We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax in luxurious surroundings”
Review of Glen Avon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Avon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2010

We chose Glen Avon on the recommendation of friends who stayed there. We had a suite which was the most luxurious room we stayed in throughout our tour to Namibia and South Africa. Very comfortable bed and lots of room with high quality wooden finish and very small kitchenete. Doors to swimming pool area and grassy surroundings around the pool made this a great place to relax and all the equipment was top class - comfortable sun beds etc. Breakfast was very pleasant on the front veranda and very good quality. Location in middle of Constantia - easy to get around and smart area. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely place to stay - it was an old Cape Ditch house which has been sympathetically extended.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APJDMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 201 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2009

From the moment we arrived until, the sad time we, had to leave we, could not have been made more welcome. Our room was large and very thoughtfully furnished; the en-suite bathroom was to luxury standard with a wonderful walk-in shower. The equipment, towels,tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer were all top quality as was the room servicing, which took place whilst we enjoyed a comprehensive breakfast sat on the terrace overlooking the lawn and rose borders. On a couple of occasions we enjoyed Dinner and we were extremely impressed with the Cordon bleu cooking and excellent service. Ajoy to have found such a quality location which we highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2009

only one restaurant within walking distance if you don't want the evening dinner

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank sm17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

I would say pretty much everything about this hotel was resolutely average. Our room was pretty quiet, pretty large and pretty comfortable. It was a lot like an ordinary US motel, with its bland, clean and simple decor and small kitchenette - not at all like the Grand Country House it looks like in the pictures (which are of the main building, which is very small, and where the restaurant is).

Breakfast was okay, but the plates of fruit were meagre and bizarrely presented, and the hot food portions were small and unimpressive. We didn't eat dinner there.

I'm really not sure why all the other reviewers speak so glowingly of it. It was the least impressive or interesting hotel of our two-week stay in South Africa - it had nothing serious to complain of, but also absolutely nothing to recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonAlicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed at the lodge for a couple of days to see the surrounding area. Unfortunately we had a bit of cold and cloudy weather, which seems to be not uncommon for the wintertime in cape town. The rooms were however not equiped with a heating system ( many of the other places we stayed did, using the more expensive aircon with heating function) the rooms were therefore quite cold. The owners supplied however bed warmers in the form of furry animals. The room itself was nice and had everything. The bathroom was large and clean. The tv channels provided on the TV were minimal with only local channels available. The breakfast was not super. It seemed to us that they were trying to make cheap products look expensive by the way they were presented. The dinner we had in the lodge was also of average quality with the showing of the plates perfect, but the quality average. We ate a lot better in the restaurant near the entrance to strawberry lane and in the restaurant near the entrance of groot constantia. Both were also far cheaper compared to the prices asked at the lodge. So if you stay in the lodge try the restaurants nearby, you won't regret it.

The owners were very helpfull and in the morning came by to give you tips and directions to the local attractions. In all, we had a nice stay at the lodge. It wasn't however the five star lodge they seem to be rated and a bit expensive compared to other places we stayed. Next time I think I would try another place in constantia.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_K_trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WendyDrummond, Owner at Glen Avon Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2009

Thank you for kindly writing on Trip Advisor. However we feel some of your comment is unfair.

Our rooms are all fitted with state of the art air conditioners which heat the rooms to
30 degrees C when the heat function on the controller is selected. The air conditioners all have elements that take time to heat up. We would of gladly shown you how or addressed your needs if asked of known that you had a problem. The bed warmers, 'fury animals' as you referred to are novelty hot water bottles used to take the chill off the beds in winter.

The Guest House has 7 TV channels including International channels which can be changed to a guest's preference within reason.

The restaurants you visited were all pub style restaurants and not much emphasis is placed on the quality of food. Glen Avon serves a four course gourmet dinner which is an experience to be enjoyed for food lovers. We appreciate that it may not be everyone's style but do accommodate all palates wherever possible. We also offer 2 options for a main course which most other Guest Houses do not. The two restaurants you dined at are not star rated in the highly acclaimed 'Rossouw's Restaurant' guide 2009.

Our rates are certainly not expensive and we suggest that you compare our rates with other 5 star establishments in the area.

We trust your next visit to the Constantia Winelands will be more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

After a long flight from the Netherlands, we felt at home the minute we arrived.
The staff is very helpful and friendly, we really enjoyed our stay.
After a busy sightseeing day, we were glad to be back at Glen Avon Lodge, where we
stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

On a trip to Cape town we stayed for 2 nights at this wonderful guest house. The hosts were welcoming and very helpful and the food and wine was great. Our rooms and the bath in particular are worth a trip to Glen Avon on their own. It is a wonderful base for Cape Town and for the Cape peninsular, wine estates and Rustenberg gardens. The most attractive thing about this lodge was the peace it afforded after a day rampaging around the countryside. I highly recommend Gel Avon Lodge and the wonderful family who run it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smileyric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.1 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
439 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hout Bay Manor
Hout Bay Manor
#3 of 4 in Hout Bay
157 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#4 of 5 in Constantia
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
20.6 mi away
Vredenburg Manor House
Vredenburg Manor House
#7 of 81 in Somerset West
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Avon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Avon Lodge

Address: 1 Strawberry Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range: $158 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Avon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Avon has been officially upgraded by the TGCSA to 5 stars and has expanded to 16 superior luxury rooms and suites. Only minutes from major attractions like the Cape Town Waterfront, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Top Beaches and the Constantia Wine lands. Our en-suite bedrooms have all the luxury comforts including air-conditioning, private bar, internet access, modern marble bathrooms and swimming pool access. Hearty breakfasts and gourmet dinners are all part of the tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glen Avon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Avon Lodge Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing