We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Summit Place Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 40 Constantia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly & comfortable”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Summit Place in Constantia is a friendly and comfortable place to stay with great service and beautiful surroundings. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others looking for a place to stay in Cape town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FionaFurniss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilLMaun_Botswana, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Fiona. We appreciate your kind words. Thank you for staying with us and please do come and stay again!! Neil, Wendy, Tendi and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    52
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
68
87
20
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014

The friendly relaxed atmosphere, yet professional service, makes this a top home away from home! Thanks Louisa, Neil and Wendy for such a warm welcome and great company, in the tranquility of Constantia! Hope to see you guys soon!

Room Tip: Rooms are all different and there is a perfect room for every need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilLMaun_Botswana, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Phillip. Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed having you to stay. Please come again when you are next in Kaap Stad. Neil, Wendy Tendi Lou and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

With a welcome that featured chilled towels and a cool beer, we knew from the start that this was going to be a fab place to stay - and we were not wrong! The suburban location is quiet and restful - though only a 20-minute drive to the centre of Cape Town. Our rooms were clean, comfortable and spacious with lovely towels, robes and soaps etc. The breakfast room overlooking the pool with spectacular views of the Table Mountain park was the perfect way to start each day and the breakfast itself was tasty and filling. There is plenty of information available about local attractions and places to visit, and the staff were always happy to help with phone calls etc. The manager Luisa is a real character with a long history in the hospitality industry and nothing was too much trouble. There are numerous places nearby offering a great variety of very high quality food and drink options at exceptionally affordable prices, along with a modern shopping mall. Overall, Summit is an ideal base for a holiday where the main focus is upon Cape Town and the many attractions of the Western Cape.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are just away from the pool area and could offer a bit more peace and quiet in bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryD14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilLMaun_Botswana, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We are very pleased to hear you had a great stay with us here at Summit Place. Please come again. Neil Lou, Tendi, Wendy and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Thank you does not begin to express my gratitude to Louisa and Tembi! At a rather horrid time in my life, you have welcomed me with the warmest of hospitality, outstanding service and friendly staff. You have gone above and beyond and would strongly urge all visitors to our lovely city to visit Summit Place, even us locals looking for somewhere special to lay our heads :) Thank you again and again. I look forward to seeing you repeatedly as my new favorite home from home

Room Tip: I had the previliage of staying in 3 different rooms, I highly recommend any. I was most comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAnne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Lesley.
Thank you for our kind review. We are glad you enjoyed our different rooms and that we were able to assist you in a time of adversity. Take care. Tendi,Lou, Neil, Wendy and the Summiteers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had a great stay in Constantia a couple of weeks ago ... we're a family of four and were very personally taken care of by Louisa, Thendi, and of course, Jackson ... our two little girls felt very spoilt with the croissants! If I HAD to find something to say that wasn't as great, it would be the beds ... a bit too soft for our liking, but hey, everything else was brilliant!! Thanks guys :-) Fi, Adam, Jess and Jem.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NeilLMaun_Botswana, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Fi and Adam. It was really good having you to stay over at Summit Place. Please come again. Take Care Lou, Tendi, Jackson, Neil and Wendy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed probably in the smallest room of the Lodge( and therefore the cheapest), so I cannot speak for all the rooms of the place, but only for ours.
So our room was really SMALL even if the wardrobe was Very big.
But the thing which was really SMALL was the bed... It was a queen, and We slept in many queen beds all around the World, but this was the SMALLEST WE HAVE EVER SLEPT IN!
And We are not so tall!!! But our feet were outside the bed!!!
And there was another thing really annoying: in the Morning We were awaken by the light came into the room because the curtains were not thick enough to PREVENT the light come in the room.
We told Them about this fact and they told us they would have done something,but everything remained the same.
In any case, the location and the breakfast were good.
But what Made the difference was the kindness of Louisa. She has been so nice with us... I really want to Thanks her.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Anna.
Thank you for your review and your kind words about Lou. We concur she works hard to take good care of our guests! As you know we have communicated with you directly on the email regarding your comments and we have taken action. The bed was/is advertised as a double bed in that room and it was a double bed you slept on, not a queen. It is a pity you didn't tell us about the bed when you were here, we had a queen bed in our store room. The room has a queen bed fitted now. It means there is a little less space in the room but our guests sleep better! We also fitted blinds for the early morning sun. While no one expressed your concerns before, in summer it does get light early and those who want darkness to sleep in can get it.
We understood you would like to come back again which is great. We look forward to seeing you next time. Ciao. Neil, Tendi, Wendy, Lou and the Summiteers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2014

A real gem. Fantastic view, food, service, staff and facilities. The manager and owner, Neil, went out of his way to accommodate our group, personally supervising the meals and making sure all our needs we're taken care of. Real down to earth hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 729David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SummitPlace, Owner at Summit Place Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Lesley. Thank you for your kind review. We were glad you enjoyed all the different rooms you stayed in. thank you for being flexible too! We were also glad to be of assistance at a time of temporary adversity in your life. Take Care. Lou, Tendi,Neil Wendy and the Summiteers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Constantia hotels
2.5 mi away
Steenberg Hotel
Steenberg Hotel
#2 of 5 in Constantia
493 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Cellars-Hohenort
The Cellars-Hohenort
#4 of 5 in Constantia
412 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Last Word Constantia
The Last Word Constantia
#3 of 5 in Constantia
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#5 of 5 in Constantia
188 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nova Constantia Boutique Residence
0.5 mi away
Dongola Guest House
Dongola Guest House
#1 of 40 in Constantia
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summit Place Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summit Place Guesthouse

Property: Summit Place Guesthouse
Address: 15 Summit Road | Constantia Valley, Constantia 7806, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Constantia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Constantia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Summit Place Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Summit Place has both Bed and Breakfast rooms and self-catering apartments. All rooms are well appointed, light and airy, with en-suite bathrooms. They also have large cupboards, a safe, free unlimited WiFi, and a variety of satellite channels on a flat screen TV. The self-catering apartments have well equipped kitchens with a fridge, microwave, oven, stove and all utensils and crockery. All rooms and apartments are stocked with complimentary teas and coffees. The rooms and suites of the Summit Place Guest House border its central pool, and are surrounded by green gardens. Guests are treated to breakfast on our patio which has an awesome mountain view. Guests can enjoy day trips to discover the history of South Africa's oldest wine-growing region. Various nature trails and picturesque scenery are nearby. Both the Cape Town city centre and International Airport are less than 20 km away. All guests get free off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Summit Place Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Cape Town
Cape Town Summit
Summit Place Guesthouse Constantia, Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing