We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, wow and wow again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We have just returned from two nights in this hotel. Our room was stunning, huge with a proper lounge area with 2 sofas and an easy chair and with a giant TV. Absolutely everything you might want, drinks, tea (with fresh milk in the fridge), fresh fruit Huge comfortable bed and a lovely bathroom. Fresh flowers everywhere and bathrobes and slippers provided.
The whole hotel is pure luxury and the gardens are delightful. The staff are superb and nothing is too much trouble. Neville, the hotel driver, collected us from Cape Town and is available to take you to your dinner venue and collect you afterwards.
The food was excellent also. We had sandwiches for lunch when we arrived and we had dinner in the hotel that night which was delicious. Afternoon tea with cake is included at 4pm and pre dinner drinks at 7pm. My only regret is that we could only stay 2 nights!

Room Tip: I do not think their would be a bad room in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heather s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 202 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

The title says it all... Stunning stunning stunning and more stunning! Exquisite garden and beautiful room. Honeymoon started off here and really was beyond excellent! The staff are very welcoming and so pleasant! Just devine! Loved it!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank L-So-Sav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I don't want to say too much about this hidden gem for fear of not getting a room when we return and we will be for sure! In short, a wonderful, oasis of a place to stay, and it should be kept a quiet secret! My husband and two boys aged 9 and 6 went for a 2 week holiday to Capetown over the christmas period and stayed at the Last Word for 6 nights in total, splitting it at the beginning and the end of our holiday. We had read the reviews and in fairness expected quite a treat and we were not disappointed. The guest house set up was not an arrangement we were familiar with coming from the UK as we have either B & B or a hotel accommodation. Certainly nothing that compared with the incredible bedroom suites, wonderful friendly staff where nothing was too much trouble, an exceptional position in Constantia set amongst stunning gardens, it felt like we were the only people staying while all bedrooms were full! My children fell in love with the warmth and complete genuineness of the staff which resulted in a teary goodbye. For any readers with family who may overlook The Last Word because it may come across as 'a little too adult' dont be put off as whilst it is an incredibly relaxing environment our two boys revelled in the attention they received from ALL the staff from top to bottom. I cannot recommend this guesthouse high enough...it's sophisticated, smart, special, and I cannot wait to go back with my family! Felt like we have made some good friends and cant wait to get back...

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Our flight from London arrived very early but we were invited for breakfast and our room was available so we were settled in by 9.30. Try that in your average hotel, all at no extra cost.
We stayed three days at the beginning of our trip and four at the end, with a very late checkout.
Two superb rooms, the second with a small pool of its own.
The staff were, without exception, exceptional.
Beautiful setting with a good pub next door when we had had too much fine dining.
Didn't want to leave.
Bookings arranged at all the best restaurants and transport to and from.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ancientskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had only one night here unfortunately. This small hotel is quiet and tasteful, set in beautiful gardens. The room was large and very nicely decorated, with a big bathroom. Lovely bath and shower, lots of hot water. The area is safe, quiet and peaceful.breakfast was excellent, served in a glassed area overlooking the gardens. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant a very short walk away. A good choice in Capetown , close to a lot of attractions and not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for 6 nights with friends and wanted to stay forever! every member of staff we met was truly above-and-beyond the normal hotel employee you meet. nothing was too much trouble. Nicki the general manager, Tessa and Sam the onsite managers, Beauty the waitress and Neville the driver - we miss them all so much. from the moment you get beyond the high metal gated entrance you find yourself in a different world - a world of tranquility, beauty and serenity. everyone is so unbelievably welcoming that you really do feel like youre part of the family. you get to know all the other guests by seeing them at breakfast or for high tea - both these occasions are a must to experience. and then there was Alan Ford a famous TV presenter from joburg and originally from the lebanon. you will probably meet him as he seems to spend a lot of time chilling here and is really a member of the "family" - a thoroughly great chap. and finally our suite with a plunge pool which was a haven within a haven. we want to live here!!! do yourself a great favour and if in the area do not stay anywhere else as this is a place you will always remember with fondness. we want to give it 10 stars.

Room Tip: you must stay in suites 1 or 2 with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The venue and ambiance of the place is beautiful, I'm sure the rooms are just as divine along with the tasteful décor of the hotel. There are however a number of issues which I had about the service and assortment of food for the high tea. Even though it was relatively quiet, (16 people in total ) the selection of the food was disappointing... Nothing with chocolate, only one cheesecake and half a carrot cake with a few savoury items such as spring rolls and cucumber sandwiches. The high tea was suppose to start at 11:30am, the food only appeared at 11:50 and our drinks order was only taken at 12. The receptionist at the desk was the same lady who was supposed to be filling up our cups and taking away our plates. She only came to our table twice at most. A few of my friends had to leave early, and as we were settling the payment at the desk, the buffet was immediately taken away. I most certainly was not done, I still had half an hour left to eat more cake which I was paying for. In general, the Last Word needs to work on their service and food selection as they have the perfect setting for a relaxing afternoon high tea.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
512 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#3 of 5 in Constantia
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
224 reviews
6.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
682 reviews
4.8 mi away
Tintswalo Atlantic
Tintswalo Atlantic
#1 of 4 in Hout Bay
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range: $315 - $794 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing