We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!”
Review of Glen Avon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glen Avon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 38 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

I was about to book a hotel until I thought I would try a local guest house. What a surprise - this place was amazing. Centrally located to all of the attractions around the city. Staff where exceptionally friendly and they went out of their way to help out. The suite rooms are fantastic with a large bath and separate shower. Good beds with nice pillows. Everything was clean and fresh. The property is also well maintained with an stunning, peaceful garden. They also have an onsite pool and restaurant which has the most amazing meals in the evening. Parking is also free (plenty) and the internet was super fast. Overall a highly recommended place.

Room Tip: Choose a suite room that is near the pool ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTour1893821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
115
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

After spending our wedding night here 5 years ago, my husband surprised me with a one night sleep over at Glen Avon Lodge to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. On arrival we were warmly greeted by staff member on duty, our room was pre-heated, an info card indicated the weather forecast for the next day, little chocolates were placed on our bed. The rooms was homely & spacious and the bathroom was stunning. Breakfast was delicious and the atmosphere relaxed.
The only drawback was that the milk in our room was rancid. The owner should consider placing pre-packed containers of milk in the room and not decanting into a smaller container & placing in the refrigerator.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalan Africa T... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The Glen Avon is a nice guest house with spacious rooms, a beautiful garden with pool and a very nice traditional Cape Dutch main building. The big advantage of the guest house is its location. Its just a few hundred meters from the highway to Cape Town, right on the Constantia wine route and for those who like to do some self-catering also close to a shopping center. Really an ideal location to be quickly everywhere.
The only downside is that one hears the traffic when being in the garden or when the windows are open. With closed windows its absolutely quiet.
It is a nice place and offers also a microwave and coffee machine in the rooms. Ideal when not wanting to go anywhere for dinner.

Room Tip: Its nice to have a room with direct access to the garden. You just walk from the room to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohoYaChui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

At last, after many visits to Cape Town area, we have found the perfect place to stay. We received a wonderful welcome and were shown to the most elegant suite, which opened up to the pool, and looked across the lawn and beautiful rose garden. The bed was comfortable, the room large and the bathroom was spacious with a roomy shower, bath, twin wash basins and luxury toiletries. The accommodation was spotlessly clean and the staff were all very well trained, motivated, friendly and helpful. The bedrooms are in a Modern house and garden rooms and the old house which was built by slaves is used for the public areas, thus providing the best of both worlds.

We had dinner here on the first night, which was excellent, but the guest house is located close to so many superb restaurants, many of which are rated in the top 100 in South Africa, that you are not restricted to the guest house to eat. There is also a very popular up market bar/restaurant within easy walking distance.

There are some of the best vineyards in the country all within a short drive, plus Cape Town is easy to drive to either via the motorway or the scenic drive along the coast, making Glen Avon an ideal base visiting for Cape Town and the surrounding areas and attractions. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends and family. You can stay somewhere cheaper but this really is a case of getting what you pay for. You will not be disappointed and I would say that the actuality is better than the web site.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viewsforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed here last minute in February and have to say the service and attention shown, as well as the place itself, is top notch.

We turned up in Constantia having booked to stay somewhere else but as we checked out of that place 30 mins after we checked in as it was so bad so we drove into Constantia Mall to a travel agents trying to find somewhere else for that evening and the rest of our stay. They recommended we drive down to Glen Avon Lodge and we werent disappointed.

They were very understanding of our predicament (having had to pay for three nights accommodation elsewhere in a place we were in 30 mins!) so were obviously pushed for money, so they offered us a discount on the room, and upgraded us to the honeymoon suite as a gesture of goodwill, which we found very thoughtful and were immensely grateful.

Henk couldn't have been more accommodating with everything, making sure we enjoyed our time there, and the room itself was excellent, lots of space, very clean and just a lovely, quintessential, colonial style lodge.

The hotel is across the road from a traditional pub called Peddlers On The Bend which we couldn't rate highly enough. As we like to have a sociable few drinks in the evening when we are on holiday the location was excellent, literally a hundred yards from the hotel.

Breakfasts are excellent, they even booked our trips for us online so we had a discount and printed off our passes, which was much appreciated.

One point of note goes out to Henford who works there who was the sweetest, most helpful person I think we have ever come across on our travels around the world. Couldn't do enough for you and always had a smile on his face morning, noon and night.

All in all if anyone is looking for the perfect place to stay in Constantia for luxury, location and excellent customer service then I can't rate it highly enough, and would return if I was ever in Cape Town again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lxxx1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We spent 14 days at Glen Avon Lodge from the end of march to early April. It was a wonderful experience. Our suite meant we had room to spread and enjoy the luxurious appointments and toiletries. My husband's birthday was celebrated with chocolate and champagne! I cannot speak too highly of the service from all the staff at Glen Avon who made us so welcome and showed such an interest in our visit. The breakfasts are a leisurely delight and the dinners are a superb candlelight experience. We shall return!

Room Tip: Suites are great value if staying for a while
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WokingNasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, UK
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We have stayed at Glen Avon Lodge for many years and have always had marvellous service from David, Annette and Wendy and all of their very friendly and efficient staff. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and comfortable. The pool and gardens are a delight, and so peaceful. It is ideally located for trips into Capetown and the renowned local wineries. The breakfasts, served on the terrace, and the dinners are superb, and we look forward to our next visit.

Kate & Barry U.K.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - but our choice is a room facing the pool with direct access to the gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateLincoln_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
2.9 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.6 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Avon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Avon Lodge

Property: Glen Avon Lodge
Address: 1 Strawberry Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Avon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Avon has been officially upgraded by the TGCSA to 5 stars and has expanded to 16 superior luxury rooms and suites. Only minutes from major attractions like the Cape Town Waterfront, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Top Beaches and the Constantia Wine lands. Our en-suite bedrooms have all the luxury comforts including air-conditioning, private bar, internet access, modern marble bathrooms and swimming pool access. Hearty breakfasts and gourmet dinners are all part of the tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Glen Avon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Avon Lodge Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing