We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edenwood Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Edenwood Guest House
Ranked #1 of 59 George B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here for two nights and despite sometimes being a bit of a disjointed group, Dawn was always the gracious and obliging host with our comings and goings. Her breakfasts were way above the normal 'b&b' fare, elegantly served in the lovely conservatory overlooking the lush gardens.
The accommodation was immaculate and extremely comfortable and we had everything we needed.
Should we ever be in the area again, we would not hesitate to stay at Edenwood again.
Thank you very much Dawn and Stan !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmopolitanCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
47
110
8
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Edenwood B&B in George is a lovely B&B - we stayed there with family for 2 nights and we throughly enjoyed our stay. Dawn was a fantastic host, making delicious breakfasts and offering great advice. We'll definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed a night at the Edenwood Guest House in George and wished that our stay here was only longer. Beautiful self contained apartments in perfect garden setting. Dawn, who owns and manages Edenwood was a wonderful host and ensured that the apartment provided all that we could ask for. Clean, comfortable with a matching decor. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Edenwood guest house in George based on it's very high rating on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed : lovely rooms, excellent facilities, and an exceptionally warm welcome from the hosts Dawn and Stan. Nothing was too much trouble.

We regret not having time to stay longer and explore the area, but we plan to return next time we pass through George.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank williams_tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenwood, Owner at Edenwood Guest House, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you so much for the lovely review, much appreciated - hope the rest of the trip worked out well for you all and we will certainly love to have you stay again anytime.
Kindest wishes
Dawn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

One of the best B & B in South Africa that we have been to in a long time. What you see on the internet is what you get. Classy, clean and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannes L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Family visiting from overseas and ourselves (wife, self and 3-yr old) stayed for 2 nights at the Wiltshire Cottage... found it very homely and tastefully equipped with everything that we needed, including milk in the refrigerator and tea/coffee, and a private braai area that we used the first evening we were there.

Clearly, Dawn and Stan have taken great pain and personal interest to equip the Cottage and make it a luxurious and restful place for road-trippers like us who explore the Rainbow nation.

Had heard about Dawn's legendary breakfasts and fixed it up with her in advance... it was a 3-4 course breakfast (details kinda fuzzy since am writing this after road-tripping many days across SA) that certainly lived up to it's reputation and beckons repeat visits.

Room Tip: Make sure you feed in Edenwood House or the GPS coordinates into the GPS unit... merely house number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlokS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

I travel the Garden Route at least every second month and this is the best place to stay in George. I think I’ve stayed in all the rooms that are available and I can report the following: The rooms are cozy, comfortably decorated, impeccably clean and very well appointed with high quality bed linens and towels. You feel as comfortable as you are in your own home. Wireless internet is available for doing my business away from office. Breakfast is delicious and the table pleasantly set. The property is beautiful and green and Dawn and Stan are great hosts. That is why I always return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
2.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
7.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
5.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott King George
1.9 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.0 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 59 in George
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenwood Guest House

Property: Edenwood Guest House
Address: 9 Hammerkop Street | Eden, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Edenwood Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Up-market safe and affordable, friendly guest house in tranquil surroundings on the edge of a nature reserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Edenwood Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing