We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Glen Avon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Glen Avon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Our stay at Glen Avon Lodge was everything we had hoped for and more. From the first glimpse of the beautiful garden with its wonderful Iceberg roses and the warm welcome, we knew this was the place for us.
The room was spacious and verty well appointed with a patio overlooking the gardens and swimming pool.
All our meals were delicious and plentiful and the staff were always friendly, polite and helpful and we enjoyed their sense of humour. We particularly enjoyed having breakfasts outside on the terrace and enjoyed pre-dinner drinks with complementary canapes.
Glen Avon Lodge is ideally situated to see all the sites in and around Cape Town.
We would recommend this lodge to everyone coming to Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 434susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
115
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Whilst the Glen Avon isn't perfect, it is certainly good enough for 5 stars. It does need less hassle over the internet access, and the pool although beautiful and solar heated, can be very cold in spring and needs just a little more attention to make it clear. Otherwise superb, great breakfast served on a sunny terrace over looking well maintained and beautiful grounds, so good in fact there was a bus trip in for breakfast, but don't let that put you off it didn't ruin the peaceful atmosphere, which is a tribute itself. Everything about the hotel and gardens is very well maintained and of great quality. We ate there one evening, but although the staff were lovely and the meal excellent it can be quiet in the dining room if the hotel isn't full. No matter a very short walk to a lively and very good Italian restaurant and bar with open air terrace (pedlars on the bend). Nothing much else in the immediate area, but good shops and other restaurants exactly a mile away.
A great place to relax after a day in Capetown.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JohnR888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Level 6 Contributor
706 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

There are only five stars available on Tripadvisor - would that there were more. This is an absolutely first class place to stay. We arrived early on a Sunday morning to be greeted by Liviston who carried our bags to our room. The room was lovely. We showered and returned to the dining room for coffee. This turned out to be breakfast - and very welcome it was. The staff (Liviston, Linton, Henford, Lauren and Emmanuel) were absolutely first class. They were friendly, efficient, courteous and couldn't have been more helpful. Dinners were outstanding - such great quality cooking in a relaxing atmosphere. This place is an absolute gem - you must go there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GerMar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WWGC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A really excellent choice for a stay in Cape Town. The location, rooms, service etc. were all of 5* quality. Your host, David, acts as a most useful tour guide and all the other staff are very friendly and helpful. Located well for Cape Town, the peninsular and further afield. If we go that way again will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a fabulous place. , had a great stay. All the management friendly and very obliging. The family really put themselves out. Lovely rooms and great. breakfasts and Dinners. Will look forward to returning. The house itself is beautifully appointed and in the dining room at night, itis proper silver service! Pricing is very reasonable both for the rooms and for dinner. Wines reasonably priced at less than £ 8 a bottle for great quality wine

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I just returned from three weeks in Africa, ending with an eight night stay here at Glen Avon. This place was recommended to us and we have no problems continuing that recommendation. Great place, great room, great staff and excellent food. We used their recommendation for a driver and were expertly driven all around Cape Town for the week. The lodge is about 10-15 minutes out of the city centre but is in one of the nicest areas of Cape Town. Also only 5 minutes away from some of the most wonderful vineyards!!! Would highly recommend staying there. I miss having a nice hot water bottle in my bed at night. Am too lazy to do this for myself but boy it sure was nice of the staff to do it for us! Pat & Jim Glionna

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre and we never used room service so can't say if they have it or not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia34467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

From the time we arrived until we departed we were well looked after by the Glen Avon staff. The food service is a fine dining experience but at a very reasonable price. The rooms are very well laid out with all the amenities needed. we would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chuck L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
187 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
416 reviews
6.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
189 reviews
6.3 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Avon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Avon Lodge

Property: Glen Avon Lodge
Address: 1 Strawberry Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Avon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Avon has been officially upgraded by the TGCSA to 5 stars and has expanded to 16 superior luxury rooms and suites. Only minutes from major attractions like the Cape Town Waterfront, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Top Beaches and the Constantia Wine lands. Our en-suite bedrooms have all the luxury comforts including air-conditioning, private bar, internet access, modern marble bathrooms and swimming pool access. Hearty breakfasts and gourmet dinners are all part of the tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Glen Avon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Avon Lodge Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing