We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very high standard”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very high standard”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Tipical golf resort that also caters for those who dont have golf as there first sport. Check in was smooth with a cup of champagne to help. Rooms are very big, with a great bathroom. Breakfast was fulfilling at la campana. Rest oh the services were TOP. Particulary loked the golf buggy driver that makes the transfers between the reception and the rooms. Dont remember his name, but he was the funniest of guys that we met. Certainly will repeat.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    109
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
97
190
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eltville am Rhein, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

After knowing Fancourt for more than 12 years we had our best time ever last Christmas. We stayed in a semi-detached house, newly refurbished, close to rstaurants, Clubhozse and kids club. The kid's entertainment was amazing for any age group. The food was exceptionally good (crayfish nights on Friday for incredible R160), nothing overpriced, no need to bring BYO as in other 5* resorts. It defintely is no longer just a nice old age home anymore ... Well done!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thandiblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel accommodation and golf were exactly what you would expect from a 5 star establishment. We had been warned about the food and what we had been told was spot on. It took 3 requests for a slight change to a dish in La Cantina. Henry White's is ostentatious. Well furnished, but a very old fashioned menu. Service was quite good, but to be asked at least twice over every course if "everything is OK" is a little over the top. If they could get the food right then this would be heaven on earth. Spending 350R on a hotel cab to go to George for a meal is not what we want. However, everything else was wonderful, and a huge thank you to caddie master Joe for sorting me out some better clubs, at no extra charge

Room Tip: Book golf for early morning, as it gets very hot by 12 noon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liketoplaygolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We visit Fancourt about twice per year and stay in our shared lodge. Service is very friendly but sometimes a little clumsy. Golf is great and the Montaque and Outeniqua courses are a delight for every golfer. The hotel resaurants and spa are very good and reasonably priced.One can easily stay in Fancourt for a week and enjoy every minute without visiting the wonderful scenic area attraction. I would advise readers to visit the nature trails and scenic drives in South Africa's garden route.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imalivest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Level Contributor
187 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

This was my second visit to the amazing Fancourt establishment with my family and it didn't disappoint.

From the moment we checked in to the time we drove out the gates, we were treated with 5 star service with a smile. The best part of it all, you don't have play golf to relish every moment here. The majestic Outeniqua mountains create a perfect backdrop whether lying on your back in the warm indoor pool or talking a leisurely stroll with your loved ones in the beautiful perfectly manicured gardens.

Unfortunately the number 1 course on SA, the Links at Fancourt was closed for play in preparation for the Volvo tournament. The other 2 courses on site provide more than enough of a challenge though and both rated in the top 20 in SA. At least 10 world class golf courses in the area provide golfing heaven for those interested.

The kids are well occupied in the indoor and outdoor pools, kids centre, cinema, bicycles for rent and tennis courts.

Considering the steep prices, Fancourt is well worth it and provides an ideal base to explore the picturesque Garden Route and surroundings with so much to offer in this beautiful part of the world, be it shark diving in Mossel Bay, cave exploring or ostrich riding in Oudshoorn or a scenic drive to Prince Albert or Plett. Truly the best SA has to offer.

Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaheergani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

What a great family holiday destination! Child friendly, sophisticated and luxurious. The accommodation was beautiful and comfortable, the children were welcome and provided for in all the restaurants, golf obviously outstanding and the staff were generally very friendly and helpful. My only gripe would be the Clubhouse. We ate there numerous times and was consistently disappointed. The food was not great, the service was bad and my father actually got sick after eating the fish. The Italian restaurant serves fantastic pizza, however, and the French restaurant, Henry White's, is absolutely gorgeous! Having children I am always tentative to take them to smart restaurants like Henry White's but they were so well catered for and the children's food was just as delicious and attractive as the adults. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NibblerRiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We visited Fancourt and stayed in the hotel for a week at the end of December, and every aspect of the hotel, grounds, staff, was superb. From entry at the gates and being professionally welcomed by the security personnel ... our stay was excellent. The check-in was smooth, professional and extremely welcoming and warm, with an offer of sparkling wine of fresh orange juice. Our bags were whisked away to our rooms (connecting) without delay and we were shown around the hotel amenities and to our rooms. The rooms were exceptionally spacious and comfortable - tasteful furnishings, beautiful percale bed-linen, plush towels and spotlessly clean.
The views onto the magnificently maintained gardens and golf courses were an added treat. A wide selection of teas and coffees was avaible in the room, as well as well-stocked mini-bar.
Breakfasts were ample, fresh and a wonderful way to start the day. Compliments to the friendly and attentive serving staff (Eunice, in particular), who was a joy to see each morning.
Our sons had golf coaching at the Golf Academy and there was no problem in getting a golf cart to take us on the scenic drive there. Thank you to Stuart for being an outstanding ambassador.
The staff across the hotel, spa, golf courses, restaurant greeted us warmly and with sincerity throughout our stay, often by name (!), and this is truly what sets this hotel apart from many others locally and abroad.
We have no hesitation in recommending this haven for golf lovers and others, alike.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
21.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Property: Fancourt
Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing