We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant stay”
Review of Apple and Spice

Apple and Spice
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apple and Spice
Ranked #28 of 62 George B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“very pleasant stay”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay with Erica, who is a most welcoming host. The guest house is in a good area, has a pretty garden, and we felt extremely safe. The delicious freshly cooked breakfast starts the day off beautifully. A bonus for us was being " guinea pigs " for a trip that Pierre, a friend of Erica's, is in the throes of organising for visitors. Pierre drove us over a mountain pass, we had breakfast and an excellent wine tasting at Herold wine farm, then we were transported back to George on the " power van " railway. We learned a lot about the history of the area, and the flora and fauna.
All in all an excellent stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TAMember1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely guest house. Received a great welcome from Erica who gave us lots of advice about activities in the area. Very hospitable. Like home away from home. Swimming pool and patio with great view just outside our room. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barberton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Kudo's to the owner of this beautiful property overlooking Fancourt golf course - the home is immaculate, the shower is heavenly, the linen plush and the interior and verandah so inviting and peaceful as to discourage one from wanting to leave for whatever reason.

I saw guests kissing the hostess hello and goodbye - it's no wonder, it feels like home from home except better! Well done Erica!!

Room Tip: They're all good, with easy access to verandah's and interior areas, peaceful views over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

This guest house maintains its high standard and the welcome is always warm and the stay such a pleasure. It really is a home away from home. It is for that reason that it is the only guest house I stay in when I am visiting George.

It is situated in a lovely upmarket residential area, with the owner living on site. It is within easy reach of the main business district and the airport. Bonus of some great golf courses in George and the neighbouring towns.
All 4 rooms have access to garden and swimming pool. The two rooms upstairs have access to a lovely balcony and the two rooms on the ground floor have direct access to the garden via a protected veranda.

Room Tip: Views from one of the rooms are a little restricted, but access to balcony makes up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EHPCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We booked this B&B without any recommendation and we were not let down in any way - Erica was the ideal host - the room was quiet, clean and very comfortable. The breakfast was exceptional as were her charming friends Molly-Ann & Mike who looked after us in the morning - it was like home from home. Our thanks to you all.

Room Tip: We had a downstairs double room which led onto a lounge area just outside, which was sheltered and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirbsSoham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
4.3 mi away
Edenwood Guest House
Edenwood Guest House
#1 of 62 in George
220 reviews
7.3 mi away
Inn Victori
Inn Victori
#8 of 62 in George
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#5 of 62 in George
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#3 of 62 in George
145 reviews
4.2 mi away
Farm & Fellow Guest House & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple and Spice

Property: Apple and Spice
Address: 36 Sidwell Avenue | Heather Park, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Apple and Spice 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Heather Park, overlooking the fairways of Fancourt Hotel and Golf Estate, Apple and Spice is the ideal choice for the business- or leisure traveler keen on a round of golf or just looking to relax and unwind in our tranquil surrounds. Our brand new, elegant guest house is centrally located, with the town centre, George Golf Club, Fancourt Estate and all other amenities within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Apple and Spice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing