasions we waited nearly an hour before cancelling and going to the halfway house for immediate service. The general manager was aware of the situation and would look into it. Checking out we had a problem with a lost golf voucher in the end they said they would sort it with the issuing company. We stayed for 3 nights and wished it was 3 weeks.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dot5346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we greatly appreciate the feedback.

At Fancourt we pride ourselves on our service excellence and our General Manager was disappointed to hear about the service you received in the club bar during your stay. Together with the Food and Beverage Manager they have taken corrective action and next time you visit we look forward to exceeding your expectations with our club bar service.

Warmest regards,
Lisa Townend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Been to Fancourt several times. Fantastic location, outstanding accommodation, wonderful golf courses and friendly staff. Lovely place, high class. Only SLIGHT downside, restaurant choice.

Absolutely recommended!

Room Tip: Huge place so choose room carefully. The junior suites are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your lovely feedback. Fancourt truly is an exceptional place and it holds a special place in many a heart.

To address the “slight downside” of your stay I have forwarded your review to our Food and Beverage team and they are currently looking into our restaurant offering.

Warmest regards,
Lisa Townend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I did not actually stay at this resort on the mentioned date but I had lunch at the Morning Glory restaurant with my wife as we toured the Garden route.
The resort has beautifully manicured gardens and a well manicured fairways.
The restaurant staff were very professional . The restaurant is sparklingly clean and the food ... The best I have ever tasted. It's a pity I could not find them separately to review them.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank impudzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Thank you for your positive review of Morning Glory and our beautiful property. I will pass your feedback onto my colleagues in the relevant areas who, I am sure, will greatly appreciate the compliments.

In response to your comment regarding reviewing Morning Glory separately from Fancourt it is a great suggestion that I will look into with our Marketing team.

Warmest regards,
Lisa Townend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

When one re-visits a place which evokes wonderful memories, it's often not as brilliant the second time around. This doesn't hold true with our return visit to Fancourt. The staff are exceptional - friendly, courteous, professional and of a genuinely friendly disposition; the grounds and sporting facilites are superb and beautifully kept and maintained, the food is good as is the service in the various restaurants/clubhouse...
In a nutshell we couldn't have wished for a better and more refreshing start to 2013.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DANSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa T, Client Relations Officer at Fancourt, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and the positive feedback. We are committed to exceeding our guests’ expectations every time they stay with us at Fancourt and we are thrilled to note that you had a wonderful stay on your second visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Fancourt and the Garden Route soon.

Warmest regards,
Lisa Townend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

nice welcoming glass of champagne, perfect service from everyone, the rooms are spacious, clean and modern. the restaurant is also very good and not expensive. Breakfast is a huge buffet, you don't need a lunch after such a meal! Waiters are very very nice, a perfect place!
kids used the pool and loved it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PascaleV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#3 of 9 in George
89 reviews
10 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $225 - $458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the Garden Route, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 133 luxury rooms and suites including The Manor House, The Spa, restaurants, three Gary Player designed golf courses and a Leisure Centre including a Kidz Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing