We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Supper”
Review of Pastis

Pastis
Ranked #13 of 58 Restaurants in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed March 5, 2019 via mobile

Had a pleasant dinning experience at Patis. Thanks to the Chef, Philip for the great meal. Also to our waitress for the attentive service! The manager, Darren for the excellent wine recommendation. Will definitely be back .

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank 796tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastisConstantia, Manager at Pastis, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2019

Dear 796tammy
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your supper and time at Pastis. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Pastis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 422 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2019

Our first time in Pastis was quite pleasant. We were happy to have a booking and enjoyed the sunset and view from the terrace. Our server Helena as an absolute treasure. She was cheerful and funny and personal and attentive.
The menu is typical Brasserie, the mussels are quite garlicky but the fillet was delicious. Food portions were good (meaning not too much) and presentation was attractive. Pastis is easy to reach, with enough parking close by. A great choice for a local bite!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastisBrasserie, Manager at Pastis, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear Stalex24
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and time at Pastis. Helena will be happy to hear that you mentioned her.
Hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Pastis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

Excellent food and service.

In a large area filled with restaurants and bistros, Pastis sets the bar with regards to their service. Special mention to the manager and waitress on duty, Darren and Nicole.

5 stars, see you again soon.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank rafeashton10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastisConstantia, Manager at Pastis, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear rafeashton10
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and time at Pastis. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Pastis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

This was the second time in a week that we have visited this super little dining place in Constantia, and it was every bit as good as the first time last week. Set at the bend in the road just before the Groot Constantia vineyards, it has a lovely laid back ambience. The staff have been very accommodating, always finding us a nice table out on the patio, and the service is very good also during the meal.
The cooking is predominantly French cuisine with a little South African touch to the dishes. The menu is very varied with delicious steaks, pork chops to die for, the local line fish, kingclip, as well as several specials on a board each day. There is a very good selection of wines, and to end our meal they did serve "dom Pedros"!!!
If you are ever in this part of the world, I can reccommend this restaurant as a place not to miss. We will be going back again before we leave at the end of our holiday.

Date of visit: February 2019
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastisConstantia, Manager at Pastis, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear Peter
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your food and time at Pastis. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Pastis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

We came here on 14th February, there was a special menu available. The food was shocking, in fact I don’t think I’ve ever experienced anything quite like it! I was actually pleased the next morning when we met a couple from our B&B who had a similar experience to ours, to confirm it wasn’t just us. This is definitely a place to miss

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank angela914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PastisConstantia, Manager at Pastis, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2019

Dear Angela
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy Valentine's Day. It is never our intention to serve poor quality food and we would have welcomed the opportunity to rectify any problems that you experienced, at that time.
Regards, The Pastis Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pastis also viewed

Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 
Constantia, Cape Town
Constantia, Cape Town
 

Been to Pastis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing