We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Meal in SA”

Old Townhouse Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 112 Restaurants in George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: African, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open for lunch Mondays to Fridays from 12:00 to 14:30 and Open for Dinner Mondays to Saturdays from 18:00 till late.
South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Meal in SA”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I own a Guest House and I send people to this restaurant every week and to date ( and I have been operating for 17 years), I have never had a bad report back - they are consistently excellent and their steaks are rated by my guests as the best in South Africa - it is a family run intimate restaurant, where one goes to unwind, relax and enjoy the nice ambiance and exquisite food. Janet specialises in fabulous deserts and the menu changes frequently, so you can return time and again. I went there recently with my family and once again realised it is definitely the best place to send my clients, as I know they will return to my Guest house happy and content. It is hard to refer people all the time to restaurants as you do not want them disappointed - this will never happen at The Old Townhouse. Keep it up please. My favorite restaurant for special family events. Kind Regards Dawn

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EdenSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    73
    11
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vimmerby, Kalmar Län, Sweden
2 reviews
“Great atmosphere, great food and friendly staff!”
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Great atmosphere, great food and friendly staff! Exciting dishes on the daily special menu

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ylva Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Small little restaurant in the centre of town.  Beautiful old building, but it is a bit hidden.  Great menu, very affordable.  Will definitely go back there again

Helpful?
Thank KleinKaroo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George RSA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Townhouse Rerstaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Very nice food overall and well complemented with the excellent home baked bread and a variety of home made ice creams.

Helpful?
1 Thank NevilleGeorgeRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This restaurant is located in downtown George. The parking is easy and safe.
Great atmosphere in a historic building with personal attention from the owners. The menu caters for all tastes and the food is individually prepared.
The pricing is reasonable and the food is well presented and is well priced. and adequate Wine list is adequate with a good selection and a well stocked bar offers that something extra.
This resaurant requires that you take your time and enjoy the meal.
I will certainly return.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seahorse-JOburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Townhouse Restaurant also viewed

 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 
George, Western Cape
George, Western Cape
 

Been to Old Townhouse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing