We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous cottage with everything including...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Constantia, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
81juless
1 review
“A fabulous cottage with everything including welcoming hosts. Beautiful gardens and pool, serene and relaxing week.”
Reviewed December 24, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

A fabulous cottage with everything including welcoming hosts. Beautiful gardens and pool, serene and relaxing week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2017
Jules is very symphatic and friendly and also took great care of the cottage. We would be more than happy to welcome her as our guest any time again and highly recommend her to every host.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan N
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
“Loved it, hope to return next year”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Plough Hill Cottage is located in a very quiet part of Constantia, very convenient for the shops and wonderful places to eat and to go wine tasting.
Emanuela was was most helpful and always ready to help..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 10, 2017
Dear Susan and Nick,

Thank you very much for staying with us. It was great pleasure to have you as our guests. Wish you all the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley E
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous gem in perfect location in Constantia”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

My husband and I booked for 6 nights and wish we had been able to stay longer. The owner was very welcoming and thoughtful with small things like milk, butter etc in the fridge on arrival The cottage is situated in a quiet lane. It is beautifully and very comfortably furnished and it is perfect for a couple and with lots of space for having friends over. The owner was very gracious in allowing us to have friends over and providing barbeque equipment. We definitely will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 20, 2017
Harley and her husband were very very nice, friendly and easygoing. They took great care of the cottage, and I can highly recommend them as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beckahodg...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A gem of a place! ”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Emanuela is simply the nicest, friendliest host I have ever met - and she provides an extremely generous welcome pack of food and drink on arrival (something more usual in Europe but I have not seen before in SA). The cottage is lovely - with the most comfortable bed of our 3 week stay! Everything was very clean, with flowers to welcome us. Spacious dining / living area, with compact kitchen area with all you need. Good shower. Great wifi. Outside areas are great, enabling you to catch the sunshine through the day, and lovely comfortable sun loungers - plus use of the main pool of the house (a very nice pool and good size). All in all this was a perfect place to stay and a great base for exploring the area (again). We will be back! Anyone interested in hiking Table Mountain, a great trail starts just 6 minutes drive up the road at Constantia Nek - highly recommended as a steady route up!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2017
Thank you so much Rebecca and Ian. It was great meeting you. I am happy you liked our Cottage and you have been wonderful guests. Wish you all the best in the future and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LPbeehive...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage in great location ”
Reviewed January 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We really enjoyed our week during Christmas at Plough Hill cottage. The cottage is private and quiet surrounded by shrubs and flowers and the scent of lavender. We could use the large swimming pool in the host, Ema's, garden and play with her adorable little dogs. Ema provided milk, bread and fruits and all the basics. We loved the coffee machine! The location is convenient for the city and coast and has several beautiful wine estates nearby and is close to Constantia shopping centre. The cottage was super clean and tidy and I would highly recommend staying there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 7, 2017
Dear Hailey and Nick,

Thank you very much for your great review and I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us at Plough Hill.

We look forward to your next visit :)

Best wishes and regards,
Ema
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dean P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful little cottage :)”
Reviewed April 14, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I spent 2 weeks at the Plough Hill cottage during my trip to Cape Town and i must say that i thouroughly enjoyed my stay here.

The host, Ema is a lovely, friendly lady that makes you feel right at home. The area of Constantia is extremely quiet, calm and peaceful aswell as abundant with amenities such as Yoga Studios, beautiful restaurants, shopping centres, gym facilities and wine farms.

The cottage is fully equipped and beautifully decorated, i specially enjoyed the fact that i could have REAL coffee from the Espresso machine.

i would highly recommend this accomodation to anybody that is going to be visiting Cape Town. book now to avoid disappointment!

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephanoR...
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic base to explore Capetown and Cape Region”
Reviewed January 30, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 weeks in January and chose the cottage as a base to discover Capetown and the Cape region. The location in Constantia was perfect, as it offered a completely relaxed home base in a beautiful residential neighborhood with a small shopping center (Constantia Village) nearby to supply daily needs. The drive to capetown is about 25 minutes, with 2 optional routes – both of them offering amazing views (one of the coast, the other of the city). Also there are several wine estates just a few minutes away. To the south you can easily reach Hout Bay, Cape of Good Hope, and Kalk Bay, as well as the beaches of Muizenberg, Landudno or Clifton (in Capetown).
The cottage is located next to the main house. It has its own terrace/small garden, which we mostly used for breakfast and occasional sunbathing (there are 2 sunbeds). Emma’s lovely cottage was comfortable, clean, cozy and very well equipped. She was really welcoming and friendly and had thought of everything we could possibly need. She gave us lovely tips for Picnics, Food Markets, Shopping etc. which was very useful.
We can highly recommend staying with Emma!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2016
It was an absolute pleasure to have Stephan and Martina in our home: they were the perfect guests, very kind, trustful, tidy and interesting too. We would gladly have them stay anytime and wish them well for the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing