We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the start of 2012 at White Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Constantia White Lodge
Ranked #9 of 38 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“the start of 2012 at White Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Starting with our first mail contact we felt very welcome and received our first - very excellent - restaurant, golf and travel recommendations.
Upon arrival we were warmly received and taken care of (with special advise and treatment for our sick friend).
We do come again, White Lodge is an excellent starting point to discover the cape and wineland area; no need to book a hotel in cape town.

Room Tip: find out by email
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Friedhelm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    31
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
28
61
10
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

This was the most lovely place to start a visit to SA... a return to once familar surroundings for one of us, a whole new experience for the other. The beauty of the situation (that mountain!), the comfort of the rooms, the pool and garden, and, most of all, the kind and thoughtful hosts and their wonderful staff - everything combined to make for a very happy stay and we were genuinely sad to leave. Couldn't recommend this place too highly.

Room Tip: First floor end room with view direct on to the mountain - perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

I arrived alone in Cape Town in late July 2011 to start a new job, and was very anxious about anything and everything. I was very warmly received by my host, Jack Taylor, at the airport who, on the way to the lodge, made me feel less anxious by giving me a brief background of his life in SA and the many beauties Cape Town has to offer. At the lodge, Rachel Taylor welcomed me personally, while her staff had already prepared my cosy room.

I soon became accustomed to the personal attention of my hosts and their staff, who went out of their way to ensure I had a scrumptious breakfast daily and a comfortable room to sleep in every night.This was most welcome, since I had to stay at the lodge for at least two months before I found my own accommodation, and it helped to greatly reduce my stress levels as I settled into this new city, my new job and a new life.

I would definitely recommend the White Lodge to anyone wishing to stay in Cape Town, on a a short or long term basis, for business or fun, with family or alone. Truly a great experience!

Room Tip: I preferred a room upstairs as it was quieter. For long periods of stay, I suggest choosing a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
225 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012 via mobile

Situated in the heart of the Constantia Valley and close to all of the tourist hot spots in Cape Town, this guest lodge is ideal for both business and leisure traveller.
The rooms are spacious and well appointed and the surroundings idyllic.
The charming hosts, Jack and Rachel Taylor, will ensure that your every need is attended to.
Highly recommended

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank JohanMoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

We arrived in February and were greeted by Jack, Rachel and the staff and immediately felt at home and relaxed. All of the staff including Jack and Rachel are always prepared to do anything to ensure that your break with them is the best ( and they achieve this)
The room we were in was lovely and the views were superb, the position is great to be able to get to anywhere with ease.
We will definitely book again and again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynne c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Level Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

Rachel and Jack Taylor who run the White Lodge Guest House, are more than proprietors of a business. I travel all over the world and have stayed in hundreds of hotels and guest houses, and I have never felt more welcomed adn cared for as I did here. I arrived late and was met at the airport by a driver arranged from the Guest House who also had keys to get me on to the property and into my room. My first impression was of a relaxing, well organized, calm place to stay adn my room was perfect. Nicely decorated, comfortable bed, lovely linens, excellent bathroom with all necessarry toiletries and a wonderful hot, powerful shower. A good desk to work at and free wi-fi. Kettle and tea/coffee making equipment. TV, of course, though I don't watch.

Breakfast was a feast which I couldn't possibly have sampled comprehensively - there is simply too much, but I loved the fruit salad and yoghurt, and wholemeal toast.

Nothing I asked of Rachel and Jack was too much trouble. Arranging a car, information and advice about where to go, a request for packing materials. They completely trust their guests and staff who are all lovely and just as helpful. The overall atmosphere is one of a happy, calm home from home.

COnstantia is about 20 minutes from Cape Town (depending on time of day - perhaps 45 minutes at rush hour), but it's a peaceful place to go to after a day in the city. There is good shopping nearby, adn wonderful countryside adn all the amenities one could wish for within easy reach.


I woulod definitely come here again, and would advise you to go there too.

Room Tip: I was told at the end of my stay that my room was considered not one of the best. I was perfectly ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMTMRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paddock wood, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We arrived at White Lodge and were welcomed as old friends. The rooms are spacious, light and extremely confortable. The breakfasts are wonderful but best of all, the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much for them, to enable that you are enjoying your stay.
Rachel and Caleb are always available to advise and book anything that you wish and the rest of the staff just want to help you at all times.
We have already booked for next year so I think that sums up how comfortable and happy we were whilst we were there.
It was just home from home

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
3.7 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Summit Place Guesthouse
Summit Place Guesthouse
#2 of 38 in Constantia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
2.0 mi away
Ikhaya Safari Lodge
Ikhaya Safari Lodge
#10 of 38 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.4 mi away
Southern Light Country House
Southern Light Country House
#11 of 38 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Constantia White Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Constantia White Lodge

Property: Constantia White Lodge
Address: 28 Evergreen Lane, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Constantia White Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms are luxury en-suite king or twin bedded with wireless internet access, satellite TV, direct dial telephone and tea/coffee tray and outside seating area. We are located just five minutes away from Constantia Mall where you will find an abundance of stylish restaurants, cafe bars, shops and boutiques and surrounded by majestic scenery, magnificent wine estates, first class golf courses and world renown restaurants. We are approximately 20 minutes from Cape Town International airport, 10 minutes to the nearest beach and only 15 minutes from Cape Town city centre and Victoria Waterfront. We also offer airport transfers, car hire, taxi services and would be delighted to arrange tours on your behalf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Constantia White Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constantia White Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing