We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at George Lodge International”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
George Lodge International
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in George
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

I had a wonderful time during my stay at George Lodge International, the staff are friendly and very helpful.The lodge is strategical placed next to the city and shop.It is not far from the Airport.The food was also good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Mathye K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
There are newer reviews for George Lodge International
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 156 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

What a fantastic accommodation! I would recommend it for anyone. Great location! Atmosphere very relaxing; staff very friendly. Breakfast great! Only problem was room 6's location. Too noisy at the security gate.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Clarke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guests

Wonderful to hear u enjoyed your stay with us, we will make a note on your file for future reference to accommodate you in a room that is not close to the security gate. We look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Excellent Service, the Room was beautiful, the location very accessable to entaiment. I liked the enviroment as it is home like. The least, the water takes long to get warm.

Thank you for a wonderful stay and service. Keep up your good work.

You are the BEST and i pray God Bless you Richly and always



  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gwen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Dear Gwen

Thank you so much for taking the time to write the review, we are very delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your blessing and the same to you. Have a wonderful festive season if we do not see you before that again. We will look into the water situation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The service was very helpfull.The room had everything a person needs and was clean and neat.Very good price for what you get.The guesthouse is very central, near to the business centre of George and right between Mosselbay and Plett.Also near to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mirella L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad u enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having u back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff are friendly, helpful and competent.
Rooms are clean and spacious.
Conference facilities were well organised and staff were able to accommodate requests.
Breakfast offered a lot of variety and was really nice.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elize V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review, we glad u enjoyed your time and conference with us, we look forward to your next visit to our establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed in the George Lodge last week. Matress was uneven and hard, should have been replaced years ago. No running hot water for 10 minutes in my room the morning. Only air blowing out the pipe. The mattress had a egg shell cover which is unhygienic and normally used to prevent bed sores and hould only be used for one patient and then replaces. I will never recommend this hotel or use it again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gerhard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reinette M, Owner at George Lodge International, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and we are truly sorry that u feel this way about our guesthouse.

As can be seen from the previous reviews, the guests were complaining about our mattresses being to firm, i called the company that we bought the beds from for a solution and they suggested, slumber pads. The egg shell mattresses that the guest refers to is called a slumber pad by the mattress company and all our rooms have it and we have not had one complaint about it or about the mattresses being to hard since we have put them on. It get's placed under the sheet on top of the mattress to soften the mattresses. I explained this to you in the breakfast room, furthermore you did not mention that there was a problem with your hot water, all our geysers get monitored by an independent company to ensure all guests have hot water and furthermore your room is alone on one geyser so it is surprising that you had no hot water for ten minutes, just saying.

We have also phoned a number of our guests who have stayed in the room in question, some of our return trade actually prefer that room and request the room again and again. All the guests contacted had no complaints about the room or its hot water.

Our mattresses conform to the South African Tourist Grading Councils standards and criteria and were recently replaced with the recommended type of mattress.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I had a great,comfortable stay at the george lodge. Providing electric blankets during the winter months would make it perfect. Providing undercover parking should also be considered. Breakfast was filling and tasty

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Brendan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George hotels
0.1 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott George Outeniqua
0.3 mi away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#7 of 9 in George
54 reviews
2.2 mi away
Town Lodge George
Town Lodge George
#6 of 9 in George
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
Surfari
Surfari
#1 of 2 in Victoria Bay
57 reviews
0.1 mi away
10 Caledon Street Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to George Lodge International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about George Lodge International

Address: 86 Davidson Road, George 6529, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > George
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in George
Price Range: $60 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — George Lodge International 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lenie Stander and Reinette Marais form the mother-daughter team behind the success and allure of George Lodge International. With many combined years of experience within the hospitality industry, we appreciate the individual requirements of each guest – and go out of our way to reach and exceed your requirements and needs. Our personal and intimate knowledge of the area, along with our experience in managing wonderful weddings, fabulous functions and successful conferences, allows us to tailor-make your stay. While George Lodge International is a family run establishment and visitors may expect all the comforts of home, our professional team adheres to the highest of standards. This combination ensures that your stay will not only be exactly what you needed and expected, but so much more. We offer a truly value for money experience with 22 en suite rooms, a swimming pool and braai area, cooked breakfasts, packages for tour groups and complimentary WiFi connectivity. Our conference centre also offers wireless access to the Internet with various rooms available that would suit the specific needs of every corporate group – regardless of the size of the group. All Rooms are equipped with fridges, some have microwaves as well. DSTV - each room own decoder with 50 channels to view. Free wifi in all areas of the lodge. Communal lounge for relaxation and designated information area with information packs and brochures of all the areas in the Garden Route. For corporate traveller, we offer business services ie: copying, laminating, faxing, book binding etc. Airtime and Data purchasing for all the networks also available at reception. For convenience the following items are available to purchase from reception. Braai wood, Charcoal, Blitz, Sunscreen, Milk and Bottled Water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your George Lodge International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing