We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to Pizzas”
Review of La Capannina

La Capannina
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Knysna, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stick to Pizzas”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our usual stopover for Italian food in George (La Locanda) was closed for renovations so we decided to try this the other Italian restaurant in George. Whilst the service was good and unobtrusive and the place was lovely cosy and warm we were quite dissapointed in the food. I ordered beef massala. The slices of meat tasted of uncooked flour and were covered in a gelatinous sauce. Our guest ordered a plate of pasta with marscaponi and gorgonzola sauce with asparagus. It was very salty and she could hardly taste any gorgonzola cheese and the asparagus was tinned. The whole dish looked like a soup bowl of porridge. Thankfully my wife ordered a pizza with pickled aubergine, capers tomatoes and rocket which did not dissapoint.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MalkieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    126
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very close to Pizzas in Italy...”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went there with our kids. Great Pizza and Pasta. My husband had the Lamb Shank and is still talking about how good it was...Excellent service, the waiter was funny and also full of info, he helped us choose a great wine that complimented both the pasta and the Lamb shank. Warm atmosphere, with lots of heaters, so you forget all about the cold raging outside. If we are ever in the area again, will defintely go back...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meloshnee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“WINTER WARMTH AND HAPPINESS”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our regular restaurant we found to be closed as owners were on holiday so chanced our luck at La Capannina, what a pleasant surprise. Ambience was pleasant and lovely and warm due to the heaters that were on. Standard of food was excellent and had one of the best seafood pizza's ever. Service was excellent, attentive but not intrusive. All in all an excellent evening finished off with a reasonable bill. Will certainly be back.

Helpful?
Thank StephenXXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“comparing”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Compared to the high priced and recommended La Locanda (I don't) we got a happy surprise when eating at La Capannina. Service, food, wine, ambiente - all excellent and they got even heaters to warm up these cold winter days. Well done, we will come back!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My 2nd favorite Pizza place in George”
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Love Pizza and love this place. Very good pizza, nice atmosphere and good service.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CasperScholly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Capannina also viewed

 

Been to La Capannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing