We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in Every Respect - Far Exceeded any Expectation”
Review of Fancourt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fancourt
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Certificate of Excellence
South Africa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Respect - Far Exceeded any Expectation”
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We visited Fancourt and stayed in the hotel for a week at the end of December, and every aspect of the hotel, grounds, staff, was superb. From entry at the gates and being professionally welcomed by the security personnel ... our stay was excellent. The check-in was smooth, professional and extremely welcoming and warm, with an offer of sparkling wine of fresh orange juice. Our bags were whisked away to our rooms (connecting) without delay and we were shown around the hotel amenities and to our rooms. The rooms were exceptionally spacious and comfortable - tasteful furnishings, beautiful percale bed-linen, plush towels and spotlessly clean.
The views onto the magnificently maintained gardens and golf courses were an added treat. A wide selection of teas and coffees was avaible in the room, as well as well-stocked mini-bar.
Breakfasts were ample, fresh and a wonderful way to start the day. Compliments to the friendly and attentive serving staff (Eunice, in particular), who was a joy to see each morning.
Our sons had golf coaching at the Golf Academy and there was no problem in getting a golf cart to take us on the scenic drive there. Thank you to Stuart for being an outstanding ambassador.
The staff across the hotel, spa, golf courses, restaurant greeted us warmly and with sincerity throughout our stay, often by name (!), and this is truly what sets this hotel apart from many others locally and abroad.
We have no hesitation in recommending this haven for golf lovers and others, alike.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DANSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    109
    24
    16
    8
See reviews for
97
190
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a fantastic property , very beautiful landscaping due to the 3 Golf courses

Beautiful Hotel built in the colonial style and also operated in the same style.

Nice clean rooms , all facilities that you may need

Beautiful golf courses

I loved the food at La Cantina Italian restaurant

This is a high class and pricey Hotel . But as it happens with many such high class properties ..... some of the employees get bigger than their shoes .

I had 2 experiences where the attitude of the employees was not right .

Predominantly the employees were friendly and knowledgable ............ and some were outstanding .

But when you have those one or two funny people .... it just takes away the pleasure of being in such a nice place and leaves a bad taste in your mouth

Hope the management works on this . When you stay in a property as this , the performance has to be nearly 100% ,,,,,, anything less is not good enough

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeNRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

Upon arrival at Fancourt, a large golden plaque stated we were entering 5 star grounds, however I could not say the same for the staff and service. No porter's were offering to take our luggage or vehicle. Reception were unhelpful and gave no instruction as to if we should wait for someone to take us to our rooms. Eventually I asked what we were meant to do, and the reception lady told us we should just go outside and let the porter know what our room number was. Helpful much?

We settled into our rooms, the bathroom was lovely, linen was clean, but the carpets were revolting. Stained, dirty. I also had a lovely little leak from the roof above my head while sleeping.

We later phoned the manager at reception to book at table at the Italian restaurant, Le Cantina, only to arrive and find out that no booking was made. The restaurant staff were prompt and gave us the last available anyway. Food was lovely, service was friendly and they had a fantastic wine selection. Be prepared to pay about R150 per head for a main and drink. I later informed the manager at reception that our booking had not been made, to which he replied "oh thanks, I'll look into that." No apologies whatsoever.

On our last day, we had someone waltz into the room at 8:30 (no knock, nothing), wanting to clean. This is not only very invasive, but highly unusual. Isn't cleaning only meant to happen after guests check-out? We felt very rushed.

Once at reception, we saw R1000 green fees had been charged to our room. Now, if you knew the people I was with, you would understand that golfing is not our forte. I told the lady at reception that we did not play golf, and she replied with "are you sure?". No apology was made for the incorrect charging. Must be because we are young and don't reign from a foreign country.

Grounds are beautiful, restaurant staff polite, but Fancourt staff need to be reevaluated. 5 star is not the rating that this establishment deserves-certainly not for their standard of service anyway.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roxikietzmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2011

First Class Hotel
First Class Golf Courses
Good Restaurants & Food
First Class Service

Room Tip: We like the 500 series
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I was given room nos 510 which had an old modeled TV not in a proper working condition.(not the LEDs or LCDs) and on bringing it to the notice of one staff member he said tvs dont make a hotel five star category.THANKs for making us enlightened! Also on one end my room curtain was loosely hanging but was soon repaired. I said that we were a honeymoon couple but unlike all other five stars there was no help in getting me a room with better view. They said they were too full b'coz of golf tournament and showed me that my reservation on 29th september was too late for my stay on 15th october stay as if all people had booked in advance than me with the room categories mentioned or may be they may be thinking this is my first stay in a five star hotel. No options for people looking for veg menu( no one will be bothered to help you unlike other five star hotels) and we just had to eat only fruits and drink juices. For your kind information Mr manager my michael angelo stay in j'burg, table bay stay in capetown etc were much better as they knew how to attend each guest with little more humbleness( not to boast about your golf tournaments as lame excuse for poorish service)
And may be not only good exteriors and a golf course does not make the hotels a five star category its the clients satisfaction. On other days you all may be good for many but for you all were not that good as we don't visit south afica every year). thank you..

Room Tip: please do book way in advance with the room nos mentioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dhaval g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We were on our honeymoon & received an upgrade from the small room we had booked to a luxury suite in the Manor House.

Needless to say, this was the best place we have ever stayed. The staff were extraordinary & went out of their way to give us a truly memorable experience while never being intrusive.
The room was modern, stylish, comfortable & had a huge bathroom.
The estate was picturesque & beautiful at every turn. I was fortunate enough to play the excellent Montagu course & thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

We considered ourselves privileged to have stayed here & would love to return (even if we didn't get another upgrade!).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Big_Matt_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

After being to Fancourt for the last 7 years, 2011 was a vast improvement. The hotel has always been of a very high standard, but we felt that the standards had dropped in terms of service and general maintenance. This has changed and it is back to being world class. It is one of the most beautiful venues and offers so much for the entire family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SonjaHilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
The Manor House at Fancourt
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
10.0 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
21.2 mi away
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
Eight Bells Mountain Inn
#1 of 9 in Mossel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fancourt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fancourt

Property: Fancourt
Address: 1994 Montagu Street | Blanco, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fancourt 5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on 613 hectares in the magnificent Garden Route, outside George, Fancourt is South Africa’s premier lifestyle estate with mountains, forests and the warm Indian Ocean in close proximity. 135 luxury rooms, fantastic family facilities, three Gary Player designed golf courses, a Spa, a Kids Club and various restaurants guarantee enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fancourt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fancourt Hotel George
Fancourt Hotel Country Estate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing