We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Relaxing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
French Lodge International
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the French Lodge a couple of weeks ago - for a weekend getaway.
The French Lodge came highly recommended from a business colleague of mine - and boy did it not disappoint.

The French lodge is set in a beautiful garden with a stunning swimming pool. Rooms are very neat and comfortable - and the Jacuzzi was fantastic.

The staff where so polite and friendly. Special thanks to Natasha for been so helpful - you are a wonderful hostess.

Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2011

Driving past we thought should we of shouldn't we? We did stop and what a great surprise!
Right in the heart of George. Great welcome and excellent service and very helpfull with my husband on cruches. The rondavels were really up to standard. You've won our hearts!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We a group of six senior citizens from India touring South Africa, booked the French Lodge International at George, through the booking.com site for over nights stay on 14th Sept. 2011. This is a small cute home-like place to stay, offering only bed & breakfast. It is run by a Russian girl Natasha who is always laughing & makes an amusing company. She is very courteous, friendly & prompt. Rooms with bathroom were, spacious clean & nicely decorated. The warm cozy beds have electric blanket to take care of the chilly night. We appreciate that this small joint provides Complimentary Tea/coffee facility, with hot water kettle in each room! The only thing lacking is a good spread of breakfast. For the price this should be looked into. I would recommend tourists to stay at the French Lodge International at George, South Africa. Stayed in September 2011, with friends.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daganagpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The French Lodge is truly a gem tucked in front of the beautiful Outeniqua Mountains! What an experience to sleep in luxurious, comfortable rooms; indulge in the warm, inviting and friendly atmosphere – and be treated with the utmost professionalism and be provided with exceptional service. As a mom with a little one – travelling is never easy – the staff and facilities catered perfectly for this need, and mom even got to enjoy a soak in the Jacuzzi! Breakfast was delicious, the pool and scenery are spectacular and the lodge is wonderfully situated in the heart of George. Special thanks to Natasha for making us feel at home, yet so special by decorating the room with fresh flowers and chocolates for our special occasion. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarrynW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

Firstly the picture at the top is 100% misleading - that is NOT the George accommodation!!! Honeymoon suite with a toilet shack - no ceiling, makeshift roof, major leaks. Not enough hot water, some of our group had cold showers for more than half our stay, but "jacuzzi's in every room" and enough hot water for one jacuzzi!! Rats in the ceiling, cats in the rooms and musty smelling rooms. Lights not working all over then place. Weeds growing out of the gutters. Beautiful swimming pool. Rondawels may be better, but main lodge a rip-off, and owner not apologetic or showing any inclination to make-up for the problems.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank debbyvz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

Pool side rooms at least suffer from damp and mould, allergy sufferers would do well to stay away. Black mould for example around the shower base in the three rooms we had while there.

Breakfast overpriced (twice as much as a full size main course at a local restaurant).

Seems to me the owner understands how the star formula works and has engineered four stars somehow, beats me. An affront to some genuine four star properties we have stayed at in the area.

A positive word for Natasha who does a great job of keeping the guests happy despite the issues. She deserves better from her coleagues.....

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinnieVX7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

On the plus side - property was well located for town and was in a lovely setting with the thatched cottages and pool, with beautiful flowers and lighting all around. Both Natasha and the owner were very friendly and helpful. Good parking area and pool looked very clean.

Minuses - in my view it is more a 3* establishment than a 4* as the room furnishings and linens were tatty, very few toiletries supplied, only 1glass in the bathroom and, I believe, only 1 electric plug. It just felt a bit run down. Breakfast was a little strange having to choose between 3 options and not being able to swap between them i.e. if you have the muffin and croissant option you cannot have a yogurt etc. Also when we were there (early October) it was apparently the season for a certain type of crawly thing - we found several on the walls and carpet so pick your time to go!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biffo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
5.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
2 mi away
ArendsRus Country Lodge
ArendsRus Country Lodge
#3 of 62 in George
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#4 of 62 in George
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Outeniqua Inn
Outeniqua Inn
#5 of 62 in George
46 reviews
5.6 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to French Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about French Lodge International

Address: 29 York Street, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range: $57 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — French Lodge International 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and exclusive hotel combines superb hospitality with the easy ambiance of African style and comfort. Situated in the middle of George - in a relaxed, very quiet and restful atmosphere - the luxury and sublime service of the hotel cater to the discerning traveller to George and the Garden Route. Imbued with the warm rich tones of Africa, The French Lodge International meets the needs of the 21st century in a truly unique way. Our rooms are all spacious with King-sized beds fitted with electric blankets. In addition, we have rooms with multiple bedding arrangements for the large groups.Each room has a couch as well as a desk and wardrobe. In addition, all our suites have coffee amenities, as well as a bar fridge, aircon and heating! Plus, All our Chalets have flat screen TVs! Each room has DSTV (as well as a French Channel!) And our en-suite bathrooms are beautiful with both shower and Jacuzzi! Our entire hotel is a wi-fi hotspot and guests are able to use the internet for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your French Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing