We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
George Lodge International
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in George
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Stay Away”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Not the most pleasant stay at all. The wire connections in the rooms were suspect! Turning the kettle on meant the bedside lamp going off! The electricity tripped eventually. Breakfast was terrible. I ordered mince on toast and it was literally boiled mince. When I sent it back the management were clearly unimpressed and disbelieving......Need I say more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

It always amazes me how people leave comments about an establishment and how terrible it was, but sadly they omit to mention the part how badly they treat the staff and how rude they were.

I am not even going to waste my breathe on commenting on your interpretation of the rooms, as you were dissatisfied with the accommodation arranged by one of the ladies in your group from the moment you booked in. Firstly she booked the room setting incorrectly for which we had to take the blame for. Two double rooms and two twin rooms were booked, when you arrived our receptionist saw that you were ladies and asked if you would like to change it to twin rooms as well, as the double rooms have double beds. Your reply was "do we look like we are engaged" - clearly no manners - a thank you I would really appreciate that - I would think would be a more well mannered reply.

As far as the breakfast go - that was such a bad experience for us as well. You were very rude from the moment you ordered your breakfast and complained about plates not being warmed etc etc. (we not a five star restaurant) Then you ordered our savoury mince on toast, which is one of the favourite dishes by many of our returning guests, not satisfied with that you plonked it on the counter saying that you do not want this and would rather have toast with cheese. When we brought the toast on cheese you very rudely told the lady "why do you bring me toast, I only wanted cheese i have toast already. If that was not enough cold water was ordered and when a glass of ice water was brought to you, you did not want that and shouted out to the group who wants ice, i don't want it.

I am sorry but this one of the worst groups we have ever had in our establishment and yes management was not impressed and you do not need to say anything more, we feel that if people treat us with the respect we will treat them with respect, but sorry to say with your bad manners you do not deserve respect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    44
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
27
18
7
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2014

No-One to assist with luggage up stairs, showers in baths old fashioned, rooms are noisy (you can hear others in their rooms) - rooms downstairs have no blockout on curtains so the light from outside shines in all the time. Breakfast was disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to refer you to my response to the co-traveler in your group - see my Comment on Sandy B, furthermore i would like to clarify the luggage issue, you arrived just before closing time, so there was no other staff expect for my receptionist available and she offered to assist you with the luggage to which u laughed in her face. Just once again i would like to reiterate that this was just as bad experience for us than it was for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Friendly staff. Room smelled of urine. TV remote was nowhere to be found & eventually discovered on the floor behind the curtain. Obviously, the cleaners had not done a thorough job! I needed to attend a course at 8am, but was late as the chef had not yet arrived to cook my breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest

I am sorry to see that you had a disappointing experience at our Lodge, unfortunately nothing was mentioned by you on departure, so that i can investigate the smell that you refer to. I do not see how that is possible at all as the rooms gets cleaned on a daily basis and would not know where a urine smell would originate and more so no other guest has complained about that. I am sorry about the remote control, but i can assure you i have addressed the matter with the cleaner. The breakfast problem come as a total shock to me as our breakfast area opens at 6h30 in the morning to start setting up and prepping the ingredients for the breakfast, and the doors are opened at 6h45, we do not have a chef as mentioned, we have ladies that prepare the breakfast daily and they are definitely in the breakfast room at that time of the morning. So if you were to be at your meeting at 8h00 i am sure by 07h00 you would have been in the breakfast room already and our staff were there. Once again it is so difficult to address problems when guests do not make u aware of the problems, yet they feel obliged to comment on the internet and then for us to give our response on that is very difficult as we were not told about the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We had booked a room (online, through a popular website) at the George Lodge International at least one month before our road trip in South Africa. We drove from Cape Town to George and unfortunately arrived later than expected. We knew that check-in was possible only from 2 to 8 p.m, but we were late and we could not inform the hotel as we did not have their telephone number with us... we received no incoming calls or e-mails from the hotel asking whether or not we could make it safely (and on time) to George. We finally arrived at 10 p.m., we rang the door bell several times and tried to make phone calls for assistance (a girl working in a nearby restaurant kindly helped us), but we got no response. We realized that we would probably have to sleep in the car within few meters from a payed hotel room, but the girl helped out again (thank you!) and found us a room in another hotel. Long story short, we payed double the price for a night definitely not worth it... never ever again! This is not the kind of service we are used to. Hotels should have someone available, always. At least on the phone. After all... they are supposed to offer night services, aren't they? It is really regrettable that no one from the hotel staff tried to contact us, neither before nor after the check-in limit. We paid more than 750 rands and, honestly, expected a better service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoFR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest we thank you for your comment and email from you that we received and responded to, but unfortunately no response on this was received. A copy of my email to the guest below, furthermore i must state that we are a 3 star guesthouse and not an hotel as stated by the guest and therefore do not offer a 24 hour system, but as explained in my email to the client we do have system in place for late arrivals, if we are given the correct details to us, to enable us to make contact with the client, which we duelly did, but when the booking was made, the incorrect email address was supplied to us as well as only an international phone number.

Dear Guest
We refer to your email below regarding the late arrival.

Our procedure for late arrival guests are as follows:

We firstly try to phone the guest to make the necessary arrangements for the gate code, the safe code where you will find your key as well as directions to your room. If we do not get a reply on the phone call we send a sms as with all the above particulars as well as an email to the guest.

In your case we only had an international phone number, to which we could not phone as well as an email address as per your booking, we emailed you all the particulars but the email came back as undelivered.

As you state in your email you were aware of the fact that you were going to be late as well as that you knew our closing time was 20h00, as you can see from our side we did the best with the information we had, but you never tried to communicate to us that you were going to be late.
My cellphone number is available on our website as well as various other internet sites and the lady from Primi Piatti could have also given it to u as we do business with them on a regular basis. I would have come to the lodge to book you in.
Furthermore you only paid R585.00 as per our records and the booking we received from Venere.

We apologize for the inconvenience caused and hope we can make up for it somewhere in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Service was brilliant, staff were efficient, the stay was really comfortable and cost effective. Would definitely recommend it to friends and family that travel that way to stay at George Lodge. Regards

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and looking forward to having you as a guest with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stopped in George for one night only for a sleep...hotel was lovely with the best service from lovely receptionist. Room and breakfast very good. Only downside was slow or non-existent internet signal

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chantelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our Lodge, we apologize for the inconvenience with the Wifi signal, but can assure you that we have attended to the problem and it is now in a 100% working order. We look forward to having you back at our establishment in the near future.

Safe Travel
Regards
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

everthing was ok except the breakfast. At other places you get the option to get a full house omlet while yours only has 2 ingriediants on. the food was too little. also if possible it would be nice if you take the order the previous night already

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback, unfortunately I think there was a bit of miscommunication about the breakfast, maybe the lady who took the order should have explained it to you. You are more than welcome to combine the three options of omelet fillings for a combination omelet - these are the options as per our menu and you can combine them to make it a more filling option for yourself. Savory Mince, Bacon and Cheese or Peppers and Mushrooms or a combination of any of the above. The reason why we do not take the orders in the evening is that we prepare all the ingredients freshly the next morning on order as our staff arrive at 6h30 in the morning to get the breakfast room setup and ready for the guest to have breakfast. Hope we will be able to make this misunderstanding up with your next visit and have one of our scrumptious combination omelettes. Glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
3.0 mi away
Fancourt
Fancourt
#1 of 9 in George
461 reviews
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.0 mi away
Loerie Guest Lodge
Loerie Guest Lodge
#11 of 59 in George
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Two Fat Owls Guesthouse
Two Fat Owls Guesthouse
#4 of 29 in George
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Lodge International

Property: George Lodge International
Address: 86 Davidson Road, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — George Lodge International 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lenie Stander and Reinette Marais form the mother-daughter team behind the success and allure of George Lodge International. With many combined years of experience within the hospitality industry, we appreciate the individual requirements of each guest – and go out of our way to reach and exceed your requirements and needs. Our personal and intimate knowledge of the area, along with our experience in managing wonderful weddings, fabulous functions and successful conferences, allows us to tailor-make your stay. While George Lodge International is a family run establishment and visitors may expect all the comforts of home, our professional team adheres to the highest of standards. This combination ensures that your stay will not only be exactly what you needed and expected, but so much more. We offer a truly value for money experience with 22 en suite rooms, a swimming pool and braai area, cooked breakfasts, packages for tour groups and complimentary WiFi connectivity. Our conference centre also offers wireless access to the Internet with various rooms available that would suit the specific needs of every corporate group – regardless of the size of the group. All Rooms are equipped with fridges, some have microwaves as well. DSTV - each room own decoder with 50 channels to view. Free wifi in all areas of the lodge. Communal lounge for relaxation and designated information area with information packs and brochures of all the areas in the Garden Route. For corporate traveller, we offer business services ie: copying, laminating, faxing, book binding etc. Airtime and Data purchasing for all the networks also available at reception. For convenience the following items are available to purchase from reception. Braai wood, Charcoal, Blitz, Sunscreen, Milk and Bottled Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your George Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing