We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Constantia Stables
Nearby Hotels
Steenberg Hotel(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$172
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$260
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence(Constantia)(Great Value!)
$125
$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tudor Hotel(Cape Town Central)
$56
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$161
$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vineyard Hotel(Newlands)
$178
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands(Newlands)(Great Value!)
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
92
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
92
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnothing is too much troublethe main houseglorious gardenssecond homea small kitchen areacape townhidden gembeautiful linenhot breakfastcomplimentary drinksother guestsfresh fruitself caterwonderful personglass of wineevery eveningvery special place
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 94 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We will treasure the memories of the wonderful 4 days that we spent at The Stables in May 2012. Lola and Rick Bartlett are the most perfect hosts, warm, kind, knowledgable and very helpful. Happy Hour in the evenings, with Rick behind the bar and warm conversation around a fire in the hearth, should not be missed. Lola's breakfasts are to die for with so much variety to choose from.

The Stables are set in the most beautiful, peaceful and secluded gardens, it feels like you are deep in the countryside. We stayed in the Tree House Studio room which was luxurious and beautifully decorated and furnished, with very thoughtful touches such as a bowl of fruit and a jar of cookies. The views of Constantiaberg at sunset from the private deck are breathtaking.

All of our needs were catered for and more. We have never stayed at a B&B that comes anywhere near matching The Stables. We are already planning a return trip in 2014. We would unreservedly recommend The Stables and its generous hosts to anyone looking for a warm, comfortable and friendly base from which to explore Cape Town and the beautiful Cape Peninsula.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We can't speak highly enough of The Stables, it was a total find. After a hectic week seeing friends in Capetown, Rick and Lola provided us with fantastic hospitality and after 3 nights we felt totally revived. The breakfasts were out of this world and we particularly loved all the different types of fruits on offer. The rooms are spotless and beautifully decorated -The Stables has such a homely feel we'll definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henrietta046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I had the repeat pleasure of staying once again in September & October 2011 at The Stables in Constantia which is superbly run for guests' pleasure by Lola & Rick Bartlett. All the rooms are en suite and away from the main reception in manicured gardens with a small heated swimming pool.
Bedrooms have TV and Wifi; a small kitchenette and fridge and microwave.
Lola serves a six course breakfast with mutiple choices of everything. Rick runs a complimentary Happy Hour where you have the opportunity to meet and share the experiences of your wonderful holiday with other guests.
It is a truly memorable experience to the stay at the Stables and is highly recommended

Room Tip: They are ALL excellent
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthonypattison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We spent the first 4 nights of our 3-week South African holiday with Lola and Rick, and we really couldn't have asked for a better introduction to the country.

We opted for the pretty Constantia area rather than staying in CT itself and this was a wonderfully relaxing decision - Constantia Stables is buried in trees and shrubs and could be miles away from anywhere, but actually you're just 2 short streets away from the main road through Constantia. The situation is simply beautiful.

We'd happily endorse all the positive comments made in recent reviews - Rick and Lola are lovely people and manage to strike that rare balance between running a highly efficient B&B operation while making you feel entirely welcome, relaxed and under no pressure to behave any differently than you would at home. Rick is a mine of useful information about the Western Cape (which is accurate, since we followed a lot of it!) and he's also travelled widely elsewhere in SA and other African countries.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drmarkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

If you want the real Cape experience - stay here. The owners, Rick and Lola are the salt of the earth type of folks who cannot do enough to make your stay memorable. Happy hour with Rick's fine Cape wines is not to be missed. The gardens and rooms are fabulous and the whole place screams relax at the weary traveller. Would we go back ? Only a question of when.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjbassett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews