We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend”
Review of Makarios on Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Makarios on Sea
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our fourth/fifth visit to Makarios on Sea in the past four years. We are a family of four (children aged 5 & 3) and we once again had a wonderful weekend at Makarios. It is very nice to have the beach so close by (only about 30m from the front door). The views from our balcony over the beach & sea were spectacular and the two bed roomed unit is spacious and luxurious - especially the beds & linen. It was also well equipped and the dishwasher was an extra bonus! Thank you for a lovely weekend - we hope to visit you again soon... Johann & Mariana

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Johann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Johann and Mariana,thank you for your kind review! It is always a pleasure to welcome regular guests at Makarios on Sea. You guys feel like family! Looking forward to welcome you on a return visit.
Antoinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 155 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thank you for accommodating us at short notice. The ground floor unit was very well equipped and clean.
The views of the bay and proximity to the beach is awesome!!!!!
The only upset was that the water (geyser) did not heat up enough. So if you wanted a "hot" shower, it was not to be.
Otherwise it was great and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roshana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Locum manager at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Roshana

Thank you for your kind review, we value your feedback & look forward to welcome you back to Herold's Bay under better circumstances.

With regards to the water not heating up properly we had a water leak on the solar heating panels which we were unaware of. After getting the heating pump experts out they could not find any faults, fortunately the builders at the back of our establishment noticed a leak on the roof & notified us that the solar panels were leaking. This was not visible as it was on the roof of the 3rd floor and the water went down the drainage pipes. Luckily its been sorted otherwise we would have gotten a huge water bill!

We apologise for the inconvenience & hope to welcome you back in the near future to make up for this incident that was out of our control.

Thank you & kind regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Fantastic place especially in winter time when you want luxury inside if the weather is not so good outside! views are unbelievable, especially to wake up with a direct view of the beach!
Privacy and luxury. really enjoyed the views and felt like home.

Room Tip: all units have a direct view on beach. second rooms are at back side, no views but still luxury for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Manager at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Rosa

On behalf of all of us at Makarios on Sea we want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its truly appreciated & so wonderful to receive valuable feedback! We are happy that your experience was a pleasant one even though the weather was not!

Hope to welcome you, your family & friends back in the Summer season.

Thank you again & kind regards
Andre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is one of the jewels on the Garden Route. The surperb location, furninshings and venue add up to an enjoyable place to relax. The welcome and hospitality was like being with friends, helpful, always ready to chat and impart information. The views from the balcony, overlooking the bay were so peaceful, and the little local shop supplied all the essentials. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay, We will be back, soon hopefully


  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you for staying at Makarios on Sea again! It was like family visiting - always welcome.
Go well and hope to see you again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Overall the welcome and service were excellent!
Only suggestion - a small table on balcony would be useful.
Wonderful location on the beach and the ideal place for a short family holiday.
Had a lovely time!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review after celebrating your birthday at Makarios! Stay a little longer in future to really savor the atmosphere at Herold's Bay. To contribute towards the enjoyment of your stay while sitting on the balcony and watching the waves roll by ....... the table for your cup of tea is already there! Thank you for making me aware of that. Regards, Antoinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This property has as it's neighbour the Ernie Els family. It is right on the beach with uninterrupted view of the whole Heroldts bay. The units are self catering and everything you need is at hand. The unit that we stayed in has a bedroom that is just a little small,however the views more than compensate for this. I have not stayed in any other beach front unit in this little town but I cannot imagine that any would compare.This will be my regular choice when staying in the area.

Room Tip: The first floor units are better as parking your car in front of the ground floor unit obscures the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eugeneduplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your much appreciated review after spending a night at Makarios on Sea. We would like to book you in one of the middle floor units in future! We are looking forward to welcome you and your wife at our establishment again. Regards, Antoinette

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had such a great stay at makarios, Makarios is surely blessed as the name say! Everything was good, the only thing maybe for summer times in the room that is a need is a fan, it can even be a portable one, but still it is so safe in Heroldsbay we slept with an open door!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Burre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AntoinetteMOS, Owner at Makarios on Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind review after choosing to stay at Makarios for your holiday. Be assured that the fans in the luxury junior suits are all on its way! Thank you for your valued input. Hope to see you in future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
1 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
7.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
7.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#6 of 9 in George
72 reviews
13.2 mi away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
415 reviews
9.2 mi away
Inn Victori
Inn Victori
#10 of 64 in George
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makarios on Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makarios on Sea

Address: 4 Frikkie Gericke Street, George 6529, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range: $93 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Makarios on Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makarios on Sea is in the heart of the Garden Route from where one can explore the beauty of this area. Makarios on Sea offers a choice of 5 luxury fully equipped self catering holiday apartments right on the beach. Three apartments have full sea view while the luxury studios have no sea view. The purposedly built establishment is right on the beach. Safe swimming in 2 tidal pools and waves. Life guards on duty during school holidays and weekends. George Airport is a mere 10km away. The Garden Route shopping Mall is 18km from Herold's Bay. If golf is your passion - you are spoilt for choice. 3 - 75 km away one can choose from 10 beautiful courses. Apartments are serviced from Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Makarios on Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing