We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living on a movie set”
Review of Constantia Stables

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Constantia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Constantia Stables
Ranked #4 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Living on a movie set”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Director Rick and Choreographer Lola make you feel like you are living in a movie set. A quaint old stable converted into an inspiring set , complete with a full canopy tropical garden makes this peaceful setting a hidden gem. Breakfasts with a large fruit selection, eggs, bacon, omelettes, a large selection of cheeses leaves nothing to be desired. Lily's cottage has two bedrooms with a full kitchen and private garden. The pool is heated and a wonderful lounge area to relax. This is the place to meet legends from around the world, escaping the the pace for a wee while. Meet you at the bar at 6;45, all other guests will be there.

Room Tip: Lily's cottage has a full kitchen, private garden comfortable beds. Very quiet and safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelinmanwinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
53
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for our last two nights of our recent holiday and couldn't have been happier. The stables are a secluded oasis of calm and character hidden down a long drive. We had the hayloft which was a lovely room with the bathroom overlooking the gardens and pool. The owners couldn't have been warmer and more accommodating and breakfasts were delicious. Great location and near all the vineyards too. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I wouldn't hesitate staying here again, wonderful setting and rooms and Rick and Lola are the most amazing warm and genuine hosts. Everyone staying there had stayed before, this says it all! Stunning gardens,very homely and memorable for all the right reasons, it's very rare to find little gems like this, i can't recommend it enough :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simon_beck75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

PERFECTION !
Down along a narrow driveway, hidden amongst trees in beautiful gardens you will come upon The Stables--a magical place to stay.
Hosts Rick and Lola take such a personal interest in all their guests, nothing is too much trouble, and their welcome ticks all the boxes and beyond.
What a delightful good fun couple they are, we have only just met, but felt we had known them for years. Lola's magnificent breakfasts will be long remembered, and gatherings around Rick's bar in the evenings too ! We loved staying in their prettily converted hayloft,overlooking the mountains.Other rooms are scattered amongst the gardens, with your own private sitting area outside each one. This is a wonderful hideway, in a very tranquil setting--We'll hope to return one day. P&J.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a wonderful relaxing luxury guesthouse with immaculate rooms, beautiful gardens,wonderful staff and such friendly hospitality. The breakfasts are absolutely amazing .Lola and Rick are such wonderful hosts that you feel right at home and i will always treasure the memories of our splendid stay at Constantia Stables.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We returned to Rick and Lola's beautiful guest house after over 10 years (it was that memorable!) and were not disappointed. We felt thoroughly looked after from start to finish. As you approach you are surrounded by the stunning garden full of exotic flowers. The rooms are absolutely luxurious and yet homely. The food stunning (I recommend the smoked salmon and poached eggs!) and make sure you have a glass of wine with the owners who certainly know their stuff about the cape's finest attractions. An absolute must - can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The welcome from Rick and Lola is second to none. Our stay in Victoria's Cottage was like being in our own place. The comfort and style is so perfect.Lola's Breakfast sets you up for the day and nothing is too much trouble for Lola. Rick is the the ideal host and he can't do enough to make sure that your stay at The Stables is trouble free. We had our Hire Car waiting to pick us up at the Airport to take us directly to The Stables where all the paper work was signed.On the return journey a driver was organised to take us back to the airport.
Your days out are a pleasure, because the advice on routes and places to visit,are so well explained by both Rick and Lola.
We will always stay at The Stables when in Cape Town.

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
0.6 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
492 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 40 in Constantia
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia Stables

Property: Constantia Stables
Address: 8 Chantecler Lane | off Willow Rd, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantia Stables 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Constantia Stables Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing