We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely conference venue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We spent four nights at this resort while attending an international conference. The resort is well set out as part of a golf complex, but one does not necessarily need to be a golf enthusiast (we are not). Even so, the course itself appeared very attractive and was commented on very favourably by our golfing colleagues. Our small suite was well designed and laid out with all necessary amenities. The bed was large and comfortable with good quality bedding. The resort restaurant provides a good menu and an excellent range of South African wines. The conference facilities were more than adequate, with good technical back-up for audio-visual presentations. The hotel staff were very helpful when it came to arranging tours. There are some small shops selling local souvenirs and golfing apparel. Overall this resort would rate highly with golfers, but is also a very nice resort in its own right apart from the golf course.

Room Tip: Seek a room overlooking the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear John F
Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (526)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 526 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel as the first part of our honeymoon. It was the perfect way to relax after a busy wedding. The service was excellent and the rooms were luxurious and extremely clean. We were spoiled with a romantic evening in our room which made the experience even more memorable. I must say we enjoyed the waffles every morning for breakfast! Thank you to the team at Hyatt Oubaai and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anup M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Anup M
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit again soon!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Our two night stay was not a great success.
Whilst the rooms are well appointed, they are set in the grounds away from the main building and you have to walk to them thoroughly dimly lit walkways or be transported by buggy.
They have only one restaurant, which is excellent. However, they only have limited capacity and on the second night we could not get in and being hotel guests counted for nothing. The hotel is quite isolated, so our only choice was to eat at the golf club 2 kilometres away.
Not 5 star treatment

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Jim B
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the highlighted areas, which you consider need to be addressed in order to enhance the hotel’s overall operation.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

To all the staff of Oubaai - BIG thumbs up for your hospitality and friendliness. Our room was HUGE and the special attention to detail for our 5th wedding anniversary leaving us strawberries and chocolate sauce, fruit, red wine, biltong platter - AMAZING!!
Being parents of two busy boys under three - the weekend away was much needed.
We ordered room service and the Burger is to die for as well as the chicken pasta.
The only thing that i can fault is the loud music on Saturday - think there was a wedding, but at least the DJ played nice music.
Well done to all staff members with your kindness and willingness to help - especially the new receptionist (she has been with you for almost 4 months I think) WELL done, she was very helpful and friendly.
We will be back :)

Room Tip: I would say book the Club Executive Suite - everything is amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esti929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Esti929
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for sharing your positive comments on TripAdvisor!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights towards the end of February and this truly is a world class facility. Friendly staff (always the most important to me), beautifully appointed, large, comfortable rooms and the main building has glorious views over the estate. The one disappointment was the standard of the food in the Waterside Grill - it did not live up to the expectations set by the rest of the hotel. But we will be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear JohanMoolman
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We also appreciate you highlighting your area of disappointment.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hyatt Regency Oubaai in the not too distant future!
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

This is a difficult review to pitch right as there were aspects of this stay that we're excellent, but our major disappointment was that the rooms are not as advertised.
First the good, this is a comfortable and clean hotel, the standard of room is excellent and you are pretty well guaranteed a good nights sleep. The staff were delightful, with the exception of a couple of reception staff who definitely need a reminder on the basics of customer service, that said the young lady that checked us out was one of the best and I wish I'd noted her name to say thank you. The porterage was excellent and we used the restaurant and bar and we're happy that we were well looked after by competent and very pleasant staff.
Why the three star? To start with the web site advertises this hotel as having 'mountain or ocean views' from all rooms. This is very far from the truth and if, like me, you plan your holidays always having some view of this beautiful country, you'll be enormously disappointed if you check in to one of the many ground floor rooms with clearly no view. The assumption when you read of all rooms having a terrace or balcony might be that these are usable, no, there is no furniture for any outdoor relaxing. We were checked in to a ground floor room, which was an excellent room but with no view. We asked to be relocated to a room with a view and we're told by a receptionist (who sucked air through her teeth as if I'd asked her to pronounce on the meaning of life) that 'the computer says no'. I went back to my room to check on how I could have messed up the booking and there on the website room description was clearly that all rooms have mountain or sea view. I rang reception who informed me that I hadn't specified a mountain or sea view, and I told them I shouldn't need to and asked to speak with their manager when the phone went dead. After I spoke with customer services a very helpful lady rang to inform us that we had been moved to the third floor and there was a view from there. The new room wasn't as nice as the first one and wifi didn't work there, but it had a view with a small, unusable, balcony so we were happy with the outcome.
The design of the hotel is, in my view, very poor. You have to go up and down stairs to get anywhere, there are no obvious links between rooms and functional areas of the hotel. If I had been staying here with colleagues on business I would have been happy with my stay, but as a recreational user the building is far from ideal. The haphazard rules on which restaurants, the constant overpowering smell of burnt cooking oils around the main building from lunchtime onwards are countered a lot by good rooms and excellent staff (with the exceptions mentioned), but on balance, for us, this will never be a destination again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank welshtraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear welshtraveller09
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We take all feedback very seriously, in our constant endeavour to improve standards and make our guests experience all the more pleasurable, and it is only through detailed feedback such as yours, that we are able to improve our service.
Please accept our sincere apologies for challenges experienced during your stay and rest assured that your comments have been addressed with the team.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Our room was very nice. The dinner was great, very good quality. The breakfast was ok, but not great. Many cakes, but less bread and not good juice (to sweet, not fresh squezzed). The Lobby was very nice and the Spa was great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OubaaiHyatt, General Manager at Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Dina870
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and are pleased to receive your positive responses, as well as the highlighted areas, which you consider need to be addressed in order to enhance the hotel’s overall operation.
Thank you again.
Kind regards,
Jaco le Roux
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
6.6 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
501 reviews
6.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
6.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Mossel Bay
10.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
6.8 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: 406 Herolds Bay Road | Herolds Bay, George 6528, South Africa (Formerly Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort & Spa)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in George
Price Range: $81 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa is set in the picturesque hamlet of Herolds Bay, within 15 minutes from George Airport, Western Cape, South Africa. This 316-acre upscale Residential & Golf Development set apart in our specatacular Garden Route stretches out along the Western Cape from Mossel Bay to Port Elizabeth. Home to our Signature Ernie Els Golf Course as well as the Freesia Spa. The Oubaai Hotel has 100 Luxury Guest Rooms showcased alongside some of the most spectacular Herolds Bay Heritage Real Estate. This includes 322 upmarket Oubaai Residential Properties and 128 Oubaai Village Apartments. Golf Membership is optional. The Golf Club comprises of our 18 Hole Championship Ernie Else Signature Golf Course, the Golf Academy, a Driving Range plus 1 Chipping and 2 Putting Greens. Added Value includes Daily Breakfast in our Main Restaurant " Cucina," plus FREE Wifi access and FREE Parking. On our Property you can enjoy our Swimming Pool, Tennis Court, Squash Court and fully equipped Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Resort And Spa
Hyatt Regency Oubaai Golf Hotel George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing