We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort, not the place to stay as a solo traveller”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Fancourt is a very opulent resort, particularly if you stay in the Manor House, as I did. The suites are stunning, with huge living area, bedroom and palatial bathroom. That being said, the resort is really geared to golfers who like to play tennis and have the occasional spa treatment. It isn't really suited to solo travellers, and the food (as other reviewers have noted) is no more than good on average.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parischris2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 534 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2012

Great Venue. Lovely family holiday. The resort has three stunning golf courses- stay away from the Links course if you are not a low handicap golfer.
The area has a number of family orientated activities and attractions.
Also make a point of visiting some of the local restaurants in the area- some really good ones.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DbnTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Tipical golf resort that also caters for those who dont have golf as there first sport. Check in was smooth with a cup of champagne to help. Rooms are very big, with a great bathroom. Breakfast was fulfilling at la campana. Rest oh the services were TOP. Particulary loked the golf buggy driver that makes the transfers between the reception and the rooms. Dont remember his name, but he was the funniest of guys that we met. Certainly will repeat.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

After knowing Fancourt for more than 12 years we had our best time ever last Christmas. We stayed in a semi-detached house, newly refurbished, close to rstaurants, Clubhozse and kids club. The kid's entertainment was amazing for any age group. The food was exceptionally good (crayfish nights on Friday for incredible R160), nothing overpriced, no need to bring BYO as in other 5* resorts. It defintely is no longer just a nice old age home anymore ... Well done!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel accommodation and golf were exactly what you would expect from a 5 star establishment. We had been warned about the food and what we had been told was spot on. It took 3 requests for a slight change to a dish in La Cantina. Henry White's is ostentatious. Well furnished, but a very old fashioned menu. Service was quite good, but to be asked at least twice over every course if "everything is OK" is a little over the top. If they could get the food right then this would be heaven on earth. Spending 350R on a hotel cab to go to George for a meal is not what we want. However, everything else was wonderful, and a huge thank you to caddie master Joe for sorting me out some better clubs, at no extra charge

Room Tip: Book golf for early morning, as it gets very hot by 12 noon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liketoplaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We visit Fancourt about twice per year and stay in our shared lodge. Service is very friendly but sometimes a little clumsy. Golf is great and the Montaque and Outeniqua courses are a delight for every golfer. The hotel resaurants and spa are very good and reasonably priced.One can easily stay in Fancourt for a week and enjoy every minute without visiting the wonderful scenic area attraction. I would advise readers to visit the nature trails and scenic drives in South Africa's garden route.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was my second visit to the amazing Fancourt establishment with my family and it didn't disappoint.

From the moment we checked in to the time we drove out the gates, we were treated with 5 star service with a smile. The best part of it all, you don't have play golf to relish every moment here. The majestic Outeniqua mountains create a perfect backdrop whether lying on your back in the warm indoor pool or talking a leisurely stroll with your loved ones in the beautiful perfectly manicured gardens.

Unfortunately the number 1 course on SA, the Links at Fancourt was closed for play in preparation for the Volvo tournament. The other 2 courses on site provide more than enough of a challenge though and both rated in the top 20 in SA. At least 10 world class golf courses in the area provide golfing heaven for those interested.

The kids are well occupied in the indoor and outdoor pools, kids centre, cinema, bicycles for rent and tennis courts.

Considering the steep prices, Fancourt is well worth it and provides an ideal base to explore the picturesque Garden Route and surroundings with so much to offer in this beautiful part of the world, be it shark diving in Mossel Bay, cave exploring or ostrich riding in Oudshoorn or a scenic drive to Prince Albert or Plett. Truly the best SA has to offer.

Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0 mi away
The Manor House
The Manor House
#3 of 9 in George
94 reviews
3 mi away
Protea Hotel George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel George King George
10 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
21.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Address: Montagu Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $242 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the Garden Route, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 133 luxury rooms and suites including The Manor House, The Spa, restaurants, three Gary Player designed golf courses and a Leisure Centre including a Kidz Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing