We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We keep returning to Fancourt. The standard of accommodation is high, spotless, modern. The grounds are real paradise full of flowers, trees, beautiful. The staff are well trained and attentive. We played golf on Montague and Outeniqua courses. Most perfectly kept, the greens are perfect. The caddies are well trained and helpful on your round, especially if you have never been there before.
2 restaurants were available for dinner. The Henry White's restaurant is very good and hugely recommended.
Morning Glory is very good for breakfast, but somewhat lucking in quality for dinner.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Book restaurants and golf in advance, especially inn busy season.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbaPaarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (484)
There are newer reviews for Fancourt
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

343 - 349 of 484 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spent 3 nights at Fancourt on a gholf tour. If you are looking for a gholf resort, look no further. Very nice golfing facilities, putting greens / driving ranges. Rooms are very neat and spacious, only problem, a lot of light comes through all the windows and doors, so for the person preferring dark rooms, not ideal. Breakfasts are great. SPA and gym very nice and equipped. SPA experience was very friendly and professional. The golf courses are fantastic, however the Links I found overpriced. Nice experience though. The only downside of the entire visit, and therefore only the 4 stars, for an average South African family, very expensive trip. Also I found reception staff could of been a bit friendlier. Having said that, I doubt there are many better gholfing resorts around the world.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rayman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights at Fancourt with my partner who is not a golfer and we both had a fabulous stay, while I enjoyed the golf on all 3 course, especially the magnificant Links, she made full use of the spa and walking trails. In addition to the wonderful on site facilities we also made a couple of excursions to the Cango caves and Knysna Elephant Park which are both within 90 mins drive from Fancourt.

The staff throughout the hotel and were fantastic, nothing was too much trouble for them, from valet parking and car cleaning on arrival, the evening turndown service in room and especially the staff at the La Cantina restaurant who were brilliant, so friendly and helpful.

Our rooms were fantastic, overlooking the 1st tee and 9th green of the Montagu course, exteremly spacious and well appointed.

While the Henry White's fine dining restaurant was no longer open and the decor at the La Cantina may have been rather spartan, it was intimate with a relaxed ambience. The food, and particualrly the service, at both breakfast and dinner was exceptional. The range of juices and fresh fruit on the breakfast buffet was wonderful, as were the cooked options, with a special mention for the omelettes. We enjoyed three outstanding evening meals at La Cantina, including two very large perfectly cooked steaks on the first night, which set the standard for the further two nights when we enjoyed quality dishes and great wine recommendations at very reasonable cost.

As for the golf, the courses are top notch, The Links is clearly the pick of the 3 and very different to the Montagu and Outaniqua, with it's own superb clubhouse and well stocked shop. All 3 courses were presented in superb condition although the greens on the Outaniqua were running considerabley slower than on the other two courses. I must commend my caddie (compulsory but well worth it) Petrus who not only provided some great reads on the greens, but also managed to find my ball when I'd given up all hope of ever seeing it again on more than one occassion.

A great experience, I played golf on 3 consecutive days and my partner was more than happy, what more can I say!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed there on a golfing holiday . Very professional and efficient. Can reccome d to anyone. Very good golf courses. Perhaps a little hard to get to but we would go again, definitely.the area is surrounded by great golfing country. Restaurants are limited but of ok quality .

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percivalb6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I suppose you could go there if you were not a golfer as there is an excellent spa and other places of interest around the area but if you are a golfer, then this is heaven. Three beautiful courses and practice area as well. First class facilities, pro shop, knowledgeable caddies, nice bar with good-size patio, snack menu. We were treated to 5* service from the minute we arrived at the gate. Breakfast was good and there are 2 other restaurants in addition to the halfway house and bar snack menu. Rooms were good size and walking distance to the hotel. There were carts to give you a lift if you didn't want to walk. We had a double unit (2 bedrooms) each with own bathroom and a lounge/dining area with flat screen tv, fridge and microwave. No cutlery or crockery provided though. It's worth going just for the golf courses.

Room Tip: If you don't like something just mention it and they will fix it promptly.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights and played 3 rounds of golf and had an excellent time. We ate every night in the Italian restaurant Cantina which was very good staff very friendly. The one bedroom apartments are very nice with all the mod cons you would want. On the golfing front worth paying the extra to play the links course, if I did it next time we drove from Cape Town I would actually fly into George Airport and take the Garden route down to Port Elizabeth much more scenic.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for room overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnsbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped in at Fancourt on our way back to CPT after a week in Plettenberg Bay and it really was a great option! Our room was great and our kids were once again blown away by the kids amenities!

A very good resort and that was even without my Golf Clubs!!!

Had room service from the italian restaurant which was great- would definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $184 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing