We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second to None” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Last Word Constantia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Last Word Constantia
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Constantia
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Second to None”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Where to begin? We have previously stayed at the Bishops Court and our stay there was first class. However, our stay at the Constantia was even better. The rooms were the best we have stayed in including hotels in the centre of London. The breakfasts were excellent and there was plenty of choice. We also had two evening meals at the hotel and they too were first class. The staff were very efficient and anxious to do everything to make our stay pleasant and enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble to them. We look forward to staying here again. Our philosophy is, that a holiday is not worth taking unless the accommodation is better than at home. This surpassed everything

Room Tip: All rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TourGovenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLWsa, Manager at The Last Word Constantia, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks so much for your review. We love it when our guests stay at more than one of our Intimate Hotels as this gives them the chance to see even more of Cape Town as real Capetonians see it. So glad to hear we could be your home away from home.
The Last Word team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    11
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
25
116
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
moraira
Level Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Lovely place too stay, comfortable clean, charming staff. Lovely pool and gardens. Our room was airy and bright and in excellent condition. Breakfast was fab

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barnyardMoraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a wonderful place. Our room near the pool was luxurious with a seating area. The staff was attentive without being intrusive. The breakfast was delicious and the ladies in the dining room were so warm and friendly. This is definitely a place to return to. We loved it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shg1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012 via mobile

We had already stayed in the LW Franchshoek and were loathe to leave it because it was so perfect. We have to report just as lovely experience in Constantia. For gardeners the garden is gorgeous and I wish I could recreate it at home. The wonderful Neville drove us everywhere we wanted it go. As it was autumn our private pool was rather shady and therefore rather under used, but the main pool was very pleasant. Again the staff were wonderful and helpful. Tessa and Shanee made us so at home. We would definitely go back

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Fonzie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at the last word constantia over christmas and were treated like celebs! Even the tiniest detail was remembered. We normally try a new place each year, but I think we will be breaking tradition and returning here.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Our Jubilee Book Club were so excited about having High Tea at the Last Word, Constantia.
What a disappointment! Seated in the hot and glarey conservatory, bowl of wilted roses on the table and NOTHING else! No one approached us about the way it works. After half an hour we realised it was self service and went up to the buffet. Tea: teabag in a cup. No bowl to put the used tea bag in. Coffee: was on the way. Food was good but nothing outstanding. No chocolate!
At a venue like this, highly recommended, I expected the table to laid for tea, a pot of tea, jug of mik and waitress service.

The gardens are beautiful and well maintained, but I won't be recomending the venue or going there again!

Anne, Noordhoek.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rondebosch
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

My husband & I treated ourselves for our anniversary to the most decadent weekend away at this amazing hotel. We knew from the website that they offered fabulous service but we had no idea how wonderful this would be until we arrived. From the warm welcome to the marvelous suite, there was nothing we could want for, it was all taken care of. We ate in the hotel which was more delicious than any meal we've tasted before and we've traveled a great deal. Although we live just 10 minutes away these two nights felt like we'd been away for a month. The turn down service at the end of the day is such a treat too. I can't wait to try one of the other hotels in this chain for our next celebration.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyDaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Constantia
3.0 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 6 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#5 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Last Word Long Beach
The Last Word Long Beach
#1 of 1 in Kommetjie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Twelve Apostles Hotel and Spa
0.8 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Last Word Constantia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Word Constantia

Property: The Last Word Constantia
Address: Spanschemat River Road, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Constantia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Last Word Constantia 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the Cape’s oldest and most beautiful wine valley, The Last Word Constantia is close to seven of South Africa’s top wine estates and many internationally celebrated restaurants. Great attention is paid to peace and tranquility. An inviting sunken swimming pool and tanning deck is the focal point of the magnificently manicured garden with rolling lawns, vibrant colours and exquisite mountain views. The lounges, dining area and sun patios all open onto the garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Last Word Constantia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Constantia
The Last Word Constantia Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing