We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worthy Favourite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edenwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Worthy Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

As part of our holiday in S Africa we spent 2 very enjoyable days staying in The Annex at Edenwood, a comfortable suite in a cottage adjacent to the main house. Our hosts Dawn and Stan and team made us very welcome and its easy to see why its a favourite with Trip Advisor reviewers. An added bonus since our last visit a while ago is the provision of free wi.fi for guest use in all rooms including the cottages which worked well for us in The Annex.
Dawn and Stan have vast local knowledge and further afield and answered all our queries and more so do not miss a visit if you have the opportunity!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms with verandahs have good mountain views, cottages are in nice gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you once again for your kind words and tips for future guests. It is always a pleasure to receive returning guests year after year, it is like old friends coming to stay. I am so glad we were able to secure you a room at short notice and hope next time we will have The Forest View open,but we know your constraints with booking.
I looked up the place you recommended in Montague and must say it looked lovely, so next time we break a journey to Cape Town we will go that way.
Hope the rest of your stay was great and that the weather improved. Once again always a great pleasure to see you both, and the greatest compliment in the world, is for people to want to return every year :-) -it makes us feel we are doing something right, as we enter our 19th year in business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
110
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We are a retired French couple from Canada (Montreal) and traveled South Africa during 2 months renting 31 different lodgings. This one was #20. We had reserved the «Poppy» room at the RC of the main house. As we arrived, they upgraded us and gave us, for the same price, the cottage called «Lemon Tree». Wonderful!!! It is a 2 story cottage with the living space (living room, kitchen) at the RC and the room and bathroom at 2nd level. Flat screen cable TV with many channels, terrace with table and chairs on a nice garden, free WiFi, free parking, Very well equipped kitchen, big room with a lot of places to store your things and a balcony with stools, good bathroom, pool at the main house. We really enjoyed our short stay there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us, it means such a lot. Sadly I did not get to meet you personally, but I knew Ilse would take good care of you. I am also pleased you found the cottage so comfortable, I am sure The Poppy Room would also have been comfortable, but unfortunately there was an issue a pipe in the floor that had to be repaired, I am just so glad you did not mind being moved to Lemon Tree Cottage. After such a long trip - it is nice you were able to unwind and make food "at home" etc - we loved your description of everything and hope to have you stay with us again some day - should you venture on another long trip around our beautiful country!
Dawn and Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Annex, and were on our own. The suite was very clean with big flat screen TV. The break fast was excellent and the homely atmosphere created by the hosts was an extra bonus.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edmond D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you Edmond for taking the time to do a lovely review. We appreciate the comments and look forward to seeing you both again in the future when next you travel to George. It was great to be able to share similar life experiences with you, especially as our lives have followed a similar course! and we both thoroughly enjoyed our long breakfast chat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We spent 7 wonderful days at Edenwood. The location is perfect for excellent restaurants, shops, etc. Really good for visiting all the beautiful places surrounding George. Mossel Bay, Knysna, Tsitsikamma, Victoria Bay, Cango Caves, to mention just a view. Thank you Dawn, Stan, Ilze and Cordelia for making our stay so wonderful and making us feel very much 'at home'. Will definitely stay at Edenwood next time we find ourselves in George. Bill and Lilian Martin, Middelburg, Mpumalanga.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 470Lilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
It was such a pleasure having you both to stay, and I am so glad you got around and explored all the options relating to your search. Let us know if you find the perfect retirement place - we are heading that way also! One where you can have pets and a garage and a workshop?
Hope the woodwork project works out for you, it looked very interesting, I could see how in the right hands, with a little refinement it will be a great item, and very popular. We thoroughly enjoyed our chats and want you to know that it is special friendly people like yourselves that makes our job so worthwhile. We certainly look forward to seeing you again when you are next in our part of SA.
Dawn and Stan, Ilse and Cordelia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our last night in South Africa and we stayed in George as it was handy for the airport. The guest house is in a quiet residential area in immaculate gardens with a lovely swimming pool. Dawn allowed us a later check out which was very convenient for our flight and meant we could spend a relaxing hour by the pool prior to our flight. Breakfast was good. We would not hesitate staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lsduchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for your kind review - I am glad you were able to soak up a last bit of South African sun rays before the long flight home. We hope to see you again some day, perhaps for longer than just a stopover, there are so many wonderful places to visit in the Garden Route and George is a good base to explore from.
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

We overnighted at Edenwood en route to the Argus Cycle Tour in Cape Town. Edenwood is an absolute gem. Every detail has been thought of for the comfort of the guests. We slept like logs in the very comfortable bed and awoke to a scrumptious breakfast in the Summer Room which overlooks the sparkling swimming pool set in a tropical paradise. Can't wait to come back next year!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Liora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you so much for doing a review for us, I was so glad you had found the bed so comfortable and had a good night's sleep, as I thought of you all day doing the Argus and hoped you made it to you destination of Simonstown safely. I know the weather was not playing along for the riders this year.
We would love to have you to stay again on your next trip through George and because you enjoyed our Poppy Room so much, we hope next year you can try one of the larger rooms with the view, like in the summer room.

Dawn
PS. Thanks also for the photos uploaded!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a very warm welcome on arrival. The house and room excellent, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lovely pool to cool off on a warm day. Fantastic breakfasts and helpful advice on local amenities and attractions.
Thank you to all staff. Gillian and Ian, Thirsk, North Yorkshire, UK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We would like to personally thank you for your very complimentary feedback. We are so glad that you liked Edenwood, and had such positive comments, and it was indeed a pleasure to host you both. We truly hope to see you back one day.
Dawn, Stan, Ilse and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
7.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
5.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
1.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwood Guest House

Property: Edenwood Guest House
Address: 9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-market safe and affordable, friendly guest house in tranquil surroundings on the edge of a nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing