We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Constantia Stables
Nearby Hotels
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$172
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Constantia Cottages(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$66
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dongola Guest House(Constantia)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
92
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troublethe main houseglorious gardenssecond homea small kitchen areacape townhidden gembeautiful linenhot breakfastcomplimentary drinksother guestsfresh fruitself caterwonderful personglass of wineevery eveningvery special place
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 94 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I think I have now stayed in every one of the luxurious, quirky, welcoming rooms and cottages at the Constantia Stables, from one night to almost 10 days over a period of 2 and a half years. The fact that this has become the only place I stay when on business or holiday in Cape Town says it all. Lola and Rick are the most attentive, caring hosts who go out of their way to ensure that you have privacy when you need it and company when you don't. The highlight of my visit is always the lovely breakfast spread and Lola's perfect salmon and scrambled eggs. An added bonus is the excellent but unobtrusive security (the security company is based next door!) so that you don't have to sleep behind razor wire and electric fencing, and feel completely safe and relaxed. I love the garden, with its surprises and greenery. It's difficult to find anything negative to say aside from the fact that reality intrudes and I have to leave at some point!

Room Tip: Every room has a personality, but my personal favourite is Victoria's Cottage, tucked away in green with a delightful stoep overlooking the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FionaJeanWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This guest house, conveniently tucked away in Chantecler Lane in the leafy tranquillity of Constantia is the perfect place to find winter sunshine and the best of South Frican hospitality.
Furnished in a nostagic colonial style ,this creatively converted stable block is only a short drive from Cape Town airport, Table Mountain, the world famous Waterfront Mall and an outstanding selection of bathing and surfing beaches. Encircled by outstanding restaurants, your escape from chilly European winters is guaranteed to be an enduring memory.Our hosts, Lola and Rick Bartlet
transported us to a life of an elegant relaxing Edwardian country house party.
This is "must visit" place for your next milestone visit to the Southern Hemishere.......
all sun and no jet lag !!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the delightful garden cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

From the moment we turned into the 'Anne of Green Gables' driveway of The Stables, I felt that I had found a long searched for hideaway. The Stables is a 'pause button' from the daily grind. A slice of old world Cape charm, from the accommodation at Lily's Cottage to the amazing garden and pragmatic efficiency of Lola and Rick.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have written about The Stables on a previous occasion (please refer to my review 3rd June 2010) but having just returned from our holiday which included another stay there I thought I share the following with fellow travelers:

Firstly, all I have written in my previous review still applies, our stay was as wonderful as always. However, my husband and I had been on a Paleo style diet since the beginning of the year and this meant that we had to plan our travel more careful then normal.

We e-mailed Rick & Lola (the owners) to let them know that we would need to make some adjustments to our breakfast and would not be able to partake in the wonderful yoghurts, cheeses, breads, croissants and other delicious things which are always on offer in the morning for breakfast.

When we arrived at The Stables we found that the extremely tempting biscuit jar which Lola puts in every room had been removed and replaced by a bowl of fresh fruit – very thoughtful.

The next morning at breakfast we were greeted by a table bending under the weight of bowls of the most amazing berries (delicious raspberries, blueberries, strawberries, cherries and more). Also, there was Pepino fruit every morning – delicious, it tastes a bit like a cross between a melon and a papaya - which we have not seen in the UK before.

Afterwards Lola prepared a low carb breakfast with a choice of omelettes, scrambled eggs with smoked salmon, eggs with bacon (the bacon is amazing, by the way) and many more tasty things. Avocado was always on the table too.

Every morning we would find something new, one morning we even had frozen berries – heaven.

Both Rick and Lola went out of their way to accommodate our needs and help us to eat healthy which was a really big help.

Upon returning to the UK we found that we had jointly lost 9 pounds – this simply would not have been possible without Lola’s help. Our personal trainer was very pleased with us.

Yet again an absolute joy to stay at The Stables, needless to say we will return.

Room Tip: All rooms at The Stables are beautiful - we have stayed in all of them over the years.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goggo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We will treasure the memories of the wonderful 4 days that we spent at The Stables in May 2012. Lola and Rick Bartlett are the most perfect hosts, warm, kind, knowledgable and very helpful. Happy Hour in the evenings, with Rick behind the bar and warm conversation around a fire in the hearth, should not be missed. Lola's breakfasts are to die for with so much variety to choose from.

The Stables are set in the most beautiful, peaceful and secluded gardens, it feels like you are deep in the countryside. We stayed in the Tree House Studio room which was luxurious and beautifully decorated and furnished, with very thoughtful touches such as a bowl of fruit and a jar of cookies. The views of Constantiaberg at sunset from the private deck are breathtaking.

All of our needs were catered for and more. We have never stayed at a B&B that comes anywhere near matching The Stables. We are already planning a return trip in 2014. We would unreservedly recommend The Stables and its generous hosts to anyone looking for a warm, comfortable and friendly base from which to explore Cape Town and the beautiful Cape Peninsula.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews