We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Makarios on Sea in Herold's Bay”
Review of Makarios on Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makarios on Sea
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

5 hours driving to Capetown Airport we stayed one night in this very good appartement. Situated some footsteps away from a quiet beach. Herolds Bay has one small supermarket annex Cafe and two very good restaurants 5-10 minutes driving.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Chris and Anneli, we appreciate your kind comments. The stay was short but we hope the experience was "sweet"enough for a future return visit! Go well and blessings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

We spent a 3 night stay at Makarios on Sea at Herold's Bay in January and it was just lovely! It's a really good base for exploring the Garden Route and to come home to a fantastic ocean view and a swim in the surf after a hot day in the car was the best!! Our hosts were really helpful, super friendly and professional. The apartment was spotlessly clean and has all you'd need for a great stay. Highly recommended, fantastic spot !!

Thanks Antoinette!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Hi Fred and Mary - my young friends from down under! We really appreciate you compliments about your stay at Makarios on Sea. Mary, I hope the lovely ostrich leather bag will bring back even more memories of your visit to South Africa! Go well and God bless!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I can recommend these apartments to anybody - from single people to families and friends! On arrival you immediately feel welcome due to the friendliness of the hosts(owners) and the clean and well equipped units. The apartments are very tastefully decorated and have excellent sea views (the units I stayed in). The beach is right on the doorstep. I enjoyed my stay to such an extend that I stayed on for double the time that I originally booked for (and then I had to leave because they were fully booked). I will definitely refer friends and family and hope to visit them again in the near future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Magda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Magda,it was a real pleasure to have had you as our guest! It's great to have been able to contribute to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. We are looking forward to welcome you back on your next vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Owners professional and friendly. Apartment neat, well equipped, yet warm and cosy. Very nice to have clean towels daily. Great location, stunning view, excellent service and privacy combined into 1 are hard to find.
Will definitely stay there again.
Thys and Hannetjie

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HannetjievS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you for responding to the e-mail from Tripadvisor and noticing the fresh towels every day. It gives my heart a warm feeling ! We are looking forward to welcome you at Makarios on Sea again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a stunning find - we stayed in the Dolphin Unit (ground floor) with our 2 kids (1 and 3) and it was very well-equipped and neat (only one bedroom, so baby was in the camping cot and the toddler was on the sleeper couch in the lounge). We all loved the proximity to the beach (there are some nice rock pools and two great tidal pools within walking distance, too). Our only (small) criticism is the lack of washing line to hang our costumes and towels on. Otherwise an awesome getaway and we'll definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurdyFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Purdy family, thank you for staying at Makarios on Sea @ Herold's Bay. The stand is VERY small ,admittedly ,and the lack of a washing line can pose a problem to our valued guests. I will solve the need by providing a fold up wooden drying rack. Thank you for raising the problem! I hope this will encourage you to return to the DOLPHIN unit which is very popular with parents with toddlers. Go well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

What a beautiful place to stay.
Lovely units, beautiful beach and a safe place. So nice to get away for the city and exchange it for the beautiful Herold's Bay.

Thank you Antoinette, I will be back soon!


  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Alice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear Alice ,it was great to have you staying at Makarios! Thank you and I hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Makarios in the Whale unit very much. Really cannot think of anything negative to report; just lots of positives. It is a great place to stay, luxurious, meticulously neat and spotlessly clean. And of course, right on the beach. In our opinion, Makarios is situated in THE prime spot of spots in the whole of Herolds Bay. Makarios will see us again. For sure! Malans from Pretoria, South Africa.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We do appreciate your positive comments about our establishment right on the beach.Thank you for noticing the effort of my dedicated staff to keep everything spotlessly clean and up to standard.
We are proud to welcome appreciative guests. Looking forward to you return visit. Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
7.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
7.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
62 reviews
8.2 mi away
Aziza Guest House
Aziza Guest House
#2 of 62 in George
137 reviews
9.2 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makarios on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarios on Sea

Address: 4 Frikkie Gericke Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range: $82 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makarios on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makarios on Sea is in the heart of the Garden Route from where one can explore the beauty of this area. Makarios on Sea offers a choice of 5 luxury fully equipped self catering holiday apartments right on the beach. Three apartments have full sea view while the luxury studios have no sea view. The purposedly built establishment is right on the beach. Safe swimming in 2 tidal pools and waves. Life guards on duty during school holidays and weekends. George Airport is a mere 10km away. The Garden Route shopping Mall is 18km from Herold's Bay. If golf is your passion - you are spoilt for choice. 3 - 75 km away one can choose from 10 beautiful courses. Apartments are serviced from Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Makarios on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing