We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Food and Fabulous Owners”
Review of La Locanda - CLOSED

La Locanda
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Uplands Plettenberg Bay
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Stunning Food and Fabulous Owners”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is our favourite restaurant, we make excuses to travel to George just to eat there - keep it up Dario - we love it and recommend it to our guests. Ray and Fiona Berresford of Bellamanga Country House Plettenberg Bay.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bellamanga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    35
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Genuinely Italian experience”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The restaurant was pretty busy on a Tuesday night, which is always encouraging. The service was helpful and friendly; the locally made mozzarella was fresh and delicious; and the veal simply melted in the mouth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LukeFitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A real Italian atmosphere”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent service in a friendly manner. The best pizza on the garden route in my opinion, but that is not all, a good Italian kitchen with specials which genuinely change every week. A very efficient kitchen delivers meals in good time even when very busy. Excellent wine list, a wide choice of very good house wines by the 250 ml carafe.
My favourite garden route restaurant. I eat out 3 times a week, so that says a lot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Why go any further,”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Undoubtably the best Italian in the area, the food, presentation and ambiance is second to none.
The menu is a mixture of Italian favourites and main courses of excellence. We must go more often, Will and Anita.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willc c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great - no need to say more”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I notice a couple of tourists had a bad experience in the reviews but we had exactly the opposite. We were warmly welcomed, served by friendly and knowledgable staff and the food was great. Really fresh ingredients lightly but perfectly cooked with full flavour combinations. Broad Italian menu. So good we bought the recipe book! Try it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sagsma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing