We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed dining for pleasure, not fast food and away.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rose on York Restaurant - CLOSED

The Rose on York Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A truly local casual dining restaurant. The atmosphere is relaxed and modest with an eclectic Bohemian charm Embracing and exhibiting work from local artists and musicians. Fire place downstairs warms you up on cold wintry days. Home style South African cooking, retro in style. South African cuisine has strong European, Eastern and African influences. Friendly, unobtrusive service. Well represented menu: Starter, Seafoods, Salads, Steak, Chicken, Desserts and fully licensed. All meals are freshly prepared. Wholesome, hearty meals that seduce the taste buds Fresh, elegant and robust .....Scrumptious .... We do accommodate dietary requirements. Vegetarians and Banters welcome. Regarded by many, as a casual coffee shop by day enjoying lighter pub meals and dessert menu. The Courtyard Garden is a pleasant retreat from the hustle and bustle of town The Upstairs Cigar Lounge has a traditional pub and has dining tables out onto the treetop balcony. Cozy conversation corners and popular local watering hole for all age groups. The Rose on York restaurant does cater for functions within the restaurant and in venues of your choice. Menus can be built to suit your requirements.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed dining for pleasure, not fast food and away.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Actually my wife and I have dined here often, when we lived in George. We ate out frequently, and tried all the restaurants in the whole area, but this was our favourite. The pace is deliberately quite slow, not forcing you to eat up to let more diners in, so you can enjoy a drink with the complimentary soup, while your meal is largely cooked from scratch. Some might like more attention, but we do not want constantly to be chivvied; good waiters always used to be efficient but unobtrusive - thankfully this still applies here. The food is good and well cooked; mostly wholesome fare, and none the worse for that, but more imaginative efforts are also presented. The staff are mostly family, efficient and friendly if you want to talk. Value is good,although the prices are not the lowest in town, but cheap for tourists. We shall certainly go there again when in George.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hampstead_hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandreyn, Owner at The Rose on York Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are so happy that you enjoyed your dining experience. We love our job and it is so rewarding to hear that it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    40
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

Well,well what a surprise this Restaurant turned out to be. We had a great time and the food is really great

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandreyn, Owner at The Rose on York Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
We are so happy that your surprise was a good one. Looking forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You can't help wanting to return again - and again - and again...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

There's something that makes the Rose unusual beyond any other restaurant in George. It must be the sum total of many little things. Such as the staff that greet me by name. The way that the waiters discreetly brought myself and each of my guests a menu in different languages without our having even though to ask. The thoughtfulness of offering to light the fireplace for me alone on a cool winter afternoon. The chef that greets you by hand. The awesome Baruch coffee. The odd starters that are thrown in on the house.

No wonder I have referred this restaurant to friends - and noticed that they have referred it to their friends in turn. "Let's meet at the Rose" has become a favourite saying in our town. It is easy to understand why. There's an old-fashioned warmth at the Rose. It draws me back every time!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HermanLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandreyn, Owner at The Rose on York Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It is an honour to have you as a regular customer. Thank you for your positivity and praise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

This restaurant has a good menu , good loaction , a great atmosphere and the food is well presented.
we only stopped for a quick lunch but will cetainly return to experience the dinner time ambience and food.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahorse-JOburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandreyn, Owner at The Rose on York Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your complementary review. It is an honour to cook for an appreciative audience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful travelling holiday in South Africa.
We needed healthy well balanced meals and eating out on a daily basis made this difficult. Our discovery of The Rose Restaurant in George was a welcome relief!
The first evening we were concerned at the waiting period of 35 min for our Steak & Kidney and Chicken pies, to find out that they are freshly made to order - they were superb!
We had dinner there for 3 consecutive nights, each time the meals were tremendous and always served with vegetables or salad. The Steaks were tender and flavoursome and the seafood Platter quite exceptional! The warm and welcoming atmosphere is very relaxing and the enthusiastic wait staff did a great job. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandreyn, Owner at The Rose on York Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
It is an honour to cook for customers like you. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose on York Restaurant also viewed

George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing