We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect beginning to our 30th anniversary holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The perfect beginning to our 30th anniversary holiday”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

After a very long journey from New York to Cape Town - we were driven to the Last Word - and it was a gem to behold. It was our 30th wedding anniversary day. As tired as we were we walked into the most beautiful and luxurious suite. The hotel staff took very good care of us and always had the best recommendations for hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the great review and for trusting us to look after you for such a special anniversary. We're so happy you enjoyed yourselves and we hope to host you again soon for the next special occasion.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    12
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
126
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Shaw, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2012

A perfect ending to our holiday in the Western Cape, from arrival to departure we received excellent service from every member of the staff.To our delight we were given an upgrade to a luxurious pool suite which was a wonderful surprise. The main pool area and garden provided a tranquil and beautiful place in which to unwind. We ate a delicious dinner there on our first night and enjoyed equally delicious breakfasts each morning. Within easy reach of Cape Town and it's attractions The Last Word has everything you could wish for and more! We would love to be able to reurn one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajjar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thanks so much for your wonderful review and we are extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and managed to relax and unwind. We hope to welcome you back soon.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Myself and my new wife stayed at the Last Word, Constantia for a couple of nights immediately after our wedding. We had friends and family from overseas staying with us and the 2 night break at The Last Word saved us. :) Luxurious, tranquil and friendly staff with top class service and all the small details covered, we could relax and take some much needed time out to ourselves. Our room was stunning, food was amazing and you feel like you're in the middle of no-where. Lovely.

We loved it and would highly recommend! We're looking forward to returning for another much needed break.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thanks so much for the compliments and we were so glad to be a part of the start of you and your wife's new life together. It's always an honour to be a part of these special occasions. We look forward to having you back for many anniversaries to come.
The Last Word family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunellen, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

You will find absolute peace and quiet in the hands and care of super qualified Staff members. A short drive to the activity of Cape Town, The Last Word at Constantia delivers on all fronts and exceeds expectations every second of your stay. Spectacular location with several great wineries and dining in close proximity. The breakfast on offer will satisfy your hunger and cravings, while sitting in the breakfast room with doors opened to the garden and the birds. It is a blissful start to every morning. You have a plethora of choices on how to spend your day, or stay close and enjoy the pool, the quiet, the comfort and the very knowledgeable Staff or solitude. The joy is in the choices available and the perfection in accommodating your every request. Breakfast, wonderful wInes and other beverages are included in the cost. You will be transported to the place you are seeking during your stay here.

Room Tip: Request one of the rooms with a private pool. Each room is a joy. The garden is available to all g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EyeShine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
What a great review, thank you so much! We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed the The Last Word concept of Intimate Hotels and thank you for allowing us to look after you.
Looking forward to having you back in the near future.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I knew when Sam met us at the door and welcomed us to the lounge that our stay was going to be amazing . . . And it was! The Constantia is located in a beautiful part of Cape Town, secluded, with a beautiful garden. The rooms are beautiful and the service impeccable. Just lovely!! I hope to return some day!!!! Also dinner at Peddlars On The Bend was delicious! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed the sanctuary that is The Last Word Constantia and we can't wait to have you back.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Would totally recommend this hotel. Everything about it was luxurious. All the staff very warm and service was excellent. Breakfast was to die for.we would return here if we ever go to Cape town again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenBinns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. Looking forward to having you back in Cape Town soon, we'll have the breakfast ready!
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Where to begin? We have previously stayed at the Bishops Court and our stay there was first class. However, our stay at the Constantia was even better. The rooms were the best we have stayed in including hotels in the centre of London. The breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty of choice. We also had two evening meals at the hotel and they too were first class. The staff were very efficient and anxious to do everything to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble to them. We look forward to staying here again. Our philosophy is, that a holiday is not worth taking unless the accommodation is better than at home. This surpassed everything

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourGovenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We love it when our guests stay at more than one of our Intimate Hotels as this gives them the chance to see even more of Cape Town as real Capetonians see it. So glad to hear we could be your home away from home.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
493 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
209 reviews
6.2 mi away
South Beach Camps Bay
South Beach Camps Bay
#2 of 12 in Camps Bay
311 reviews
6.5 mi away
POD Camps Bay
POD Camps Bay
#1 of 12 in Camps Bay
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Property: The Last Word Constantia
Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing