We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and elegant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Peaceful and elegant”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

We had only one night here unfortunately. This small hotel is quiet and tasteful, set in beautiful gardens. The room was large and very nicely decorated, with a big bathroom. Lovely bath and shower, lots of hot water. The area is safe, quiet and peaceful.breakfast was excellent, served in a glassed area overlooking the gardens. We had dinner in the Italian restaurant a very short walk away. A good choice in Capetown , close to a lot of attractions and not too far from the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank llewellynroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
119
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kyrenia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for 6 nights with friends and wanted to stay forever! every member of staff we met was truly above-and-beyond the normal hotel employee you meet. nothing was too much trouble. Nicki the general manager, Tessa and Sam the onsite managers, Beauty the waitress and Neville the driver - we miss them all so much. from the moment you get beyond the high metal gated entrance you find yourself in a different world - a world of tranquility, beauty and serenity. everyone is so unbelievably welcoming that you really do feel like youre part of the family. you get to know all the other guests by seeing them at breakfast or for high tea - both these occasions are a must to experience. and then there was Alan Ford a famous TV presenter from joburg and originally from the lebanon. you will probably meet him as he seems to spend a lot of time chilling here and is really a member of the "family" - a thoroughly great chap. and finally our suite with a plunge pool which was a haven within a haven. we want to live here!!! do yourself a great favour and if in the area do not stay anywhere else as this is a place you will always remember with fondness. we want to give it 10 stars.

Room Tip: you must stay in suites 1 or 2 with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The venue and ambiance of the place is beautiful, I'm sure the rooms are just as divine along with the tasteful décor of the hotel. There are however a number of issues which I had about the service and assortment of food for the high tea. Even though it was relatively quiet, (16 people in total ) the selection of the food was disappointing... Nothing with chocolate, only one cheesecake and half a carrot cake with a few savoury items such as spring rolls and cucumber sandwiches. The high tea was suppose to start at 11:30am, the food only appeared at 11:50 and our drinks order was only taken at 12. The receptionist at the desk was the same lady who was supposed to be filling up our cups and taking away our plates. She only came to our table twice at most. A few of my friends had to leave early, and as we were settling the payment at the desk, the buffet was immediately taken away. I most certainly was not done, I still had half an hour left to eat more cake which I was paying for. In general, the Last Word needs to work on their service and food selection as they have the perfect setting for a relaxing afternoon high tea.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent two amazing nights. Tessa and her team went out of their way to provide a chacuterie platter and champagne for us to celebrate my birthday! The rooms are truly beautiful and spacious, but make sure you take the time to ensure a glass of vino outside in the well kept gardens.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimle_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catalkoy, Turkish Cyprus
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our fourth visit. This has to be the most relaxing hotel in the area. Approaching the sliding door that enters the car park on Spaanchemat Road you could be forgiven for thinking "what am I coming to". The answer is "an oasis". The rooms are spacious and spotless. The gardens are fabulous, bursting with colour. It is so convenient to shops, attractions, great restaurants (and a pub!), the airport and V&A......only 15 minutes to the Airport on a Sunday afternoon. The number of nights we stay is increasing....this time 5....it was lovely. Tessa, Sam, Beauty and the rest of the team make you so welcome and will do anything to make you feel special. No need to look further when choosing a real boutique hotel which feels like a very plush home! Looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: 1,2 and 3 have their own small pools and are in the garden...30 seconds from the lounge. Other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyprusmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in September and loved this hotel. We arrived straight from the airport several hours ahead of the check in time but our room was ready. We were greeted by Tessa who offered breakfast whilst she spent time telling us about places to visit and offered to book whatever we wanted. Her recommendations were all excellent and she couldn't have been more helpful. The hotel is very small and the service is very personal and every single member of the staff was very friendly and attentive. The suite we had was huge and overlooked its own plunge pool, which must be a super place to be in summer. The room was very comfortable with underfloor heating and the bathroom was very large and modern. The free wine in the fridge was very welcome! The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but there is a super Italian restaurant right next door that we visited on 2 nights. The hotel is in a beautiful area and about 20 minutes from the centre of Cape Town. It is perfect as a base for touring and is near the Constantia wine estates and the famous Kirstenbosch botanical gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking its own pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidisobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Marketing at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
Thank you for the lovely review of our home.

The restaurant next door is in fact our official restaurant, Peddlars & Co which is now four restaurants under one roof: Volare - Fine Food, Graciales social sharing (Spanish tapas), The Local (fresh pub fair) and The Oak Terrace (al fresco dining).

We look forward to your stay with us again.

Kind regards
The Last Word Constantia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was our first stay at the Last Word Constantia (we have stayed at Bishops Court and The Long Beach 5 years ago) and the start of our trip to SA in September 2013 to celebrate our 30th anniversary. We couldn't have picked a better place to enjoy the Winelands and Cape Town. The team here are brilliant under the guidance of Tessa and Sam who are 2 of the best caring hotel managers we have met. It was lovely to have 'sundowner' drinks before going out for dinner each night and their recommendations for restaurants and things to do in the area was terrific. Our room was stunning, I have never seen such a beautiful bathroom and also to have a little sitting out area outside was lovely too. Turndown service was a real treat as well with a little dessert 'gift' left for you every night. A lovely peaceful place and well situated for travelling around. We really look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSWUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan W, Marketing at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, June 20, 2016
And we look forward to seeing you again in our hotel.

Thank you for the great feedback. We certainly take great pride in our staff, rooms and bathrooms in Constantia.

Until next time
The Last Word Constantia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
467 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 5 in Constantia
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
203 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Property: The Last Word Constantia
Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing