We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Glen Avon (Christmas 2011)”
Review of Glen Avon Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glen Avon Lodge
Ranked #3 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staying at Glen Avon (Christmas 2011)”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have just returned from a week there, and I can honestly say it was the perfect relaxing retreat in almost every way (wireless not that reliable). Staff, food, grounds, rooms, location, proximity of fabulous restaurants all five star!

Thank you to Wendy, Henk, Livison and the team for a glorious stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: go for the rooms with terraces overlooking the pool, it saves a walk in your swim gear if your shy a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sognall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    24
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
115
7
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford. UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Comfortable and spacious hotel within 20 minutes drive of central Cape Town. Knowledgeable staff who are more than willing to halp you plan your day. Good quality breakfasts and Linton is the ultimate professional.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

First trip to South Africa. very good directions from Cape Town airport to find this really comfortable small hotel who really looked after us and gave great advise as to where to go and how to get there. Rooms are large with comfortable beds. The dinners are exceptional

Room Tip: overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milngavie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Arrived to warm and friendly welcome. Accommodation very comfortable. Property and grounds well cared for. Were able to sit outside on the terrace and have breakfast. Had dinner in one night. Food was excellent so much so that we asked for the recipe for the twice baked cheese souffle. Also got the recipe for the bread that was served at breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guayaquil, Ecuador
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We had a nice stay at Glen Avon lodge, Constantia, South Africa. After a long journey it was convenient only to drive 20 min. from Cape Town Int. Airport. The location of the lodge makes it easy to enter Cape Town city center but also Cape The Good Hope is near by. A warm recommendation for the staff of the lodge. The waiters were very friendly and always ready to help. If you are looking for a good place to stay just outside Cape Town: Glen Avon lodge is the place-to-be!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

At the end of a remarkable vacation in South Africa we thought we had experienced already the best and the nicest of the country and its hospitality.
Our 3 days in Glen Avon Lodge were a highlight. Nice rooms, efficient service for an excursion to the townships and Robbeneiland, a heated swimming pool, good cooking and dear and concerned personel. We were glad that dinner at the hotel was excellent in a warm atmosphere that stimulated interesting discussions with other guests, surely preferable to dinner in one of the more middle of the road restaurants at the Waterfront.
The last day we were allowed to keep our room until 8.00 p.m., as our flight homeward was at 23.30.

Room Tip: We liked our room at the side of the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celle, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 3, 2011

With a sportive group of 21 prime-aged Germans we entered the Glen Avon
Lodge for 5 nights as our anckor pile in the turbulent Cape Town. From
here we startet our daily trips. We could sleep in luxurious, clean
bedrooms inside a best maintained park area. Unfortunately the pool was
only usable by real hardened persons due to low outside temperatures.
The dining room were presented every day with an exellent laid table,
having seats for the whole group in a row. The breakfast startet with a
fruity surprise and the attentive and very friendly waiter tried to
fulfill all expressed demands at any time. For the daily conclusion meeting we could sit by the fireside, tasting
the superb South African wine or other delicious drinks. In short: our
stay was unforgettable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Werner L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
2.0 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
184 reviews
2.9 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
6.6 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
642 reviews
0.7 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Avon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Avon Lodge

Property: Glen Avon Lodge
Address: 1 Strawberry Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Glen Avon Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glen Avon has been officially upgraded by the TGCSA to 5 stars and has expanded to 16 superior luxury rooms and suites. Only minutes from major attractions like the Cape Town Waterfront, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Gardens, Top Beaches and the Constantia Wine lands. Our en-suite bedrooms have all the luxury comforts including air-conditioning, private bar, internet access, modern marble bathrooms and swimming pool access. Hearty breakfasts and gourmet dinners are all part of the tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Glen Avon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Avon Lodge Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing