We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tranquil garden setting”
Review of Edenwood House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edenwood House
Ranked #1 of 64 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed there for 2 nights on our trip to George and cannot recommend it more highly. The guest house is surrounded by a beautiful lust garden. The garden cottage has every amenity you could hope for and more (including and iron and ironing board). The service was top notch and the pool offers welcome relief at the end of a long summers day. It is also a must for bird lovers with a wide variety of species spotted in the garden. The breakfasts are a must as well. Keep up the good work Edenwood!

Room Tip: The garden cottage is very private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byron283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

We strive to make every guest's experience a memorable one and the fact that you took the trouble to write a review means a lot to us. Many thanks for the wonderful description of Edenwood and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again one day in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 232 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed 2 night in a self accommodation for 2 and we were delighted! Very comfortable and everything you need is there. We would highly recommend this place and if we ever come by George again we would definitively stay there again!THanks to the host who obviously know how to do good business and make us feel at ease!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Le-Cabanon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words, it was a pleasure having such a friendly young couple to stay and we would love to welcome you back sometime in the future. When people take the time to post a review I always appreciate i,t as it makes us feel we are on the right track to making everyone's stay a pleasurable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

This establishment offers different room types to satisfy individual needs. Make your choice and get yourself ready for the treat of a lifetime.

It was the best experience ever. There is nothing to complain about!

A special thank you to the hosts for making the stay at Edenwood extremely present. I wish it was possible to have this kind of establishment available in every city across the world that we may visit in future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - choose the option according to your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hendrikvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words, it means a lot to us. It was a pleasure having you both to stay and we, and our four legged friends, look forward to seeing you again some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We were a group of five golfers who stayed at Edenwood for three nights. As such, we just about filled the property and we had it to ourselves. All five rooms were deemed totally satisfactory by what could be only described as a discerning group. Our rooms, which were spread across the two buildings, were comfortable, clean and fully equipped with everything one could need. The breakfasts were top class, and very much cooked to specific orders. The location is quite excellent - within five/six minutes drive of the town centre, right next to the nature reserve. Dawn helped with taxi and restaurant reservations, and was an excellent hostess. I am sure that this group would happily return to Edenwood when next in George - whether as a golf group or with our families.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to do such a lovely review of our establishment. It was a great pleasure having such a kind and congenial group and we are glad we were able to add to the success of your tour. We look forward to welcoming you to Edenwood again so time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My boyfriend, Peter and I were there for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Edenwood. With a wonderful host, Dawn, her friendly cats, and a cosy interior, we felt so at home.

Host – Dawn is such an amiable host with many interesting stories/experiences to share. Ask her anything from George, the Garden Route, South Africa, World Cup, to Singapore, Ireland, Egypt, and beyond and you will be all ears. Special thanks also to Sylvester (hope I got his name right), the black cat in the house who gave me tummy massages both nights.

B&B/ Room – Edenwood is situated south of the Outeniqua mountains in a quiet but safe area. We had the poppy room on the first floor of the main house which was small and cosy, clean and comfortable, and just what we needed. There is also free wifi access in the main house.

Food – A hearty breakfast of our choice prepared by Dawn at the lovely breakfast room was definitely a good start to our day.

This is one of those times when I am abroad and I tell myself, home is where the heart is.

Room Tip: Make sure you enquire about the rooms and let Dawn know your requirements. If you are particular abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaniceTSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for the really kind words, Sylvester always knows how to make friends! I am so glad you mentioned the Poppy Room in the review as we put up on our web site the same facts, that although comfortable and with the amenities of the bigger suites it is our "budget" option because of it's size. Guests with lots of baggage do find it a constraint. Perhaps from your review people will be able to take that into account.

I am so glad you felt at home, and that I was able to contribute to making your holiday experience a pleasure, feeling at home is one of the greatest compliments you could give us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you are looking for a guesthouse/B&B and not an hotel this is a good choice.It is situated in a quite street in George next to the woods.We stayed in the annex in a 2 room apartment and had everything we needed.A living room with a big TV,bed room with good bed,enough cupboard space,kitchenette ,bathroom with shower. The WIFI &breakfast were in the main house.Dawn ,the owner,gave us lots of information and a great breakfast.We asked for vegetarian and she really spoiled us with our tasty breakfast in the gorgeous summer room. We shared the breakfast with other guests and were in no hurry to leave this lovely place.We were unlucky with the weather and the evenings were cold,but the 2 heathers in the living room made it warm enough.Only the bathroom was a little cold.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dieuwke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawnve, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you so much for the lovely comments, it was a pleasure having you to stay - perhaps next time the weather will be more accommodating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

An enjoyable few days spent at this excellent establishment. We were given the tastefully decorated ensuite Regency suite with complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Dual control electric blankets on the comfortable kingsize bed and heaters in the rooms led to cosy, warm nights. Edenwood is situated in a well appointed, quite cul-de-sac that is condusive to a restful time. Dawn and Stan go out of their way to ensure one feels at home and are able to advise on sightseeing both locally and further afield. The delicious breakfast was served in the breakfast room overlooking the beautiful garden and is a great start to the day. Be back soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenwood, Owner at Edenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for the kind words Roger and Sue it was a pleasure having you to stay and we so enjoyed our lengthy discussions on how to right the world! Hope to see you again soon.
Dawn and Stan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
7.8 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
5.2 mi away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Aziza Guest House
Aziza Guest House
#2 of 64 in George
142 reviews
0.6 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 64 in George
74 reviews
1.7 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#5 of 64 in George
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenwood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwood House

Address: 9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range: $63 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenwood House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-market safe and affordable, friendly guest house in tranquil surroundings on the edge of a nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Edenwood House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing